We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel near Old Town Centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #46 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel near Old Town Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An adequate hotel that is about a 10 minute walk from the old town centre.

The rooms are clean and tidy with a reasonable bathroom.

The rate was a little high for the standard of the facilities.

The staff at reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    272
    126
    33
    13
See reviews for
120
261
33
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room was nice, warm sleeping condition during winter. Good location located near to Salzburg Old Town. Friendly and helpful staff. A bit odd though because no slippers/flip-flop were provided for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here with my partner, and my brother and his wife. we had spent a day in the alps and ended up heading to salzburg, so this was an extremely last minute booking. We made the booking online in the car on the way. There were standard and superior rooms left and since it was not a large price difference we booked two double superior rooms. Unfortunately when we got there the one room had two single beds, and the other was smelling very strongly of cigarette smoke (non smoking room) and the bathroom light didn't work. We asked to change both of the rooms, which was then done with out hassle. The new rooms were both double rooms, and both decent, clean, and there was no more cigarette smell. We were also put in rooms next door to each other which was convenient. We did not spend much time in the hotel since we arrived at about 8pm, and then went out for dinner returning just to sleep before heading out in the morning. The walk to the river was a decent 15min walk, which was a bit further than the 10 mins advertised by the front desk, and we are very fast walkers, but an easy route, just two streets, so no danger of getting lost, and the view is ok since you walk through shops on the second street. If the weather is nice this would be no prob to walk. But it was a bit too far in the cold, and if we had known would have driven the car instead of walking. Did not stay for breakfast since we left early in the morning. The price for this hotel was reasonable and was quite adequate for what we needed, Wouldn't book this hotel for a romantic holiday, but ok if you are just stopping for the night etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are avaiable to walk a little, there's a good place to stay. Just 15/20 minutes walking to the old city, there are market/restaurants/banks near the Hotel. The breakfest is really good with several options. Just miss a central light in the room and a cheaper option for water in the mini-bar. Nice shower and good heating system!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I normally stay in Mercure Hotels whenever I go for my holidays. I stayed for 6 nights at this hotel in salzburg. The location is good, the rooms are ok except for the 2nd last day of my stay, when the flush of the toilet when bonkers and we were given a key access to another room(two rooms away) because no maintenance could be done since it was Christmas . Imagine the inconvenience. Anyway, the main reason for this review is to congratulate the excellent staff in the restaurant who were warm, friendly and absolutely great unlike the front desk or reception staff. The front desk people need a crash course on public relations. Not all of them though...there is one particular lady called Sabine. I dont think i need to explain why i particularly mentioned her because if i were to do that this review will be lengthy. I agree with the the reviewer of 'A Drop in Hotel'. I hope the management of the Accor group does something to improve the quality of the service overal

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I was wondering if this really is a 4 star hotel when I first saw the entrance. The room is ok except for the light. There were no main light in the room just two bed lights and two table lamps. So the room was very dark throughout our stay. It's so difficult for us to read something. Also the Internet is very very depressing. It keeps disconnecting us. Location is acceptable for youngsters but for the elders it may is too far from the old town. Room for improvement for a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel offers 121 comfortable rooms in the centre of Salzburg, the city of Mozart. Quiet and centrally located, only a few minutes walk from the historic old town. Take the Salzburg North exit from the A1 motorway. Restaurant and bar with terrace, airconditioned meeting rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.