We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #63 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Hotel is located in the city center. Room was ok. Nothing special but ok. But staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I will stay at this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    132
    76
    38
    21
See reviews for
76
178
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were at Salzburg , beginning of February 2012 , for the Mozart Week . We stayed at Altstadt Hotel and we loved it . We stayed at Room 504 , which was top floor , kind of an attic room ,very spacious and with a good side view of River Salzach .This hotel was very practical for us because it is centrally located,within very reasonable walking distance to all our Mozart concert venues . We were very happy to drink the specially prepared delicious potato soup at the hotel's restaurant, after the night concert. While we enjoyed our red wine at that late hour , the hotel crew was very hospitable with their warm service . This hotel is also very close to the shops and restaurants,so we very much enjoyed its central location.
We also enjoyed the breakfast very much and the restaurant with a very good view of River Salzach .I would highly recommend this hotel . And, if you are a classical music fan , I would highly recommend the Mozart Week next year , January 24 - Feb. 3 , 2013 .

Room Tip: There is a disco nearby , if you would be disturbed by the beat , ask for a room whereby you would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked this hotel for our 40th wedding anniversary staying three nights before travelling on to Innsbruck. Checking in was smooth and our bags were taken to our room. On our first night I requested an ce pack due to a muscle problem, the young girl on reception was very obliging and continued to be throughout the stay.

Breakfast is included in the price for a room at this five star hotel and is very acceptable and comprehensive, the dining room staff are quick to bring tea or coffee to your table also.

The room though comfortable does not offer any coffee or tea making facilities which was a huge disappointment, in addition when I asked for some water to take to my room I was told to take from the mini bar, it appeared to be too much trouble and a small sigh was made, I was told that it would cost me the same from reception which was 3.29euros for a 0.25 L bottle. This young girl did not have rhe same attitude of her colleague and made it plain I was a nuisance to her! I decided then that I would not ask for any more water from the hotel and the next day found that the supermarket along the road sold water at 1.19 for a litre!

The room itself was nice, traditional and with a comfortable bed, however, the pillows are too soft and like wafers on only one per person, if you ask they will provide further for you. Unfortunately the back of the hotel backs onto the river Salzer, and there are quite a few bouncer controlled bars two of which are Irish bars, the noise on Saturday night went on until well past 3.30 am. I was assured that Sunday would be better but still loud thumping till well past midnight! The young girl on reception openly admitted that there are a couple of rooms which are rarely used due to the noise.
There was a reading standard lamp that worked but wa so lopsided it was propped against the desk unit, in addition to this a separate toilet and bathroom, the bathroom floor was heated which was nice, two sinks with gold fittings nice white towels and bathrobes, but rough and could do with softener. The bath/ shower is poor the door is so difficult to position and has rubbed the enamel off of the side of the bath and bits came away when you moved the door to get in and out!
Not a bad stay and the old town is lovely but I would not go back again.
The bar area is unattended and another guest said you will be lucky they take ages. The menu was not very comprehensive for evening meals.

The town itself, it is worthy horse drawn carriage ride, there are several restaurants to choose from . We went tO St. Peters restaurant and the food was delightful, Zum Mohen was welcoming and the price was good. The castle at the top of the fennicular railway is of poor value for money I thought it was money for old rope at 11.00 euros each and not offering as much as it appears to in the brochure. Best review I could give this is the spectacular mountain view.
The hotel offered tour info and we booked a double tour saving a little money, the first tour we went to the Berchesgarten region and it snowed the scenery was wonderful, a trio to the salt mines was also included, I didn't not like but the husband did and was good value for money,. An afternoon trip to the lakes and mountains finished the day off after a break of and hour, this too was good. Total per person 69.00 Each. But well worth it for nine hours.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel location is central, but this has a downside. There is a night club directly next door and we spent two nights waiting for the throbbing base beat of the music to stop at 3am before being able to sleep. The road is known as the "party mile" so be warned. Otherwise, the breakfast and restaurant is up to the standard you would expect. The staff-some are really nice, others somewhat indifferent. For a 5 star I expected more comfort, and better lighting in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkiye
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Very good hotel with a classy decoration and environment. Welcomes you with a red carpet :)
Offers vale service at 28 euros per day. Breakfast is 24 euros per person and staff is very helpful.
I totally recommend you this hotel.

Room Tip: Suits are very nice with two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel in january.The hotel is very central located in the old town. ROOMS - some are quite small other are somewhat higher, as it was the one we stayed , we were 2 adults and 1 child and we had an extra bed. Very clean. Stil Hotel is a classic design, wood furniture, marble bathroom. Great BREAKFAST. PARKING payment ( 15-25 EUR/day) but is somewhere in proximity of the hotel.The hotel will take you the car to the parking. We parked In front of the hotel, though it was a sign "parking prohibited", but the street was in works.Everybody parked on the entire street. We had no problems with the police.
Tips: If you are arriving by car - the GPS can not lead you to the hotel. So, is important to get to the river by the side with the castle. Is a one way street so the hotel is on your right. The hotel has an entrance with stairs and a red carpet. It is a small attention with the name of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

December 2011
I was there with my grandfather and grandmom.
So,we came there for a few days before Christmas because we wanted to attend those awesome Christmas fairs.
Well,at first i wanna say that if you're looking for good service-don't go there.It's not a 5* hotel at all!! Their first fail was when we arrived. We came there at about 2 PM and when we came up to reception administrator said that our rooms hadn't been ready yet. Are you kidding? This is a 5* hotel and we have to wait?Jeez
After HALF AN HOUR OF WAITING administrator finally said that the rooms had been ready.The next dissapointment was that our room was in the other house!And i'm seriously!But what is more,in order to get to that house you have to cross a small patch of street,then use elevator and finally come up on stairs. It wasn't difficult for me but i can't say the same about my grandparents. Also,if i'd forgot something in the room i would have to return which would have taken me 10 or more minutes.
The next day doorhandle has broken down (!). And administrator asked me to give her a key in order to repair this. When we got back doorhandle was repaired but we didn't know where the key was. When i asked this,administrator couldn't get what i meant. After 20 mins of arguing they returned keys.
But,fortunately there were a few good things about this hotel.
First of all,location.It's is situated right in the city center,so we didn't have to walk long.
Also we were satisfied with breakfast.There were many various dishes.
And also i liked a terrace in our room. Unfortunately there is just one terrace in the whole hotel :P
In addtion,i noticed piano on the first floor.I can play piano and i wanted to but it was closed. I wish it was open.
Conclusion:
3* hotel,with good location.If you come here just for a few days it fits you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg

Address: Judengasse 15, Rudolfskai 28, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Salzburg; landmark building can be traced to the 14th century; near all major points of interest & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salzburg
Salzburg Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.