We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Exquisite Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Quaint rooms with modern amenities and contemporary ambiance in this remarkable hotel. My 17 year-old son thought this was the best room during our entire trip through Europe. Perfect location in the old city, two-minute walk to Mozart's Birthplace (a museum now with original works). Staff were really super nice, and the restaurant food was incredible. The atmosphere is old world with wooden beams but don't let that fool you.

Go to Eagles Nest it's a half-day tour from Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Joefrombrooklyn,

thank you very much for your positive feedback and I am happy to read that you liked the location of the hotel and our service.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    93
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
96
266
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch in Salzburg in Room #15. I can't say enough about the hotel and the staff. The entire staff was extremely professional, attentive & helpful. Our room was very spacious and the decor was a lovely alpine. The buffet breakfast each morning was fabulous. The selections were plentiful, high quality & beautiful to the eye and the service was impeccible. We ate at the casual restaurant next store (Herzl) and in the more formal dining room in the hotel. Again, we would give high marks to both restuarants on food quality & service. The hotel is located in Old Town Salzburg on the main pedestrian street and is the ideal location to see Salzburg. We highly recommend the hotel and look forward to staying here again. This hotel & the staff exemplifies customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Donna N,

thanks very much for your positive and kind feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that especially our service made you happy.

Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was large and decorated with Alpine furniture and fabric,very cozy. The hotel is very old 1490s parts of it. We even had a private elevator.
Convenient location, easy to walk to the market, shops. For souvenirs, there are some nice little shops tucked away with hand-made items.The market has delightful wurst and also pretzel stands.
It was hot the two days we were there and this hotel has air conditioning!
Personnel all friendly and professional. Breakfasts and dinner were excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get the big room with the little elevator on floor 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Whiteout22,

thanks for your kind feedback and I am happy to read that you liked your stay in the hotel and Salzburg.
Looking forward to having you back, soon.

I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

In the perfect location, on the Getreidegasse this charming old world hotel has been open since the 1400s. The charming country Austrian rooms provide a contrast to the uptight fixtures in Vienna, while delivering on a first class experience for all who visit.

Our car was immediately taken care of in the back of the hotel and luggage grabbed. The charm of the place exudes from every wall, stairway and fixture. We were checked into two lovely rooms on the 2nd floor and overlooking the pedestrian shopping street. Huge retro style keys that you leave at the front desk, were a classy and fun touch.

The staff has the perfect balance between classy and casual and were extremely helpful in everything that we requested during our short one night stay. Being on the American Express Platinum reservation, we had dinner included, and they were extremely accommodating in every request, even when the dinner was included.

Have a "Susanna" at the bar for a refreshing stop after coming back to the warmth and comfort of the Goldener Hirsch after a day seeing Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear mcclungp,

thanks very much for your positive feedback and I am very happy to read that you liked the atmosphere of our hotel and attitude of the staff.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Loved the old world charm of this hotel. It was old and creaky, but comfortable and beautifully maintained.
The furnishings were quaint Alpine. The bathroom was completely modern with marble and fluffy towels.
It was on a pedestrian street and within walking distance to most Salzburg sights.
Watch your head when you take the stairs, the ceilings are low and we learned that by whacking our heads!
The drawback was we took a taxi from Munich and could not figure out how to get to the entrance. We went to the back by the restaurant and employees told our driver in German they would have someone open the "garage" for him. We saw no garage and circled and circled through Salzburg. Finally we told the driver to take us to the back door and we would walk around. The staff was helpful with our bags, but this was all an unnecessary frustration. The hotel entrance is on a pedestrian street and the barricades can be lowered. Our driver being from Munich was not familiar with this, and it really should not have been a difficult explanation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear jjmmff625,

thanks for your good feedback and I am happy that you liked our hotel. For tall people it is necessary to watch the head as this is an old building.
Parking is offered by our staff, which is just around the corner.
Looking to having you back with us, soon.
I remain with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The staff was exceptional- everybody was very friendly and helpful. The room felt charming but also needed a little updating and the AC wasn't very cool but the hotel provided a fan which really helped.Overall the hotel is a nice place to stay in a great location. The recommendations for restaurants and town of Salzburg made for a really nice few days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear China2002,
thanks for your positive feedback and I am happy that you praise the friendlyness of my staff. As we are a building from 1407 and monumental protected it is very difficult to keep the temperature if it goes beyond 35 degrees Celsisus.
Despite of this I very glad to read that all was fine.
I remain with best regards and looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The Goldener Hirsch is a lovingly decorated and superbly well maintained hotel right in the center of the wonderful and lively old town quarters of Salzburg.
Great value for money. Rooms are individually furnished with selected pieces of alpine handmade furniture.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Wolfgang H,
thanks very much for your positive feedback and review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to having you back with us, soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Family Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.