We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charm, Great Location, Good Service, Basic Frustrations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Historic Charm, Great Location, Good Service, Basic Frustrations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Golderner Hirsch during the Salzburg Osterfest. The positives were (1) the location, in the heart of the old city and walking distance to all major sights; (2) the concierge and front desk staff, particularly Thomas (the head concierge), who gave us very good dining recommendations and other advice; and (3) the history of the hotel. However, the age of the hotel came with basic problems. We could not get consistent hot water in the shower, it would go from freezing to hot. Our room, on the top floor, was very warm no matter what we did (and it was cold outside) because the heat from the rest of the hotel rose up. Apart from the hotel's age, the cleaning staff were clearly smoking on the job. Our towels reeked of cigarette smoke despite us having a non-smoking room, and sometimes we would smell cigarette smoke wafting into the room (this could have been from another room, but it seemed to be coming from the housekeepers' area). At the price point and star level, guests should not face such basic problems. Finally, and this is a bit odd, but the toilet seats must have been based on medieval torture devices. They were terrible!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LMZV,
thanks for your feedback about your stay with us.
I immediately talked with our housekeeping staff and explained that it is strctly forbidden to smoke inside of the building. Regarding the hot/warm water problems, we are also searching for the issue as this is not acceptable.
Despite of this I am glad that you enjoyed our service level and hopefully you will return one day to experience our wonder ful city.
With best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    100
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
104
290
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Although the location is fantastic for proximity to sites, it is quite noisy overnight. The room was very hot, even in April, but it was impossible to sleep with the window open because of the noise on the street. But you can't be closer to everything the city has to offer, so bring ear plugs and check out this historical and cute hotel. The rooms are adorable and quirky. Breakfast at the hotel is very expensive and not worth the money, so have your morning meal elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the pedestrian street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Travelbug13Canada,
thanks very much for your comments and feedback. I am happy to read that you liked the decor and service of the hotel.
Unfortunately, we did not know about your issues during your stay, which made it impossible for us to react and make your stay more convinient.
Looking forward to receiving an answer of the email I sent to you today and remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Recently spent two nights here. Being used to the standard St. Regis and Luxury Collection hotels in the US we didn't know what to expect.

What we found was a really charming hotel. The staff were very friendly and made terrific recommendations from attractions to meals to gyms.

The rooms are authentic to a 600 year old hotel which after so many standard luxury hotels was a refreshing change. Just be warned if you are over 6' tall that there may be a few head bumps on doors - but hey that is also part of the charm.

Would recommend the hotel and definitely would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Steven,
thank you very much for your kind and positive feedack. I am happy that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the city of Salzburg.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We adored this hotel. Traditional, formal but friendly, great breakfast, cosy rooms. A,azing location. Concierge were very helpful. We cut short our trip elsewhere to go back and asked for a quiet room and they gave us a suite. Just lovely, old fashioned and we Hope to go back with our family.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sarah F,
thanks for your kind feedback and I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you return soon with your family.
With kind regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Most hotels are not an "experience", they are a place to sleep and get a drink. Not so here. This place dates back 500 years+. So there are some quirks (like 'watch your head' and an occasional uneven floor) but it is loaded with European charm. Rooms are nicely appointed and the bathrooms also nice. The help is friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was outstanding. Central location on a lovely smaller street. We want to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear CLF422,
thanks very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the spirit and style of the hotel.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with kind regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in a junior suite which was lovely and had a nice view of the pedestrian area of Salzburg. The room was large, very comfortable and the bathroom was modern though watch out for the low beams! Breakfast was very good and included in the rate along with one dinner in their restaurant, which was excellent. Service was top notch and I could walk everywhere from the hotel and loved that it was right in the pedestrian only area. Wifi worked well too. I didn't see any other rooms but I imagine they are all quite different as it's in a historical building. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I only saw my junior suite which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear moremiles,
thanks very much for your kind and positive feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the spirit of the hotel as well as our service.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

After a busy week of business in Frankfurt, my wife and I traveled to Salzburg and the Goldener Hirsch for the weekend. Our stay at this hotel was first-rate, in every aspect. It is a historic building/hotel, and you can feel the charm as soon as you enter. As others have pointed out, location in the old city is perfect, and only a short walk to many points of interest and restaurants here or across the river. All staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, helpful, and English was perfect. We especially appreciated all of the help and recommendations from the front desk staff. Their recommendations for restaurants were right on, each time. We received an upgrade to a nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, large room with sitting area and large bathroom. I certainly did not expect an upgrade given that I paid for the room with Starwood points, so a very classy touch that made me feel even more of a valued guest. Room was very quiet, including at night. We did not eat at the hotel, but did visit the bar for a few drinks prior to attending the Mozart Dinner Concert (also recommend). Nice, cozy little bar with very attentive service. I would highly recommend the Goldener Hirsch as the place to stay in the old city, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Charles L,

thanks so much for your positive and kind feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return very soon.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.