We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #56 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. I was really worried about this hotel based on reviews and photos but honestly we had no complaints. Ok so breakfast was expensive but that's ok because straight out the front door on your left is a cafe serving breakfast for less than 10 euro. The hotel is located in a perfect location walking distance to everything. Unfortunately due to a booking mishap we were put in separate section of the hotel which was a little out of the way but still we were well looked after and the rooms were amazing. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    172
    88
    49
    31
See reviews for
97
236
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Salzburg and Munich for the Christmas Markets. Took a chance by booking this hotel after seeing reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. We arrived early and our rooms were already available. Rooms were comfortable with large beds with beautiful linens. Room not huge but certainly large enough to feel we were not cramped. Bathroom/shower great. Walked out the back door of the hotel and within minutes were at the Market! Could not have a better hotel for location. The staff from the moment of arrival could not do enough. Mostly young staff yet professional, friendly, conscientious and generous with time and information. Suggestions for restaurants were right on target. We never had a bad meal and the hotel breakfast was expansive and delicious. The only set back was that we only booked in for 2 nights. Our next trip will certainly be an extended stay at this splendid hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a hotel that is in the old town, but on the other end by Mozartplatz, which is away from the touristy Getreidegasse (but actually on the Judengasse - it's the same street). The front of the hotel faces the Salzach River, but you have to climb quite a few steps to get into the hotel reception. The better way is to go around and enter from the Judengasse side, which is also direct access to old town stores and restaurants.

Staff was very friendly, and was quick to point out public transportation, or any other advice I needed while in town. They always had a smile and was ready to help.

The room was on the older side (of course, it's because it's an old building in OLD TOWN), but very large and comfortable. It even had a bathtub. Very clean. Very nice. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
571 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have rated this hotel based on the number fo stars. The position is excellent in the center of the city, which gives great access to the various location, not so good if you come by car as the closest car park is a walk away.
The hotel is not 5 stars, service is not good, the room are large but do not appear very clean.
I was overall disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polcenigo, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. We originally were only going to stay one night, but after checking in to our room and our interaction with the friendly staff, we decided to extend our stay. Our room was very spacious and well decorated. The furniture was older, but it added to the charm of the room. The location is right in the heart of Salzburg, within walking distance to many of the greatest sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We asked for a double room & got two single beds pushed together - not very romantic when one of you keeps disappearing down the gap.

The room was musty. There was building work going on in reception so you had to use the stairs to the first floor to get to the lift. Reception was dingy & staff were more interested in their own conversation than attending to the guests. Valet parking was expensive. No tea or coffee in room.
We were amazed that this was classed as a 5 star facility.

The restaurant was appalling! There were no vegetarian options for my partner so we asked for pasta with mushrooms (they weren't happy with us ordering off the menu), when it arrived it was inedible. It was just dry pasta with mushrooms thrown in - no sauce, olive oil or seasoning. I ordered the chicken which was deep fried in a coating but wasn't cooked all the way through, which I didn't notice until I'd taken several bites. I was woken in the night with bad stomach cramps & spent several hours on the loo. Not the romantic stay I had envisaged in salzburg!

The only good thing that I can say about this hotel is that the location is convenient for exploring the old town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we got a large cosy room. Hotel is elegant, classy and in the heart of old town Salzburg.

Service was great and friendly. Breakfast was rich and traditional Austrian.

I recommend you go there in Christmas time when the whole street in front of the hotel is full of decoration and warmth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.