We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed in a family room (a suite actually) and it was quite large with additional room for kids. The room had decent facilities. What we missed was free wi fi which was given to us by all the other hotels we stayed in this summer. The health club at the basement was quite nice with a tiny pool and steam & sauna.
Location was decent though views were nothing much to write about. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the riiver and the main market which was OK by us. All the buses also went to city centre from outside the hotel so if one didn't want to walk-one could take a bus. We didn't even have to pay for the bus as we had the Salzburg card.
The staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel to those who don't mind satying 10 mins away from city centre. The hotel lies between the train station and city centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    360
    127
    38
    13
See reviews for
192
320
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Pitter was a reat hotel! The staff gave us lots of ideas of thing to do in the area. They great outdoor garden/restaraunt. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

IHG has an offer that is quite unbeatable - book 21+ days in advance and get a 20% discount. My eyes lit up on this and that's the only reason I booked Crowne Plaza (not the kind of place a solo traveller would stay in).
The hotel epitomizes the brand. Courteous staff, well made (and very large) rooms and exceptional breakfast (that came at a steep price :( ). Add to this the outstanding location (please note though that Salzburg is so small that nothing can be 'far' from the city centre), and I doubt I'd consider any other hotel again if Crowne Plaza continues to offer rooms at 65Euros!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. 3 adults in a room on the 4th floor fit very well. Plenty of space my only gripe was the toilet very small but otherwise nice and clean. Yes the pool was small but it was still nice to swim a little. The steam room and the sauna were very good but as uncomfortable to be in as the people were all naked so go at night when it's quiet. Very close to the sights and the underground parking felt safe and was quite cheap. The pitter Keller was the oldest biergarten in Salzburg and added charm to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is only for groups, don't go if you have high standars about hotels. Nothing else needs to be said.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Service was excellent, very friendly.
Hotel was clean and well furnished. Room was comfortable with well stocked mini bar and refreshments.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Close to all tourist attractions and all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

First, the positives:

1. The location is quite good. It's a stone's throw away from Mirabel Gardens, and a leisurely 15 minute walk to the center of the city.

2. The staff is accommodating and courteous. Minimal wait at the front desk, cheerful and attentive staff at the restaurant.

3. The rooms are small, but nice and clean, with reasonable size bathrooms. We even had a free sleep aid beside our bed.

4. The public bathrooms actually had sanitizer in every booth so you could feel safe when using them.

Now, the not-so-goods:

1. The elevators are TINY. There are only two, and they can maybe accommodate maybe 4 people, 6 at the most. Very difficult if you're a big group checking in.

2. No free Wi-Fi. They do provide free internet in two terminals in the lobby, though.

3. I had an ice bucket in my room, with printed instructions where to go on my floor to get ice. I followed the instructions, and there was no ice maker where one was supposed to be. A bit annoying. They shouldn't have placed instruction in the first place if the facility wasn't ready yet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter

Address: Rainerstrasse 6 - 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step inside the classic 19th-century facade and grand marble Lobby of Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Our dedicated staff can help you finalise your banquet or conference arrangements, and they're on hand to provide local sightseeing knowledge. Energise yourself in the Fitness Centre or discover a taste of Austria in our bars and restaurants.Many of the city's attractions are under 20 minutes' walk from Crowne Plaza Salzburg-The Pitter. Stroll to the Cathedral on the Domplatz square where you can listen to the summertime classical music festival, or sip mulled wine at the annual Christmas market. We're next to the Congress Hall, just 900m from Salzburg rail station and less than 5km from Salzburg Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Salzburg
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.