We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Guten Hirten

Zum Guten Hirten
Bahnhofstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43(0)662 451006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 487 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Budapest
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went there based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor and we did not regret it. The food was delicious and its size was huuuge (we had to take away the Kaiserschmarn because we could not finish it). Our waitress was very friendly, talkative and charming. I will go back when I am back to Salzburg, however, I will take a seat a bit further from the entrance in the non-smoking section because the smoke came in from the smoggy part (by the way, I do not understand why Austria has not yet joined the anti-smoking countries...).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Decent food but depressing setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here on a chilly evening in early April. The place was mostly deserted, the staff was haphazard, the food very good. It just wasn't an ambiance that left me feeling good, or service that said come again. My husband's goulash with dumpling was quite tasty, and my Viennese soup contained delicious fresh vegetables as well as meat and noodles. The only reason to choose this place is that it is the only convenient restaurant if you're staying at the Radisson Blu by the railroad station or need a place to eat near the railroad station.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Large group - great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were a large group. We made a reservation and the restaurant accommodated us with a large table all to ourselves. The service was great - the restaurant was able to provide us menus in English and German. The food was excellent - some of our favorite on our whole trip! I had the boiled beef - it was very good. It was nice to have a section that was non-smoking that was separated by doors from the smoking section.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Comfort Food in a Friendly and Efficient Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dined hear with business colleagues one evening. The non-smoking section was busy for a Monday night and the service extremely efficient and friendly. Rustic tables and chairs and waiters dressed in traditional Lederhosen added to the atmosphere. The food was ample and good. My goulash was excellent and the grill my colleagues had was gigantic! Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly & prompt service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Had dinner in the beer garden and found the food good-had the ham shank and the beer ice cold. I would return if in the area

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Guten Hirten also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Zum Guten Hirten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Guten Hirten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.