We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cozy and nicely decorated rooms and very quiet, friendly stuff. Delicious food and vine at the restaurant, good breakfast. Wi-Fi Internet was restricted somewhat, but as everywhere in Europe. Right on the priphery of Downtown, close to major attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed the atmospühere and the service. We are happy to announce that all IHG Reward members will have free WIFI acceess worldwide at all IHG Hotels as of Summer 2014. We already do that since this summer. So please join the "Club" and enjoy the benefits! Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    350
    123
    38
    13
See reviews for
183
308
46
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Location is very good as its close to the main train station and only about a kilometer walk to old town. Prices are very good for this hotel and the rooms are clean. It is however a bit on the outdated side, looks like the bathroom was renovated and looked great. Beds were very comfortable
Not quite up to CP standards and wish it did have a executive lounge, as a IHG Plat they did get me a junior suite upgrade and a welcome drink coupon for the lobby bar.
I have not stayed at any other location in Salzburg so this could easily be a 4 star hotel for this town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your commencts. We are sorry that we where not abole to provide you with an Executive lounge but we will have a fantastic new Hotel as of 3rd Quarter 2014 and one of our top hiots will be a wonderful panorama roof top restaurant that you will definitely like. So we hope that you will come again! Warm regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

First time to Salzburg. Great city. Beautiful, plenty to do, great time of year too.

We spent most of our time in the old part town - restaurants, shops, entertainment/sites down by the main Cathedral and Fortress (20-30 minute walk). Would have preferred being closer especially since one of our party had a bum foot. Plus side - it was close to some of the famous scenes from Sound of Music (my kids liked that alot) and there is a bank/ATM right across the street.

Doormen VERY helpful w/lots of bags and valet parking, We had two rooms including one for three that provided lots of room (two adjoining twins plus a pull out). both rooms overlooked the street/square. ice was nearby on the floor. heat in one room was hot despite adjusting the controls; opened the window for 20 minutes and that solved that.

Front desk pretty helpful too - dinner reservations, directions and making change.

carpet in halls and especially stairs showing signs of wear.

Good reasonably priced buffet bfast in morning.

Front desk accomodating on late check out of 2pm which helped us alot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Mike O.
thank you for taking the time to give us and the TA community a valuable feedback.
first thank you so much for your compliments on our service especially for our Porter, I assume that was Zsolt. And yes you are right the carpet on the stairs upt to the 2nd floor are worn. We did in fact already have an offer to change them but now we have green light for our renoation of the whole Hotel and the stairs will be done in spring 2014 as part of the lobby renovation. Hope to see you again in our wonderful City of Salzburg. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our first trip back to Salzburg since we spent our honeymoon there 40 years ago. In November 1973 we stayed at the Hotel Pitter so were very keen to see how much it had changed. We were delighted to see that the lobby was as we remembered it with its marble pillars. The bedroom was large and had everything one would expect in a Crowne Plaza. We did not have the luxury of a private bathroom on our first visit and this too was large with plenty of lovely toiletries.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The receptionist booked a trip for us as soon as we arrived and our room was available at lunchtime though check-in time is supposed to be 3 pm.
We tried all the dining venues within the hotel. Breakfast was self service and typical of what one would expect at a Crowne Plaza. We ate twice in the Pitter Keller which was a pleasant experience on both occasions. We had eaten there on our first visit so we wanted to do it again. The staff were friendly and efficient. There were a few locals dining there which suggested it is quite authentic. It seemed quite Austrian to us which was appealing. We took the opportunity to dine in the restaurant one evening. This was a more formal affair which we really enjoyed. The service was impeccable and it was good to try some Austrian wine with dinner. We thought it was reasonably priced for the standard of service we received. Food is also available in the bar but we just had a drink there. It has very comfortable chairs and the service is good but on the evening we were there some smokers arrived and we decided to dine somewhere else.
The hotel is easily accessible on foot to all the places of interest in Salzburg. We were fortunate enough to have light snow each day which made the Christmas Markets even more enchanting.
Revisiting somewhere could so easily have been a disappointing experience but The Pitter was as charming as it was forty years earlier.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We came to Salzburg for the Christmas markets. This hotel is close to the main train station and Salzburg old town. Two places you will likely need to know and want to see. The hotel is supposed to be smoke free, but there were definitely people smoking on the floor we stayed on - 3 rd floor. The room was quite nice, large bathroom and good shower with large towels. The water temp did fluctuate while in the shower (i hate that) and some noise from hallway during the night. The beds are very comfortable and I rate the pillows at the highest possible rating!!! these are great pillows! The hotel staff had good suggestions for nearby restaurants and activities. Overall a nice hotel, but below the standards that I have become accustomed to as a Crowne Plaza '' guest.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view. And ask about smoke free areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is almost downtown with all you may need around. My room was OK but quite small. No noise around which is great. What I did not like is the fashion style of this hotel being quite old, would expect something modern nowadays. Was on business with conference, service was good. The Pitter, which is the restaurant in the cave/cellar of the hotel, I don't like at all to have lunch or diner in a cave/cellar, anyway you can eat good local specialties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear SkippyFrance,

thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not like the style of the Hotel. Yes indeed our Hotel is VERY old, exact 150 years and that might also be the reason why it seems a little old fashioned. Most guests coming to Salzburg expect more a traditional style but here is the solution: We will renoveate the whole Hotel, yes we will keep some of the more traditional rooms but 50 completely new rooms will be added and they will of course have amodern touch. But yes some traditional elements will come also, that's Salzburg...=D
I hope you will like it when we will post the first visualization. The rooms will be ready togehter with a brandnew Rooftop Restaurant in Summer 2014! Watch out! Warm regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Traveled by train to Salzburg for one night from Vienna on our way to Innsbruck and then Italy. Arrived before noon, was cordially greeted and able to check in early. Rainy day, but we walked to old town, toured and dined, enjoyed the time and the hotel more than met our needs!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are happy to read that you had a nice time in Salzburg and in our hotel although it rained. Next time we would be delighted to welcome you with sunshine, moreover our hotel will be newly renovated. Kind regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.