We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice hotel with plenty of amenities. Our room was very small (others in our tour group did have larger rooms) but it was very tasteful and had all the normal amenities. It is in a great location and easy walking distance to the Mirabell Gardens and the river and old town. Breakfasts were fabulous with a very wide choice and high quality foods. No free wifi, which is a must nowadays, but the rates were quite reasonable. There was free access to two computers in the lobby, but they were always busy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    358
    125
    38
    13
See reviews for
192
316
47
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Location is just a few blocks from the train station and a block from the Convention Center. Hotel needs updating (and very poor internet at 12 euros per day), but good service and relatively convenient for the old city. Rooms were quite good but need updating. Feels old. The staff were very helpful. "Pitter" restaurant was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here a couple nights and room was spacious for family of four with large bed and pull-out sofa, but there was no a/c to speak of and the room was very warm during the day. There were nice big windows to open to the cool evening air, but the street noise made it hard to sleep. Maybe a room on the courtyard would be better. The beer cellar in the basement is fun and had good food. Staff was very corteous and were hard-working. Location is close to Mirabell gardens and not that far from the old town. Easily walkable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for two night's and were very happy with the greeting we recieved at our check in and were upgraded to a beautiful mini suite.... we had a meal in the garden restaurant on one of the nights and it took a very long time for each course to come out, even getting cold mains, however it is fair to say they were very busy that evening but I did feel they could have had more staff on to cater for the gursts...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was traveling with my husband and 3 kids. We arrived the hotel around noon when the room wasn't ready to check in. The staff helped us to find a room so that we could rest after the long journey. They upgraded us to superior room with more space.
The location is good -- near almost all attractions and train station. Unluckily that the wifi internet is not free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in May 2012. We were greeted by professional and courteous front desk staff. They suffered patiently as I struggled to speak German, and in fact, politely corrected my pronunciation, which I appreciated much. Yes, the rooms could be updated, but for us, certain luxuries were unnecessary as long as the hotel provided the necessities we required--clean rooms, a comfortable bed, and a good shower. The CP did just that. Our breakfast was included; we had no complaints about what was available. Since we would spend a long day sightseeing, and wouldn't eat lunch until 2:00-3:00 in the afternoon, we appreciated starting the day with a satisfying breakfast. Several reviewers commented on the proximity of the hotel to Old Town and Mirabel Palace, all of which I agree with. Salzburg is so small that being situated across the river is not a hardship. The hotel in fact is close to our favorite restaurant in Salzburg: Barenwirt. I found the proximity of the CP to the station a bonus. We walked to the station to pick up a bus to visit Hallstatt and to get a train to Vienna. No need for a taxi when you're about 10-15 minutes from the station. You have to pay for wi-fi, but my wife and I discovered that this is standard practice throughout Europe. The fee for 24 hour wi-fi access is very reasonable. We used it often to skype family back in the USA and to access Trip Advisor to gather information for our day trip to Hallstatt (thanks Mikey_Vienna for your help). I may stay in Old Town in the future simply to see if there is any difference between locations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Good decent hotel. Nice location. 10 to 15 minutes walk to the city center. It has nice bar with very cosy enviornment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.