We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Valencia, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in Salzburg for two nights during a stopover between our visits to Prague and Munich and oh boy were we glad we did. Salzburg is a charming little city with beautiful sites and famous Hollywood history. We stayed at the Hotel Goldener Hirsh because we have been consistently happy with Starwood properties and this one was no exception. We found a somewhat reasonable rate online at Starwood's website. Sure, we could have stayed a little cheaper; however, the location of this amazingly quaint hotel, not to mention, its quintessential Austrian alp decor made the entire Salzburg experience complete. First, the hotel is located on the Getreidegasse shopping street, which is a fun place to stroll. Second, even though I normally hate McDonalds, in this expensive little town, there is a McDonalds just steps from the hotel that has perfect breakfast choices with an Austrian flair at far reduced costs than the restaurant across the street. The service was stellar. But did not include breakfast. We did get free WiFi though and a complimentary water and turn down service each day. Only downside: no pool or fitness center but the hotel allowed me to use the fitness center at the Sheraton (which was about a mile away but a good warm up before working out).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twointlkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback and I am happy that you liked the city and our hotel . Salzburg is really charming but I am sure you also liked Prag which is amazing, too.
Hope you stay with us next time you are in the suroundings and I remain
with best regards
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are back in the UK after three fantastic nights at the Goldener Hirsch. Marvellous location. A wonderful combination of old-world charm and modern comforts. Friendly and helpful staff. Superb restaurant, if somewhat pricey.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Steve,
thanks a lot for your postive comments and I am happy to read that you liked our hotel and the staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff at this hotel bgan with excellent service even before we arrived. Without a map or GPS we got close, but they stayed on the phone with us until we had the Golden Stag in sight. Apaprently this is one of their trademarks.

The hotel is conveniently located within the walls of the Old City, a couple of blocks from the farmers market, the statue of Mozart, the concert halls and many restaurants, and the stairwells to the castles. Its a great spot to start walking from, in minutes you can be along the river, or sitting at a cafe of shopping in the city where it would take days to cover.

The hotel itslef is sveral hundred years old, but has maintaned its luxurious feel. It is not a cookie cutter hotel, it is old world charm. Typical European sized rooms, although with a slight updgrade we had a 2.5 room suite. Every room is unique, impeccably clean, and wortjh every penny.

Room Tip: Remember that it is an SPG property so your status and/or points can be put to goood use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind response and I am very happy to read that you liked our service.
The arrival by car in Salzburg ist not too easy as the city has a lot of one way streets and I am even more glad that all worked out perfect.
Looking forward to having you back with us soon.
Wolfgang Putz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Hotel is located perfectly in the center of Salzburg, in walking distance of most sights and many restaurants and cafes.

Rooms were comfortable and cozy, bathrooms had a large bathtub and were spotless. Some might find the style of the rooms kitschy, but for us the it befitted the city of Salzburg.

Breakfast was also very good, though not included in our rate and quite pricey. Also the room rate itself was not a bargain but worth it, especially because we got a free room upgrade.

Room Tip: Join the Starwood member program before you go, you might get a free room upgrade. (happened to us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Robert,
thanks for your positve feedback and you are right. Joining SPG prior might be a big advantage as it is easier to get an upgrade.
With warm regards from Salzburg
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband were traveling throughout five countries in Europe and stayed at many different hotels and the Goldener Hirsch was above all my husband's favorite. The decor was just beautiful - the room was amazing; we were given complimentary bottled waters daily as well as a bottle of wine; chocolates on our pillows at night. We had drinks in the bar and found the bartenders to be first rate and the restaurant was simply amazing - wonderful food, attentive staff, and so much old-world atmosphere. I cannot say enough about this beautiful hotel and the helpful and very friendly staff. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Kathy,
thanks so much for your kind feedback and I am very happy that your husband and you liked our hotel and the attentive service.
Looking forward to having you back soon.
With best regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Goldener Hirsch 10th Jan - 13th. This is a very typical Austrian hotel which is quaint and cosy and within walking distance from all local tourist attractions. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Rainer on reception was outstanding, reserving all our restaurants for us. He also booked our sleigh ride (which I would highly recommend). Our room was perfect. The beds were so comfortable and the room maids checked our rooms twice a day leaving a chocolate on our pillow which was a nice touch! The bathrooms are huge with two wash basins and a huge bath! We also had a separate sitting room which was very useful. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was pricey (but I believe excellent) and instead ate at Fingerlos which was a lovely walk to build up our appetites. We had one evening meal in the hotel restaurant next door which was very good and a lot cheaper than the restaurant in the actual hotel (same food too). We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCricket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive and kind feedback.
Great to read that you enjoyed our service and had a great time.
Hopefully you will return one day.
with best regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Such a nice combination of old world charm and modern conveniences. We enjoyed the bountiful breakfast, friendly staff, the casual restaurant. Loved having a sitting area in the room. Having a bathtub was great. Chocoates on the pillow. Just a very nice three days.

Room Tip: Our room looked right over the pedestrian street, which wasn't too loud. A bit of noise in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPutz, General Manager at Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Paul and Sarah,
thanks for you nice feedback which makes us really happy.
Great that you liked staying with us.
Hopefully you will come back one day.
best regards
Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#8 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
#1 of 137 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#3 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Salzburg
Sheraton Salzburg
#15 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg

Address: Getreidegasse 37, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#4 Business Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple Conde Nast Gold list and Travel + Leisure World's best awards winner - all our 69 rooms and suites boast authentic Salzburg-style décor handpicked by Countess Harriet Walderdorff. The original antiques, handmade furniture, and native rag rugs are opulent and discreet at the same time, and honor 600 years of hotel history. Meeting point of local and international celebrities year round who appreciate the flawless and discreet service the hotel is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Hirsch Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing