We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I got the best impression of this hotel. Started because the price was fare enough and the location was good, close to downtown. Even though is in the middle of a roundabout. There is no place to park the car around. That's a bummer. Anyway, right when I was checking in, the clerk saw my priority rewards membership card and gave me an upgrade to Avery special suite, that we loved! I thought that was fantastic, because we had booked the hotel over a bidding site and the price was very good, much lower than on the desk. We were staying only one night. We decided then to stay two nights. I've asked the clerk if I could get the same price for the second night and he denied. So I went again on the bidding website and selected the same options I did days before but with a lower price and guess what! I got to stay there one more night and they didn't ask me to chew age rooms. So, it was a very good cost benefit for us. Cozy room, nice bed, couch in the room, toilette separated from the shower (with bath tub).... Very nice. It was the Bethoven suite. And they Los gave us a very good assistance regarding which tour to make! sweet!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Janaina,

thank you so much for your great feedback. Is it correct that you travelled in Nov 12? That is long ago and therefore an extra "Thanks" for taking the time to write your comments down. I am curious to find out which site you used for your overnight stay, I think we would have made a better dealomin giving you the 2nd night right away to the same conditions...=D
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back once again at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    350
    123
    38
    13
See reviews for
183
308
46
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Actually I'm pretty fussy but could not agree with a lot of the complaints mentioned. 2 elevators side by side one small one large. Great Breakfast! Nothing too much trouble and GREAT service there.
Staff tried very hard to be helpful, good restaurants, my room was large and in pretty good condition and it was a proper double bed,I would reccomend this as a reasonable place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Pheefox,

what can I say...THANK YOU !! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. Warm regards, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Is a small hotel. please do not take the 310A room as it is extremely small.
Didn't like the condition of the hotel at all as it looks like a box room or store room to me. this room is adjoining to room 310 which is so much bigger. Room 310A only has a very small shower cubicle that has no place to put your shower gel or shampoo.

Room Tip: Remember to avoid room 310A
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear travelholic283,

thank you for your valuable feedback. The room that you booked was a single room. It can be used seperate or together with an adjoining room as a junior suite. We are sorry that this cathegory did not meet your expectations. We are working hard to include pictures into all booking platforms in order that you have a correct information about the room that you book. Thank you for your tip regarding the place for shampoo. I have asked our engineer to place one in the shower. yours sincerely Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Driving into the city for the first time, it is difficult to locate the front entrance to the hotel. We ended up parking in a nearby street and walking to find the main entrance and reception. After checking in at reception we then walked back to our car to collect our luggage and another walk back to the hotel. We later saw other guests parked outside a side entrance and being assisted with their luggage by hotel staff. This assistance was not offered to us.

The initial impression of the hotel is somewhat traditional (read dated) in its decor. The lifts are tiny, and with two people and two cases the lift is at capacity.

On entering our room on Level 2, we immediately noticed a damp, musty/stale odour and although making mention of this to the luggage porter, he indicated that he thought the room probably hadn't been used or opened for a while. He left, so we opened the windows for some fresh air. We left the room shortly after to take a walk and have dinner at a local restaurant. When we returned to our room the unpleasant odour was as bad as ever. Housekeeping responded to our concerns about the room odour by sending a staff member with a can of room spray!! Shortly thereafter, after relaying our concerns for a third time, we were moved to another (smaller) room on level 4. At least this room was odour free.

Our overall impression was the hotel rooms look tired and shabby with heavy curtaining and bedding.....traditional styling maybe ?? But the old rusted heaters in the bathrooms, the stained basins, patchy painted walls....mmmm, that adds up to tired and shabby in my book.

The bathroom towels were nearly threadbare. Very disappointing.

There are lots of hotels in this area of the city so we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Pikori,
I am extremly sorry to read that you where not satisfied at all with your stay at our Hotel. That is really a pitty and I appologize for all your inconveniences. This Hotel has been built in 1864 and in deed in really rare cases there might be problems with room climate or smell which of course should not be the case. What I read is still the team did care about you and your adressed problems. We have two lifts in the hotel, one is smaller and one bigger. With the planned renovation in 2014 we will get an additional one. You will agree with me that this is something that we can only change longterm, but this point is adressed. Regarding the parking it seems that you somehow missed the Hotel because there are two entrances of the hotel with two loading zones. It is right we do not see all of our guests arriving at the Hotel but upon entering we try to help as good as we can. I am glad that a porter finally helped you to bring the luggage up to your room. Something that you normally only find in 5-star Hotels in Europe. We are sorry that the alternate room that we offered you was smaller then the first one, normally we really try to make sure that the size is at least the same when problems occure with the original room but in your case obviouisly there was no other room available due to high occupancy. We feel really sorry that you would not chose our hotel in the future but we hope that we could at least express our concern about what happend to you. Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Salzburg is a small and walkable city, but even so we found this hotel is really conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk from the gardens. Otherwise, there was nothing outstandingly good or bad about it.

Pros:

- Great location

- Value

- Delivery zone by the side of the hotel - easy to park your rental car there for loading luggage

Cons:

- "Double" bed = two singles pushed together under a single sheet. We had reserved a double but when we got to the room it was a twin. A call to reception had housekeeping up in a minute who rearranged the room. It was ok I guess but it's not really a double: you can't really sleep on the join!

- Starting to look a bit old

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Thrifty TravellerOz,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter. We are sorry that we did not 100% met your bed requirements. We have so many requests for seperate beds that more and more Hotels chose to have flexible beds. We still offer some Superior and Suite rooms with a real large matress. Please accept our appologize for that inconvenience. We hope that you still would book the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter when you come to Salzburg the next time. Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location and great restaurant.
Service is good, but not very clean.
The rooms are old, needing renovation.
Bed is too soft, not good to your back.
If it's raining and you need a taxi, you will get wet, and your luggage as well.
Don't miss the restaurant in the basement! One of the best in town!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear X-viajero,

thank you very much for your input. We are sorry that there have been some inconveniences during your stay. We really work hard to make our guests happy every single day. Sometimes we do mistakes and I appologize for this. We hope that you still enjoyed your stay and we are really happy that you loved the PitterKeller (basement restaurant). Yours sincerely, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good location. There is a nice terraced restaurant across the street, if you do not feel like walking to the Centre. The rooms are average, the bathroom could be better cleaned... Small lift. Stairs but no ramp access to the hotel entrance. Complimentary Wifi access and welcome drink to IHG members. Breakfast is good and varied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinGissel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear M M,
thank you very much for telling us baout your experience at the Crowne Plaza Salzburg The Pitter and your important statement about the missing ramp at the entrance. This important missing item will be adressed next spring. We also will get an additiolnal bigger lift for the convenience of our guests. It is very difficult to become a total accessible Hotel with a property from 1864 but we will at least work hard to improve there. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. Best regards from Salzburg, Martin Gissel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.