We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salzburg City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salzburg City to your Saves list
Mercure Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

If you are avaiable to walk a little, there's a good place to stay. Just 15/20 minutes walking to the old city, there are market/restaurants/banks near the Hotel. The breakfest is really good with several options. Just miss a central light in the room and a cheaper option for water in the mini-bar. Nice shower and good heating system!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    318
    137
    36
    16
See reviews for
143
302
38
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I normally stay in Mercure Hotels whenever I go for my holidays. I stayed for 6 nights at this hotel in salzburg. The location is good, the rooms are ok except for the 2nd last day of my stay, when the flush of the toilet when bonkers and we were given a key access to another room(two rooms away) because no maintenance could be done since it was Christmas . Imagine the inconvenience. Anyway, the main reason for this review is to congratulate the excellent staff in the restaurant who were warm, friendly and absolutely great unlike the front desk or reception staff. The front desk people need a crash course on public relations. Not all of them though...there is one particular lady called Sabine. I dont think i need to explain why i particularly mentioned her because if i were to do that this review will be lengthy. I agree with the the reviewer of 'A Drop in Hotel'. I hope the management of the Accor group does something to improve the quality of the service overal

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I was wondering if this really is a 4 star hotel when I first saw the entrance. The room is ok except for the light. There were no main light in the room just two bed lights and two table lamps. So the room was very dark throughout our stay. It's so difficult for us to read something. Also the Internet is very very depressing. It keeps disconnecting us. Location is acceptable for youngsters but for the elders it may is too far from the old town. Room for improvement for a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is very clean and modern. It is about 1km from the old town, the walk is pleasant, passing bars and cafes along the way. The central train station is less than ten minutes walk away. The wifi works well in the lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good rooms for stay overnight, own parking, but not good value for price, only for traveling by car. The location is bad, so far from historical center. will not come back to that hotel and will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all make sure that you go to the right hotel. If you get the bus number 2 from Salzburg HBF to the hotel you need Bayerhamerstraße stop. However this stop is actually on Wienerstraße and when you get off the bus there is a Mercure hotel in front of you just past the petrol station. However this is not Mercure City hotel. This is in fact Mercure Central. I went to the wrong hotel and the receptionist was very helpful when she could not find my reservations. She called the other hotel who confirmed my booking. I suspect that this happens quite a lot. Anyway when I got to the correct hotel (When you get off the bus go back to the crossroads turn right and walk about 50 yards and you are there) the check in process was good. The two females on reception were very good. My room was good. There was tea/coffee making facilities, a double bed and an adequate sized bathroom. However the TV only had a few channels and the bathroom could do with a make over.
However this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. So why was the restaurant not open on the Thursday, Saturday and Sunday night? People staying where told to go to the Mercure Central hotel (see above). And breakfast was ok. There was supposed to be a hot option. Well there was scrambled egg, baked beans, potatoes, bacon and sausage but they were certainly not hot. You could not even say they were luck warm. So again very disappointing.
And now onto the check out. Well the total opposite of the check in. The male was rude and had a could not care less attitude. He snatched my key card off me. Then I believed he checked that all was in order and then just walked away. No thank you for staying. No was everything ok? A really rude man.
So all in all not bad but could do so much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#43 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#66 of 135 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#40 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#23 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
Ramada Salzburg City Centre
#64 of 135 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salzburg City

Address: Bayerhamerstrasse 14 a, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Salzburg City Hotel is situated in peaceful, leafy surroundings, not far from the hustle and bustle around Mozart & Co. Whether you're visiting the Salzburg Festival or the Red Bull Arena, the hotel is in the ideal location, easily reached bypublic transport or by car. Those who yearn for indulgence and peace in between soaking up art and culture or attending seminars and meetings will get what they are looking for in the Le Sel restaurant - prized for its cuisine and fine wine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Accor Salzburg City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.