We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business - Not for a holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #50 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good for Business - Not for a holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, however it is centred around conferences and business visits. The location was terrible - a 40 minute walk from the edge of the old city which holds all the attractions and restaurants. If you want to go to a restaurant at night, you really need to take a taxi and the location does not really allow for you to pop back in during he day for a quick refresher and more sight seeing.

Train station is also approx 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay in the Mercure Salzburg City.
The months of september and october are typical that business guests meets leisure guests in the hotel as within our brand we are not focussed on one partical segment of guests.
To be honest the distances you have mentioned to several points of interest in Salzburg are not quite correct. We do not claim that the hotel is located in the old part of the city but the train station is a 10 minutes walk as well as the Staatsbrücke is a 15 minutes walk. As well as we have a direct public bus connection in front of the hotel.
Nearby are several restaurants,within direct walking distances, that are offering Asian/ Austrian / Indian and Italian cuisine and are very popular even within the native Austrians.

We hope to welcome you in other Accor property in the future.

Best regards from Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    254
    121
    29
    13
See reviews for
111
248
28
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

THe hotel was really nice, clean and staffs were helpful and pleasant.The hotel was only 10 mins walk to the city centre, and the bus stops is only about 5 mins walk.Although most of the time we just walked going to the city centre.There is also a spar and liddl nearby.Over all I am happy and satisfied with this hotel and if ever we go back to Salzburg, I will surely book on this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guests from Great Britain,

first of all thank you for your review! We will be more than happy to share your comments with our staff!

Hope Accor can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards in Salzburg

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights recently,I feel most of the earlier comments are accurate ,On arrival I was disappointed at reception area very dull dreary and tired,our room on 1st floor was the same dated and tired,I did feel it was clean and would not find fault with housekeeping ,saying that the breakfast area i found to be clean with a delicious choice of food and efficient service from the staff. distance from old town ect was just right and indeed a pleasant walk ,As the manager says a refurbishment is due that should make this hotel an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback which we will be more than happy to pass to our team.

We hope we can welcome you in our newly renovated Mercure Salzburg City soon. +

Best regards from Salzburg,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Saw a special promotion on this hotel for a summer booking so ended up staying at the Mercure City Salzburg for two nights.

The hotel itself is nicely located, being in between the old town and the train station (even though it is not particularly close to either one).

Rooms were clean and spacious enough but a bit tired. Even the furnishings seemed like they date back from the 1990's which I did not expect for a Mercure. But for the price I was paying, I didn't mind.

Internet is available thru a public PC at the lobby.

During our last day we had asked if we could have a slightly later check out but apparently Mercure had already devised a way to profit from that by charging a small fee for every extra hour of late check out that guests wanted to take. Fair enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baliamis, Manager at Mercure Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all thank you for your feedback on your stay we always appreciate this.
The Mercure Salzburg City will renovate the next year to offer our guests more modern comfort. Meanwhile we would recommend the sister hotel Mercure Salzburg Central which is fully renovated and can probably meet your expectations more.

We hope we can welcome you again in one of our ACCOR properties.

Best regards,

Thomas Baliamis, General Manager Mercure Hotels Salzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.