We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel near the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel near the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Good location - walking distance from the old town while avoiding the crowded pedestrian area. Parking available. Large hotel with excellent buffet breakfast. Family rooms are extremely spacious and fully equipped. Friendly and helpful staff. Indoor pool.

Room Tip: Family rooms are actually two connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear supergct,
wonderful description, nothing to add. We say thank you and...please come back soon! Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    329
    115
    37
    11
See reviews for
167
291
44
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went to stunning Austria for a short break. Looked at a few hotels in centre and decided on Crowne Plaza The Pitter....Great choice. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, check in was easy and the rooms were spacious clean and well furnished. The hotel itself has excellent facilities all in with the price which was also a bargain and the food was good. Cannot fault this hotel central and walking distance to everything a real find will definately be back. A special thankyou to the lovely staff in photo credit to hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay anywhere else :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear ROME470,

thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Please comne back and enjoy it again!! Believe me it is very easy in Salzburg, I live here...=D
Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is a walk from the train station and a very short walk to the gorgeous Mirabel gardens. If you continue walking another 5-10 minutes you are in the old town. It's also a short walk to the bus tour pick up point.

I'm a priority clubs reward member and they treated me like one which was nice. Spacious room. No view to speak of but no regrets with this booking. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Dor1na,

thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We hope to see you again in Salzburg. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for one night during the summer with our three kids. The decor is a little dated but the hotel was very nice. We had a quick lunch in the traditional Austrian restaurant in the basement called the PitterKeller. We were there at an off hour and in a rush due to a last minute booking of the Sound of Music Tour with Panorama Tours (I was a little apprehensive that it might be corny but the tour and the scenery are a must). The staff quickly served us and the food was very good. The indoor pool, also in the basement, is small but adequate for the kids. The hotel is near the lovely Mirabel Gardens which we used to cut through on our way to the old town a little further away across the river. If you don't like walking to and from the old town this hotel may not be for you but we and the kids enjoyed the walks. The breakfast buffet, which was included with our room, was one of the best we have had anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Spyridon,
it is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you loved the breakfast! Yes indeed the Hotel is dated...it is built in 1864 !! =D But I understan what you mean. we will next year move into the next generationand turn our "old lady" into a pretty old one with some modern touch. We hope that this will add even more value for families like you as we also intend to built more family rooms and bring the breakfast to a brand new roof top Restaurant!!
So please come back in 4th Q next year when everything will be ready. Thank you for your comments and time. Best regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is an easy walk from the train station on the north side of the river. Also an easy walk across the river to the old town and major sites. I was upgraded to a family room and was given free wifi as a priority club member. Hotel room was spacious and clean - decor slightly dated. friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear AKBK-akbk,
thank you very much for your comments and thak you for beeing a valued IHG Rewards member. The Crowne Plaza Salzburg is Hotel with a large tradition, built in 1864m and on our 150th birthday our "old lady" will be completely restyled, while keeping her character we will change the complete outfit! We will add a 6tth floor where our geusts will enjoy their breakfast with a spectacular view. More news will follow. Best regards from the romntic pre xmas Salzburg! Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a Salzburg+Vienna Convention in October.

The hotel is very deceptive! It looks from the outside and from the inside front-office and resturant to be 'just another 4/5* Crowne Plaza hotel. BUT look a little deeper and you find a range of hidden gems; ranging from genuine Old-Austrian Beer and Food restaurants with original furnishings and ornaments - makes you feel in a bygone age! - to traditional Austrian dishes presented with equally-traditional excellent service-manners.

The hotel is located in a strategic location just short walking distance from elegant shops and traditional sites e.g. Old Palaces and the enchanting Hoensalzburg Fortress/Castle. The city is pure romantic elegance and laced with equally-elegant shops and tea-shops/cafes...the cakes and pastries are to-die-for!

This hotel is ideally positioned and served for the business or artistic traveller who can appreciate and enjoy the sophistication and welcoming of Salzburg with it's grand history, musical traditions, and welcoming peoples.

It was a wrench to leave both the hotel and the City in which it sits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Traveller07_10,
what a wonderful and poetic review of our Hotel. Thank You!!
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all the details of our hotel and of course the food and beverage offerings together with the service! I am glad to inform you that we will work on the outer and inner appearance of the Hotel next year and we will do our utmost to turn it into a real jewel of Salzburg. Warm regards, MArtin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were most impressed with this hotel. Within easy walking distance of the main sites in Salzburg; comfy rooms with King Size bed; nice indoor pool, sauna, and exercise room; incredibly courteous and helpful staff at front desk. One block walk to bus tours (yet the staff at hotel arranged for us to be picked up at hotel). Between the great staff at front desk, comfortable room, and convenient location--can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Salzburg!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Wow, what a great feedback! Thank you so much dear Bob C.,
we are excited that our front desk team members helped to make your stay an enjoyable one! And yes please come back to Salzburg and to the "Pitter". We will renovate the Hotel next year and will glow in a new brilliance in q4 2014. See you then...Al the best! Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.