We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #56 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a standard room. It's a very quiet location, and our room overlooked the courtyard. It was less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre.

The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was adequate, and we had a small table & chairs in the bedroom area.

The staff were always helpful & courteous. And it was no bother to leave our bags with them after checkout so we could continue to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests from Melbourne!

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on tripadvisor! We are more than happy that our staff as well as the hotel could support a comfortable stay in Salzburg.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    250
    116
    30
    13
See reviews for
98
237
28
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is certainly not the best hotel in Salzburg, but it has everything a traveler will need. Prices in the area are high in general, but the Mercure Salzburg City had a comfortable room at a reasonable price. While Mercure hotels are not known for luxury, the room was comfortable with plenty of space for our extra luggage. The staff were friendly and helpful, and even the wireless internet worked well. Breakfast was not included in the price or our room, however there are packages that can include it. We did eat breakfast our last day there, and the buffet included most anything one would want. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walking distance from the main part of the city, or a taxi will cost from €5 to €7, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests from Florida!

thank you for your positive feedback about our Mercure!

Of course we will share your comments with our front desk staff.

We hope we can welcome you in one of our Accor properties again.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were fortunate to get parking out front for our stay free of charge. The hotel is located about a ten minute walk to the centre which was ideal for us. I enjoyed a couple of very pleasant jogs into the centre and down the side of the river. The hotel is a little dated but its clean and good value for Salzburg. We also checked out a local restaurant Die Weiss just a few minute walk from the hotel, great beer and hearty food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guests from Dublin,

thank you for your positive review! We enjoyed reading that you had a comfortable stay.

Hope we can welcome you again in the future in the renovated Mercure Salzburg City.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, however it is centred around conferences and business visits. The location was terrible - a 40 minute walk from the edge of the old city which holds all the attractions and restaurants. If you want to go to a restaurant at night, you really need to take a taxi and the location does not really allow for you to pop back in during he day for a quick refresher and more sight seeing.

Train station is also approx 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City.
The months of september and october are typical that business guests meets leisure guests in the hotel as within our brand we are not focussed on one partical segment of guests.
To be honest the distances you have mentioned to several points of interest in Salzburg are not quite correct. We do not claim that the hotel is located in the old part of the city but the train station is a 10 minutes walk as well as the Staatsbrücke is a 15 minutes walk. As well as we have a direct public bus connection in front of the hotel.
Nearby are several restaurants,within direct walking distances, that are offering Asian/ Austrian / Indian and Italian cuisine and are very popular even within the native Austrians.

We hope to welcome you in other Accor property in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

THe hotel was really nice, clean and staffs were helpful and pleasant.The hotel was only 10 mins walk to the city centre, and the bus stops is only about 5 mins walk.Although most of the time we just walked going to the city centre.There is also a spar and liddl nearby.Over all I am happy and satisfied with this hotel and if ever we go back to Salzburg, I will surely book on this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guests from Great Britain,

first of all thank you for your review! We will be more than happy to share your comments with our staff!

Hope Accor can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.