We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we came back twice in one day! Best coffee in Europe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the heart of joy cafe

the heart of joy cafe
Franz-Josef-Strasse 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 890773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 503 Restaurants in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Café, Vegetarian, Healthy, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So good, we came back twice in one day! Best coffee in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stumbled across this cafe when we were desperately searching for a place for coffee and wifi. As soon as we walked in the staff were so welcoming and so was the room temperature (it was quite cold outside) it smelt heavenly also. We ordered coffees and they were the best we've had in Europe. Not too strong and great flavour. We then ordered food even though we weren't hungry, so glad we did, I think it was the best salad I ever had in my life. (Heart of joy salad with goats cheese) also the quiche was divine. I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Austria/Salzburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh organic breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a surprise to find this so high in the rankings on here. We had a good breakfast here which was freshly made which is probably why it took a while to come. This is one of a few good eating places/cafes in this street making it it difficult to choose which is the best, as really they are all good for different reasons. This one offers organic fresh food, obviously prepared as it is ordered. We had a lovely muesli with yoghurt and some fresh orange juice with coffee. The service was friendly and we enjoyed sitting outside very much on a warm morning. Would definitely visit again if I was in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ok for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was not as inspired as the previous reviews. OK service, and eggs and toast OK, felt ripped off by the 3 euro tea, but I think more people in Europe are renting a seat than having a tea. Too pricey for me.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerleon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a vegetarian with coeliac disease and her family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited Salzburg in trepidation, knowing the favoured foods were pastries,cakes and schnizel! The heart of joy cafe was perfect as there was delicious gluten free savoury food as well as cakes. The atmosphere was calm and relaxed and we visited 5 times during our stay - recommendation indeed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of my Euro travels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wanna feel truly European? Go to The Heart of Joy Cafe! I got the Fit Fruhstuck and was so in love. Absolutely a killer meal. So fresh, delicious and filling. Comes with everything you need, and they really know how to put a meal together. My friends got omelets and were not disappointed! I prefer the Fit Fruhstuck because it is so light and fresh.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the heart of joy cafe also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to the heart of joy cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the heart of joy cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.