We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #57 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is less than average, no AC in summer time ! No car park available! The bar is annoying too much,, couldn't sleep well during whole trip. Room service is sucks The hotel deserve no more than 3 stars. Location is the most valuable element in this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    139
    80
    39
    25
See reviews for
82
188
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here sometime ago and never got around to posting a review. Now we do.

We chose this hotel for location and for its historical charm. We had a young child with us and were given a great big room some distance from reception but the walk was interesting. This is not a modern structure so the building is an adventure. The room we had was excellent. The bathroom of a high standard. The hotel staff were fantastic and anything we needed for our young boy (like warm up food) was never a trouble.

The location of the hotel can not be beaten. The service we enjoyed there on that trip was the best we encounted. Lovely hotel in what is a special part of Europe. Salzburg is delightful. A lot of the movie Sound Of Music was filmed here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

While the hotel had some charm the reason you stay in a hotel is to get a good nights sleep. There was no air conditioning and the room was quite stuffy. We requested a fan which they never delivered. Due to the warm room we had to sleep with the windows wide open and could hear the people noisily returning from the bars at all hours of the night (even on weekdays) and the early morning garbage trucks. Our room faced another building across a narrow road. so there was no privacy with the window opened. On the positive side the location is good and the rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a few days in a somewhat cramped hotel room, we were overwhelmed by our accommodation in Salzburg. We had an enormous bedroom with a bed to match - plus another spacious sitting room with a river view, & a very good bathroom. It all looked very classy & comfortable; a real 5 star room. Not inexpensive though - & we avoided the €26 breakfast as we were not that hungry & that really was far too much. Still, the staff were excellent & pleasant, helped us with luggage & directions, & a we had a first rate meal in the restaurant with a view of the /river. The location is a real asset; you walk out the front door & you are right in the old town, just a short distance to the cathedral & the shops.

Room Tip: You arrive at the riverside entrance & it is not that easy to spot - especially if you are looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON - ENGLAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in June 2014. Taxi from airport was €14 so worth getting one.
It's a very old hotel, right in the middle of the old town, and well positioned for sight seeing.
We had a standard room which was adequate for our stay. Comfortable beds and pillows, full size bathroom, bidet, shower and 2 sinks. Separate toilet which is unusual but much better. Had a mini-bar and t.v. Didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment in the food. Staff very helpful - we had a quick check-in and nothing was too much trouble.
It was very hot when we stayed, so a bit of air-con would have been nice also no tea/coffee making facility in standard rooms, only in the suites.
Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend for its location.

Room Tip: We were in 408 overlooking the back streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Where to start, we booked here as a treat for an anniversary thinking the location and hotel would be romantic. We were upgraded to a suite which was massive, but after the excitment wore off we were overcome with disapointment. The first of which, a dirty ashtray in the bathroom full with old smelly cigs! We arrived back lateish (11pm) after a lovely meal out, but discovered when we got into bed that they were two singles pushed together on silly plastic casters which span them across the room each time moved or rolled over. My partner plugged his phone into the socket in the wall to then be given a shock as the casing and the whole socket itself fell out of the wall! In the light of the morning, after not sleeping due to a booming night club underneath the hotel (does not state this when you book!!) we noticed a massive coffee stain down the wall which was covered up by a tall lamp shade. It was all just a bit shoddy, noisy and we left with a bitter taste which was a real shame as the location is by far the highlight of this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is supposed to be 5 stars yet not even a bottle of water or anything free in the room. I've stayed in 3 or 4 star and you'd get a bottle of water. There was a minibar but you had to pay for everything in it. Breakfast was €26 per person everyday which was outrageous. Room was quite small and run down. The shower was in the bath and was missing some panels which meant water would spray onto the floor when you were showering. The best thing about this hotel is the location, you are right in the old town and beside everything you need and want to do in this area. I don't think I'd recommend it though as for a 5-star it was a big let down.

Room Tip: We got a room facing away from the street as this is where most noise comes from. I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.