We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Graz
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I spent a couple of days in this hotel while joining a conference in Salzburg and chose this hotel because it is part of th IHG group. The hotel itself is located very close in the city center, which makes it convenient for a city trip. My room was spacious and elegant, it could have been a little bit cleaner however. Breakfast was excellent, this was really a big plus at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    329
    115
    37
    11
See reviews for
167
291
44
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well located hotel with helpful and freindly front office staff. Room was confortable, clean and quiet, even though it faced the main road. What let things down was Housekeeping. The first day we returned at 15:00, room hadnt been serviced. We had to wait whilst this was done. 2nd day, beds were made but the tea tray wasnt replenished. We asked three times, nothing. We had to buy our own tea and milk in the end.Sames on the third day. We kept being told, we are very busy. So that said the me, everyone else is more important than us, even though we are Platinum members. Oh well. Overall experience was good but the housekeeping tainted it somewhat. Would we go again. Yes I think so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear MarkySparky16,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club member and for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are please to read you found our hotel well located, the front desk friendly and the room clean and comfortable. However, we regret that your stay was negatively impacted by the housekeeping. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself, partner and 2 adult friends have just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel.
I cannot fault the cleanliness of this hotel, it was truly immaculate.
Our classy bedroom, although not huge, was big enough with a very comfortable double bed, 2 single quilts and 4 fluffy pillows. Also in the room were 2 chairs and a round table, a desk housing the tv, bar fridge and kettle with complimentary hot drinks and a very clean and smart en-suite bathroom with shower. The carpet looked like it had just been laid! The bed linen and towels were changed daily. In exchange for our email addresses we were given 3 days worth of free wi-fi in our rooms.
Downstairs could be found the restaurant (which we didn't visit) and the breakfast room which offers a buffet consisting of very good selection of hot and cold foods.
There is a splash pool, but we were there for the Christmas markets and so didn't use it.
Under the hotel is the oldest bier keller in Salzburg, and we ate in there all 3 nights - their pork schnitzel is to die for!
As others have said, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, speaking perfect English.
All in all a very pleasant stay and we would probably stay there again if we were to return to Salzburg.

Room Tip: If you are intending having breakfast there, book it advance for a good saving. It costs 18 euros ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a good hotel and only 10 mins walk to the centre of the town, we stayed thursday to sunday 13th to 16th dec 12 Hotel is very clean and comfortable, the bedrooms have tea/coffee facilities and the beds are so comfy you dont want to get up in the mornings, it is also worth paying in advance for breakfast as its a lot cheaper than paying on the day and is very good. if you are into sports then its got a very good gym and pool. We stayed in most nights for meals after walking all day it was nice not to have to go back out as its got 3 restaurants on site inc the pitter bar on the lower leval. Food was very good although a bit expensive, but ha its a hotel and in Salzburg. ! Staff very friendly and go out of there way to help. Wi Fi is also in the hotel should you need it, would i go back to this hotel if i go back to Salzburg....YES.

Room Tip: Think they are all good we stayed on the front of the hotel and the windows have a double set of dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's nice to stay in a four star hotel that is actually deserving of the rating. The Crowne Plaza Salzburg is a very plush, professional and comfortable hotel that I will happily stay in again when I next come to Salzburg.
The hotel is very central - a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station (or a €5.50 taxi ride of you have heavy bags), and a beautiful walk along the river edge and across one of the bridges into the old town.
The staff were highly courteous, multi-lingual and knowledgable. A real asset to the hotel. I had a room on the 5th floor - beautiful large king size bed, lots of pillows and very comfortable. A complimentary bottle of water, pillow sleep spray and a good assortment of tea, coffee and hot chocolate were a nice touch.
Bathroom nice, clean and modern.
My only gripe - charging for Internet in the rooms. Internet was free in the lobby, but the hotel does charge for use in the rooms. I do feel this is a bit outdated now, and wish hotels would stop charging for WiFi access.
Also bear in mind that you have to pay a city tourist tax when you check out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this well located hotel, and we were not disappointed. The staff was extremely helpful, and spoke English fluently. For some reason we were upgraded to the Mozart Suite, which consisted of a larger room divided by a console on which rested a rather dated TV set. One side of the room contained our very comfortable bed, and the other, a seating area with a couch, coffee table, chair and writing desk. The bathroom seemed newly renovated and very clean, however the showerhead was a little awkwardly placed, at one end of the shower facing the glass wall halfway along the tub. The room came with free tea and coffee, however I noticed our teabag supply has not been replenished for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was a regal spread of breakfastly delights, read the other reviews for a list of goodies available. We also received 24h free wifi, which was nice. I also enjoyed shopping the sale rack at the boutique inside the hotel, found two beautiful silk scarves at half price. It is a reliable, welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent customer service from the outset - nothing was too much trouble. Was upgraded to superior room on arrival. Free wi-fi as platinum card member of Priority Club.

Room was clean, spacious and warm.

Didn't have breakfast as was rather expensive at 18€ per day.

Good location - midway between station and old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.