We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel in Salzburg with good location and excellent Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top Hotel in Salzburg with good location and excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel about 30-40 times now. Always was happy. Location is good for me, walking distance from railway station and downtown. Every morning I take a short walk (about 200m) to the Mirabell Park to have a view of the magnificant castle and the park. The hotel has 2 restaurants, a normal price/good value restaurant where You can have dinner + dring for 10 Euros. The other restaurant is a high price luxury restaurant. Maybe the best restaurants I know. Dinner + wine starts about 30 Euros, but it is a highlight! Rooms are nice and silent. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    297
    99
    34
    12
See reviews for
143
264
39
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I just got home from a trip to Munich & Salzburg and stayed at the Pitter for two nights. The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location across the street from a park and just a 5 minute walk from the train station.

My room was average in size and had a small bathroom. They didn't have a queen or king size bed available so they moved two twin beds together to form a queen size bed. Linens were okay and bed was comfortable. My issue with the hotel is it looks as if it hasn't been touched since Mozart was alive! It looks very, very dated, and is in desperate need of a renovation. The hotel keeps it clean and neat, but it just looks old and very dated.

The hotel has a small pool and fitness room, as well as a wet and a dry sauna. The restaurant in the hotel is also very good.

So I enjoyed my stay at the Pitter and only wish it could be 'cleaned-up' a bit to the condition it should be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Be VERY careful when getting into the shower from the right hand side. It is sloped, I slipped and broke two ribs on the first day of my trip to Salzburg. Did the hotel help with my injury or complaint about no non-stick surface? Heck no!! I will never again visit a Crowne Plaza Hotel. I will return to Salzburg, but not at this place or any other Crowne Plaza or IHG hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRAN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed 3 days at this hotel . it is located almost centrally allowing to reach major touristic spots shortly most of them even by 15 minutes of walking distance. Rooms are quite good and clean and I found nothing wrong with the room service. The restaurants and bar are very nice with good food and nice service. The people at Crowne Plaza was very friendly and helpful toward guests . All in all it's what you expect from Crowne Plaza standards. A free WiFi will be a nice option to add , hope to have it in my next trip . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Warm and welcoming with friendly staff. Nice bar and also the restaurant were we had breakfast. Great location

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

TheSerice was very good, I liked the room as well. The location is perfect, amenities too, special the Swimming pool with mirror. I eated a dinner at Pitter Keller. It was brilliant. The food was very nice, service: quick, friendly, proffesional.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Stayed at the Crown Plaza for 5 nights during a trip to Austria. The hotel is in a good location - very close to Mirabell Square/Gardens and within a short walking distance to both the train station and the old town (approx 10minutes to both in opposite directions). There are also bus stops outside the hotel for travel in both directions.

The standard of the hotel is what I would normally expect from a Crown Plaza property. The room was of a good size with a large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little cramped but still peferectly servicable. The usual in-room facilities were available - free tea/coffee, mini-bar, hairdrier, iron/ironing board, in-room safe and dressing gowns. There is wifi available in the room and throughout the hotel - although we didn't use this so can't comment on costs. There are two computers available in the reception area which provide internet access free of charge.

We got a very good price for 5 nights bed & breakfast for a double room (expedia special rate), which represented great value for money.

The hotel facilities are quite good too. There is a very small leizure area - with some gym equipment, sauna and steam room and a tiny little swimming pool (think average sized-jacuzzi but without the bubbles).

The breakfast was good - with plenty of choice of hot/cold dishes, breads and pastries. Not sure it was worth the 15 Euro per person charge, but since we were on a B&B rate it was good to get some food to set us up for the sightseeing day ahead.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant one night - the Imlauer which, although quite expensive, did serve very good food. I personally found the Plaza Bar and the Piterkeller Bar/Restaurant to be too smoky for me. Although, this was something that I found throughout Austria, and was especially difficult for me as a non-smoking living in Scotland which has a smoking ban in public places in place for 4 years!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English, which was useful as my German is fairly limited.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at the Crown Plaza and I would recommend it to other travellers, especially if you can get yourself a good rate!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg
Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.