We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a nice time with Salzburg card” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenzgalerie Salzburg

Residenzgalerie Salzburg
Residenzplatz 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
0043 0 662 840451 0
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #17 of 95 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Art Galleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The stately home of the powerful price-archbishops who ruled over Salzburg starting in 1595.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
“Have a nice time with Salzburg card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Pleasent and well organized tour along nice ancient rooms using audioguide. You can take fotos; there are chairs so you can sit and relax during your visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    53
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms were shut because of restoration work but no one mentioned that when we got our tickets.
The art gallery was ok but didn't justify the full ticket. No photography is permitted inside and the attendants follow you from room to room - presumably to prevent a surreptitious photo.
There is a pleasant enough terrace from where you can see the plaza but the coffee they sell is atrocious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Under restoration, but worth a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Got a private tour via a personal friend, but it is worth viewing on your own. Restoration is going on and I look forward to seeing more work done on our next visit. This palace belonged to the Archbishops, but it is not very religious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Beautiful historic rooms with original décor and nearly original furniture in a palace. Cost 9 euro which we thought was great value. The audio commentary was precise and informative. Great way to spend a few hours. There is also an art gallery containing mainly paintings, which we didn't enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very beautiful, glad we went - get a Salzburg card!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We got a Salzburg Card, which includes free admission to many places and this was one of them. If we had not gotten the card, we might have missed this place and I'm really glad we went. The rooms are absolutely amazing - I can't even imagine anyone living that lifestyle and I'm not that much of an art fan but this was absolutely fascinating to see. The ceilings, walls, furniture and wall hangings were very ornate, very detailed and just incredible to see. I can see how someone could spend hours in just one room looking at all the details. The admission included a very nice audio tour in your language of choice, which was very nice and gave great information about each room. We opted not to go upstairs to the art gallery as others had told us it wasn't really that interesting and we usually prefer historical museums to art museums anyway. Even if you're not that much of a history or art buff, this can be very interesting just to get a glimpse of a unique way of life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Residenzgalerie Salzburg also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Residenzgalerie Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenzgalerie Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.