We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel am Mirabellplatz to your Saves list
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

After a long-awaited trip to Salzburg, we checked in to the Austrotel. From the moment we arrived, we felt as if we were the only ones that mattered. They knew our names, our room number, they held our bags (as we had arrived before check-in time), they offered assistance with dining, internet, places to see and how to travel there. Just the best!! Everyone at the front was wonderful, but Martina is worth her weight in gold!! If I ever get back to Salzburg, I know where I'll be staying. The room was spacious, the en-suite bath nice, the noise that everyone mentioned was barely noticable. The church bells stopped around 10 p.m., and then "woke up" pealing at 7 a.m. A wonderful place to return to after a long day of traveling and sight-seeing!! And definitely worth the price!! We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel, as there were plenty of places to have coffee and pastry around the hotel, and we wanted to "hang with the locals!!"

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    187
    62
    29
    19
See reviews for
65
164
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This place was incredibly noisey because its located on a very busy street by a very busy bus stop. Even with earplugs and windows closed, i could barely sleep.. beds were comfortable enough, but the place was worn..old carpets, old depressing gold paint and a weird line painted to make it look like a decoration but just looked like a bad paint job. Hairdryer didnt work.. Breakfast was $20 euros or something crazy ( i didnt go). Parking was 13 euros and its offsite, not far though, just a block away, but its not a good deal with parking because any other person off the street pays 15 euros i think. Place was cheap though, about $ 65 USD , but i woudlnt stay here again because it was just too noisey.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

Really not much we can add to what most other reviewers have said. Salzburg and the surrounding countryside are wonderful (particularly fond of Bad Ischl and the spa) but potentially pricey. This hotel provides a central location, clean and comfortable room and excellent breakfast all for a very reasonable price. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful nd will recommend good places to eat close by as the hotel does not have a restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We booked this place via Expedia, based on all the reviews here and we weren't disappointed. It is definitely in a great location, right across from the Mirabell gardens. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean. They have free water,coffee and juice down in their lounge and free internet access in the lobby. The front desk was pretty helpful. The only unfortunate thing that left a sour taste in our mouths was that somehow we were given to understand that the breakfasts were included in the price of our hotel - mostly our fault coz we just assumed (as our breakfasts were included at all the other hotels we stayed at in Germany/Austria) and none of the staff mentioned otherwise, even when we signed in for our breakfast each morning, the staff just said it was "included" - weird.
They actually have a nice breakfast spread - lots of variety, but I don't know if it was because it was the end of the our trip and I was tired of so much bread and cheese in the morning or I was so full from eating all the pastries in Salzburg, none of it looked terribly appetizing and I hardly ate much (a handful of dried prunes and some water on my last morning). So when we checked out and got a bill for 80 Euros for breakfast (4 days for 2 people), we were more than a bit horrified. Apparently they have different booking codes - some include breakfast, others don't. So moral of story: make sure when u check in to ask if your breakfast is included in the price of your room or not. Otherwise, you will pay an additional 13 Euros (about $18) per person for each breakfast which is totally not worth it, unless you eat a LOT and/or need to have scrambled eggs every morning. Otherwise, there are several wonderful bakeries just adjacent to the hotel and you can find delicious pastries and a cup of coffee for about 3-4 euros max.
The only other negative is that lots of the rooms face a very busy street and there is ALWAYS noise at night - all night long, buses, people screaming, etc. So if that will bother you, then make sure you check with the hotel about getting a room away from the main street.
Just another recommendation - if you happen to be there on a thursday morning - be sure to check out the local farmers market in the church parking lot just down the street from the hotel. It is HUGE and just FABULOUS. All the locals come there to shop and there is a dizzying variety of fresh fruits and veggies as well as everything else you can think of - fresh and cured meats, baked goods of enormous variety, flowers, plants for sale, herbs and spices, little old ladies selling hand knit sweaters and socks as well as crafts (we were there just before easter and there were handpainted eggs galore), all kinds of pickled/preserved olives and peppers, mind-blowing variety of local cheeses. Pretty much anything you could think of to eat. It was packed with locals who were shopping, socializing, eating, drinking - a nice slice of daily town life. We loved it - wandered around for about 2 hours there and finally bought the makings of a delicious picnic which was consumed a few hours later at the Augustiner beer garden (highly recommended as well) with mugs of yummy beer. I love Salzburg - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

This hotel was pleasant with friendly service. I would echo the remarks about the rooms being hot - we were there in April and still very warm without any aircon. Also be warned that the loud church bells are very close by - a bit of a nuisance if you want a sleep-in! Great location though and clean/spacious etc.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Good Hotel, Great location, friendly English speaking staff. Town centre is a nice 5 min walk over the river, It is over the road from Mirrabel gardens which is a lovely, free place to relax. Breakfasts are good, a tad expensive but there is two bakeries around the corner if you want to grab a cheaper option.
Cons - Parking is only in the expensive underground car park, Although nice rooms myself and my partner didn't sleep too well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

My trip to Austria was amazing the food, the sites, and especaially the hotel i stayed at, that made the stay better for me and my mother. The Austrohotel is a nice place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. The concierge was extremely helpful and she was always willing to set things up for us. We took a tour with a tour company i do not remember off hand but where we were suppose to meet was right across from the hotel. The Breakfast in the morning was good. A contenential breakfast in the morning got us through the day. They room was clean and the tv has all of the international channels. The beds were comfy. Anyways I would totally reccomend the Austrohotel to anybody who wants a good deal in Salzburg.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#38 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer
Hotel Imlauer
#53 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#17 of 136 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#58 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlton
Hotel Villa Carlton
#26 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Mirabellplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Address: Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Mirabellplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Central Location and HistoryWelcome to Hotel am Mirabellplatz, Salzburg.Built as a palace for the Archbishop Paris Lodron in 1653 our house radiates historical charm together with modern character. Due to the excellent location in the old town, the most popular sights are within walking distance. Be it elegant comfort room, modern business room, spacious family room or exclusive residence room - all rooms were furnished with great attention to detail and were lovingly designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel am Mirabellplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Austrotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Austrotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Mirabellplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.