We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter)

St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter)
St. Peter Bezirk | off Kapitalpl., Salzburg, Austria
0662-844-578-0
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 78 attractions in Salzburg
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This medieval monastery has served as the home to monks for over 1,000 years.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our group of 8, booked the dinner concert for our first evening in Salzburg, and we weren't disappointed. The venue, itself is worth seeing, so beautiful and so much history. Food was good, not anything special, and drinks were costly, but we had read reviews on Trip Advisor, so we were not surprised. The staff was very accomodating and the music was excellent!. Some members of our group are very educated in classical performances and others were very novice, yet this performance was appreciated by all. Highly recommend for a wonderful evening in this city of music!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    70
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, especially if you manage to catch a concert there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although we had been unable to enter earlier in the day because a wedding ceremony was taking place (apparently a common occurrence), after our orchestral performance of Nabucco at the Grosses Festspielhaus, we happened to see people entering St. Peter's Abbey and upon entry discovered that we had come upon what turned out to be a wonderful (and free!) two hours choral performance of Mozart pieces. The acoustics and atmosphere were great, and the audience was invited to sing along for the last piece. (As an aside, we were quite impressed the large number of people who were able to sing along with a rather difficult Mozart piece and surmised that it was possibly due to the musical standards in Austrian schools being very high.)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Monastry and cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely and v old monastery, different architectural styles. It's below the fortress so central to Old Town area. The wrought iron grave markers are unusual and interesting. Peaceful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sculptures and Tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Set against the shear cliffs, this Abbey and grave yard are breathtakingly beautiful. Lighting in the Abbey is poor for photography.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Historic Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A nice and very Historic Abbey next to The cemetery of St Peter built in the Romanesque style of the Middle ages that has Mozarts sister and the younger brother of Joseph Haydn entombed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter) also viewed

 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Peter's Abbey (Stift St. Peter) to your Saves list