We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stay for a week at this hotel. It locates in a nice location, near Mirabell park and across the street from my conference center. Walking to the river and across the bridge to the old city is convenient. Walking to the train station is also easy. The room is comfortable and they offer a nice spa-typed spray for your pillow, which smells so good. The breakfast is super with good fruits, breads, cheese, etc. The only downside is that the hotel is during ongoing renovation causing noisy sound during the day.
I will definitely recommend this place in Salzburg.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear 3T, thank you so much, that you took your time to tell the TA community about your positive experience at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are so happy that you enjoy your stay. Yes indeed there are works going on during the day time. Most of our guests are on tour or in conferences anyway. In a couple of weeks we will be done and then the whole Hotel will look extremely nice. Next time you join the congress you wil even be able to have your breakfast in the brandnew IMLAUER SKy Bar & Restaurant in the new constructed top floor of the "Pitter". So see you next year! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    340
    120
    37
    13
See reviews for
173
305
46
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited for two nights, staying in a standard double room. Our room had not been refurbished (as noted on the website we booked through) but this did not bother us at all as the decor/furnishings were all in perfect condition, and of the usual high-quality you find at Crown Plaza hotels. Spacious room, with lots of natural light. Room had an ironing board which was great, as we have found many places in Europe do not offer this in individual rooms. Extremely comfortable bed.

Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to Old Town and other sites, restaurants and shops. It appears the building is currently undergoing renovation but this did not affect our stay - not once did we hear construction work etc.

Enjoyed the buffet breakfast for 15 euro each. However, wish I'd know you could order your eggs fresh rather than eat only what was offered in the buffet!

Staff friendly but efficient - seem less check-in and -out. Also happy to provide info on tours, things to do etc, as well as book these for you.

Would happily stay there again and highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Flossy171,
it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. By the way you can really order any egg dish you like beside the offered ones on the buffet. But it is a really good idea to share that Information with the guests in a better way. Thank you for that tip! Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good customer service: I hastily packed the morning of check-out and forgot the approximately $400.00 worth of work out clothes I shoved into a drawer. It took a few days for me to realize I forgot my clothes and I was already in another country. I emailed the hotel and luckily they found my clothes and mailed them back to my US address free of charge.

The hotel itself was still undergoing renovations (stayed in May). Like others, we didn't have air conditioning when we stayed, but sounds like that is fixed now. The lobby was nice and bright and recently renovated. Our room was not recently renovated. Still, it was clean and a nice size, especially for Europe. I also think this was the only hotel on my 14 day trip that had an iron and ironing board in the room, which was nice.

I liked the breakfast buffet and felt like it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Chicagotogoanywhere,
we are so glad that you got your training clothes back I know what that stuff costs!
We are happy that you also enjoyed our stay and the breakfast at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We will soon have finished the renovations and in autumn our guests will enjoy breakfast in the new constructed roof top IMLAUER Sky Bar & Restaurant with a breathtaking view over the historical part of Salzburg with the castle. So hope to see you again! Greetings to Chicago! Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel is very nice, amazing location, great staff, lobby looks nice, the wifi has strong signal in the entire hotel, rooms are cozy, generous. The staff at the lobby bar was great, having drinks there was a blast.
The bathrooms could be more stylish.
Perfect for any type of holiday

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear AntoniaMS,
we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. And yes the Plaza-Finest American Bar is a great tradtional and cosy place and our barkeeper Harry is not only a knowledgable professionalist but also a great entertainer and listener... We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at "The Pitter" Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The foyer is lovely. Well lit and staff easy to get to.The bedroom had comfortable beds and the bathroom was well appointed with lovely fluffy towels.Bonus to have an ironing board and iron!There was a well stocked tray with tea, coffee milk etc.Compared to other hotels it was very quiet and peaceful.There were even magazines in the room and only a short walk to town. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Veronika_New Zealand,

thank you very much for all your nice compliments. We are more then glad that you enjoyed your stay and the services at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Please come back again! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

They were renovating this hotel and we had a horrible experience. The room was the size of a cruise ship room without the storage. No kidding. The air conditioning was broken. We opened the window and had to close it for the sewer gases. The breakfast was great though. Too far from city center or old town. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Stay closer to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Lisa T.
we are so sorry that we where not able to fullfill our Service promise in your case. <Regarding room size we provide also superior room types at real low surcharges. We are really sad that we could not react on your concerns during your stay. We always try to find a soilution if guests experience a problem during their stay. Regarding the works: Yes, there are currently works going on in the courtyard and we operate only with a limited No of rooms. But I can asure you and the whole community that there are NO sewer gases involved in this. There are only constructions goiung on. Please accept my sincere appology for all your inconveniences. Warm retgards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

There are currently renovations going on at this hotel. Don't let that put you off staying, they are confined to between 8am - 5pm, so shouldn't disturb you too much.
If the already renovated public areas of this hotel are any guide, it will be really fantastic once it is done.
Even before it's renovation, this hotel is more than comfortable for a stay in Salzburg.
The hotel is in a great location, about a 10 min walk from each Salzburg old town and the main train station. There are plenty of bars and restaurants close by as well.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but are showing signs of age, so the current renovation is very welcome.
The breakfast in the hotel was very nice with a plentiful supply of both hot and cold items to fuel you up for a morning touring around beautiful Salzburg.
The staff at the hotel are friendly and accommodating and happy to provide maps and directions to various attractions.
I look forward to returning to this hotel if I ever find myself back in Salzburg and seeing the result of the current renovations.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Brisboy77,

thank you very much for your nice comments on your stay. It is funny to read that only a couple of days later guests report a total different experience. You definiteley have to come back as the breakt fast will be served in the new IMLAUER Sky BAr & Restaurant on the new constructed sixth floor as of November 2014!. Thank you again and we hope to see you again. Best regards from Salzburg. Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.