We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #62 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Very satisfied with the service offered plus the hotel is in the best location ever. Moreover we were given a free room upgrade. As others have said there was some noise from the pub beneath the hotel in the early mornings but it did not bother me much. My only little mishap was that wifi was not working from the room unless you take the mobile out of the window which was not ideal in the cold weather. Also asked staff at reception some info about buses and although they were very friendly they gave us the wrong info. But overall very satisfied and will return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    132
    76
    38
    21
See reviews for
75
177
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very conveniently located in the Old Town of Salzburg this hotel is at the upper end of the scale in terms of quality but also price. It is part of a large hotel chain but at the same time it is located in an historic building which retains some of its original charm. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the location can't be beaten on the river and only steps away from the shopping and sights like the Mozart birth house or the Cathedral.
The room was very luxurious, only the access was a bit inconvenient as you couldn't get to it with a lift but had to go up and down several flights of stairs - this is probably due to the fact that this is a historic building and the hotel spreads over several adjacent ones. There maybe other rooms that are fully accessible. A cot was not in the room even though pre-booked but very quickly put up when mentioned.
The in-house restaurant served a very good modern menu and is beautifully located overlooking the river. Breakfast was excellent and dietary requirements were dealt with efficiently. There is no parking nearby due to its location but the hotel has a parking service (with a charge) that worked well at arrival and departure. Overall an enjoyable and recommended stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

In envy all the reviewers who commented on how quiet the hotel was during their stay. Maybe it was because we stayed on a Saturday night but the street noise under our window from the neighboring bars until 4:00 am was unbearable. The hotel is perfectly situated in Old Town and was in a beautiful old building. Our standard room was excellent with interesting hidden nooks for a writing desk, minibar, closets and a huge bathroom that sat outside a good sized corridor from the front door. The staff were friendly enough and I wouldn't hesitate staying there again if it weren't for the fact that none of my family got any sleep that night. We stayed in room 304 facing the river and there were people perched on the sidewalk that ran along the river who yelled and carried on until the bars closed at 4:00 am. We stayed in October so the windows were closed and if there were some kind of fan in the room that might have provided some white noise to block out the revelers it could have been manageable. I specifically asked for a quiet room away from street noise when I made my booking but was told the hotel was near capacity when I received my room. As much as I loved everything else about the hotel I'm going to find somewhere else to stay next time I'm in Salzburg because I cannot afford another sleepless night.

Room Tip: Maybe try the rooms that face the castle? River rooms will certainly be on the same side as the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I have a 3-week commitment in Vienna and sought a weekend get-away just to see the sights. We decided to take the train to Salzburg -about a 3-hour journey through exquisite countryside- and booked a room for the night at this hotel. No disappointments! Perfectly located fronting the Salzach River, which flows through the heart of Salzburg, and with the old city (Altstadt) immediately out the rear guest entrance we had the best of both worlds.

After an easy taxi ride from the main train station we were warmly received and upgraded upon arrival, shown to our spacious suite and felt perfectly content. Our room overlooked the river with ample windows and included an entry salon, spacious suite and perfectly comfortable bath.

Clean, friendly, gracious and well-located... what more can one want? We walked the old district while enjoying the charms of a wonderfully historic city with fine shopping, many dining options and with the accessible fortress Hohensalzburg overlooking all.

Our reservation also included breakfast in the fine European tradition, buffet-style with many selections including eggs, sausage, toast and rolls, fruit, juice and more. Would we stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong... either facing the river or the old section, your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice hotel, good location right on the edge of the old town (hence the name) and only a short walk from the nearest bus stop. I would however advise walking via the old town rather than the road by the river and the former is nice and pretty whereas the latter is surprisingly not - thanks to the neighbouring pubs/clubs!

It's an old converted building so it has quite a quirky layout - some rooms are up some steps, across a courtyard, down some steps, up a lift, up some more steps, around a corner, up a flight of stairs and then round one final corner...others I presume are closer to reception!
The room is nicely furnished, with pleasant gold leaf fixtures, antique furniture, a nice modern TV and separate loo and bathroom. There were nice views out over the river too.

The bed was comfy, but the double was in fact two single beds put together. I suspect you can't physically get a double bed up to the room!

The staff are nice and friendly; they checked me in despite not finding my reservation in their system and someone helped with my bag. Breakfast staff equally nice; as was the food.

Only annoyance was the lack of working wifi in the room - it was there but the staff confirmed it wasn't working.

Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Wifi didn't work in the higher rooms but was supposed to be a temporary problem. A river side ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is an old upper-middle class home located in the middle of historic Salzburg. You walk out the back door and you are right in the middle of the old town area. The room was quite modern and clean despite the fact that it is such an historic building. The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. One thing that anyone staying here should keep in mind, though, is that there is no parking at the hotel but the website led us to parking in the lot connected to the hospital about 7 minutes away by foot for 20 euros a day. If you follow directions to the front door, the hotel is not well marked and there is only a small sign on the wall next to a flight of stairs that says "Radisson Blu Hotel." You then have to walk up the stairs to get to the lobby which isn't the most convenient if you have bags. If, however, you go to the back side of the building, the lobby is on the ground floor. After arriving, we never used the "front door" which faces the river, again. Our stay at this hotel was very comfortable and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I loved this historic hotel in the heart of old city Salzburg!! When I arrived it was quite hot & the windows were open & no air conditioner on, so the room was warm. Due to the construction of the hotel, the only air conditioner they had was the type that you had to turn on & put a hose out the window to vent the hot air. It took awhile to get it to cool down, but it stayed very nice the rest of our stay. That is the only negative I had, & I do like my rooms a bit on the chilly side. That being said, I would stay at this hotel every time I come back! It was a perfect location to go out the back door & out in the middle of the old city, approximately 1-2 blocks from the Mozart statue & a short walk to the lift up to the Fortress. You can walk out the front door & be at the Salz River & a short stroll & you are at the Mirabell Palace & Gardens! Their were many restaurants, markets, pastry cafes, shops, everything within walking distance from this hotel. I can't wait to go back to Salzburg!

Room Tip: We had a lovely view overlooking a street in Old Salzburg. There can be noise from the late night cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.