We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, reasonable location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Lechner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Lechner to your Saves list
Pension Lechner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rainerstrasse 11, Salzburg 5020 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, reasonable location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

There is not much to be said about Pension Lechner. It has a reasonable location for a reasonable price. And that is about all there is. If you want a budget option between the city center and the railway station, you can do worse. I paid 50€ a night and was rather happy with what I got: a bed.

If you want luxury, service or excitement; go somewhere else. The staff isn't too friendly, then again, I had minimum contact with them. The good thing with the place is that you can check in very late, through the bar next door. I arrived very late, I was actually going for another hotel, and got a room from a phone call and then got the key from the bar.

It isn't the cheapest option in Salzburg, but it is ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
4
11
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Even though we mentioned in our booking that we were going to arrive late in the evening, we couldn't find anyone at the reception. This resulted in half an hour spent trying everything we could think of: ringing buzzers, calling out and calling phone numbers (the one listed on the booking page and the one carefully taped to the door, but no luck). Finally we managed to find a passage from the hotel corridor to the restaurant's kitchen, and then to the restaurant and someone gave us the key to the room.

The room was quite dirty, with a vacuum cleaner still laying in the middle of the room, obviously the cleaning process was abruptly interrupted. There was no heating and no soundproofing, we were constantly disturbed by noises coming from the corridor or other rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Based on reviews, we planned to spend three nights here while we toured Salzburg, however, it took us only about 10 minutes to decide to just take a hit on our budget and check out. The hotel is old and not well-maintained. The bathrooms are no more than cubicles, and not very clean. The carpet was dirty. The bed appeared clean, however. The hotel is not air-conditioned, and no fans were available. In Salzburg's summer heat, sleep would have been impossible. Registration area is rundown. No internet was available. We had our teenaged granddaughter with us, and they put her in a room two floors away despite our previous request to be in adjoining rooms. All of the rooms are up multiple levels of stairs and there is no elevator. I would never stay there, and never recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I booked four nights as this hotel is reasonably close to the station. We lasted only one and then found a cleaner, nicer, friendlier hotel with a lift closer to the station in the same price range and in a quiet street. All the rooms at this hotel are up stairs and the walls are very thin. Everything in the room was old and tired. The bathroom was some sort of portable add-in. Just after we got into the room one of the beds collapsed and in trying to put the bed back together we discovered a very large (aprox 30cm x 40cm) blood stain on the mattress. The bed was not capable of fixing that night. The staff finally moved us to another room. We were not game to look at the cleanliness of the new room. We left in the morning. They wanted us to pay for the four nights but in the end I only paid for the one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Novosibirsk, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It is a really nice hotel in a very old building. We had a room for 2. Room had everything we needed and in an antique style. There were bed, table, chairs, mirror, wardrobe. Also there were electric stove and small refrigerator. Breakfasts were good. And everyday services were perfect. But there was no Internet in rooms. But there is a computer in the 1st floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

CLEAN BEDS and Towels , thats all what matters when visiting a place , plus convenience of location and welcome, very handy from the Railway Station and Bus station, with in walking distance of the main centre and 10 mins from Mirabelle garden, the hotel was clean and a good breakfast Continental type was always there in the morning, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, bread, toast, cakes, cereals and plenty of coffee , the staff were all very pleasant, the downside is no one about after 6 pm, so let them know your arrival time and the key will be in the bar next door no lift, so 3 floors, and quite near the railway line so if you need peace shut the window, tv in room with bottle water, lacking tea/coffee making facilities so you from UK take your kettles , they will also keep your suitcases on last day till teatime , the bar next door is a separate business and very pleasant they have hot meals and drinks of all types hot or cold, but not cheap, if you go towards the railway station there are plenty of little snackbars around and a Burger King and Mc Donalds, PLUS theres a C/A s and a shopping centre called forum 1 but the best bit is the new station as a big Spar Supermarket in open 7 days a week 8am till 10pm so you can stock up on bits and pieces, enjoy

Room Tip: front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Firstly, the positives. The Lechner is conveniently located at 11, Rainerstrasse, which is fairly near to the train station and also a short walk from the Mirabelle park. The hotel is also relatively inexpensive and it does provide a basic, yet decent Continental breakfast. However, the hotel is situated very closely to the train line. During our stay, it was very warm; the hotel does not have air con and it was necessary to open the windows to get some air. As a result, the thundering noise of countless trains going by kept me up an awful lot on more than one night. The other problem was the bathroom. Although our room had an ensuite bathroom, it was more of a glorified cupboard. The shower kept on flooding the whole room as the shower basin was very shallow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Lechner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lechner

Address: Rainerstrasse 11, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Lechner 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Lechner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lechner Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Lechner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.