We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Love Affair with Hotel Goldener Hirsch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Love Affair with Hotel Goldener Hirsch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

If its possible to fall in love with a hotel this would be that hotel. The Goldener Hirsch is an absolute treasure. Memories of my stay here return with regularity and are warm and enchanting. The staff are exceptional and eager to please. We were immediately upgraded to a suite, Room number 1, if you wish to know . What a spectacular room, furnished tastefully with antiques and modern conveniences. The windows open to the back street and in the evening it becomes a parade stand for opera-goers and pedestrian traffic. The windows have double panes to quiet the foot traffic if you wish to. Room service was quick and efficient. My morning coffee was delivered within minutes. I highly recommend the valet parking. Bite the bullet on this and you'll be glad you did. All-in-all, our stay here was full of positives and though I can be critical when given sufficient opportunity, I found no such opportunity here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    103
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
114
304
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Staying in a 15th century hotel is not something one can do everyday. The front desk staff are very likeable and helped us plan trips outside of Salzburg using trains/buses. I have not encountered such helpful and kind staff before. When we checked in we were given a nice upgrade to a much larger room than I had booked. The beds were the most comfortable of any place we stayed in Europe. The turn down service was a nice touch with the Mozart candies, along with the complimentary water. I liked the charm of the hallways and being in an old building. The bathroom was modern and a pleasure. The location is hard to beat and you are close to everything. The charm of the hotel cannot be described but it is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I was happy to stay in the room one night when it rained because it was so cozy and comfortable.

If you want to see Eagle's Nest, I highly recommend taking a bus (#840) to Berchtesgaden in order to participate in the tour given by David or Christine Harper. They are very informative and give a lot of historical background. Also, I highly recommend going to the Mozart dinner concert at St. Peter's Stiftskeller-worth every penny! We booked it last minute through the hotel. I definitely hope to come back here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

After staying here a year ago with family, we returned again this past spring - this time with friends in tow, and we were all delighted by the charm and graciousness of this small, elegant hotel. Manuel at the front desk is Johnny-on-the-spot when it comes to any request. The decor is cozy and not overwrought, and the staff are attentive and polite. Also, don't pass up the champagne aperol cocktails in the lobby bar! They're amazing !! !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Incredible service, very friendly, very helpful. Rooms were beautiful. Building is very, very old so floors creak (a lot!). Otherwise, it was great. Although our room faced a very busy pedestrian street, we could hear no noise. Amazingly for such an old building, there was air conditioning. Location is very central to everything. Breakfast was not included and was very expensive. Recommend trying a cafe or conditerei instead.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas and Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I have stayed here several times in the past ten years. This was the best visit yet.
This is a classy five star hotel. The service is WONDERFUL. I called last minute
to see if I could get a room as we were driving through Germany and Austria.
The front desk was very accommodating and offered me a good rate.
We were upgraded to a lovely room with all the amenities (lovely large remodeled bathroom with bidet, Frette bathrobes, slippers to take with you- with the lovely "hirsch" deer design embroidered on them, nice complete toiletries)
Room has authentic antique Austrian painted furniture, room safe, stocked mini bar, very comfortable beds, charming decoration and the extras that make this a luxury hotel.
There was a small room with a desk and FREE INTERNET a huge plus and very thoughtful! They give you the code at the front desk.
The bar of this hotel is as lovely as can be- so charming and elegant at the same time!
Don't miss the deer ragout (game goulash) at the Herzl restaurant next door (part of the Goldener Hirsch with a more casual atmosphere and more modest prices than the formal restaurant. The food is always wonderful here and we try not to miss it.
The staff were very kind and attentive at the hotel and at the restaurant. No snobbish attitude here (although this is one of Salzburg's very best old hotels.) It simply oozes with charm. Front rooms overlook the most famous street in Salzburg- the Getreidegasse- which contains the most charming stores, lovely boutiques like Louis Vuitton, and Mozart's birth house.
Back rooms overlook the beautiful painted horse bath.
I am also a fan of the Oesterreichischer Hof (Sacher Salzburg Hotel) but the Hotel Goldener Hirsch offers much better value for your dollar at this time.
We opted to pay 30 euros a day for valet parking as it is a bit hard to navigate parking in Salzburg. I hghly recommend this hotel. No complaints, no problems, just a wonderful stay- will come again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in and I have traveled to Europe a number of times. The location is perfect to do pretty much anything in Salzburg and the service is extrodinary. Everything about the experience was fabulous and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and would never think about staying anywhere else in Salzburg!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in the first week of July '09. The hotel is in a very old historic building in old town Salzburg on the main shopping street there. The area is just beautiful. It was difficult to find our way there on arrival since the front door is on a pedestrian only street. However, apparently you can drive down it to the front door upon checking in. The more convenient place to be on arrival is at the rear of the building, where there are a few parking spaces (temporary/valet etc...). The hotel is beautiful inside, and is on several levels and in several old buildings connected together. There is a small elevator if you're staying on the upper levels like we were. The room had double shuttered windows that opened onto the main pedestrian/shopping street below. When closed, they were absolutely quiet with no street noise detectable. The room had a very old world feel and contained some antique furniture, while at the same time having the best amenities and new technology. Flat panel HDTV, high speed internet available (for a fee of course, like every other european hotel!), couch, table and chairs. Very nice room in Salzburg for the price, which at the time was around $200/night. It was the largest hotel room I had on this ten day trip through Switzerland, Germany and Austria. It was somewhat disappointing to discover that virtually all of the stores and many restaurants in the old town area closed between 6-7 pm every night. It was sometimes challenging to find a place for dinner at 7-8 pm, when the sun was still up, since so many places were winding down and closing up for the night. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant due to the very high prices there. Nor did too many other people apparently...it was always quite empty. There are quite a few cheaper options just down the street and in the back alleys and courtyards all around the old town. The valet parking was, I think, the most expensive I've ever paid at 33 euros/day, or at the current exchange rate, $46/day. However, parking in the area is virtually non-existent and very difficult to find and this was the most convenient option although you feel ripped off paying this much. All in all the hotel was a really nice place to stay in a very expensive part of town and I would probably stay here again when in Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.