We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Save Saved
You added Hotel am Mirabellplatz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed at austrotel for a weekend (August 18-20). the hotel venue is awesome- very close to the old town!we did everything in salzburg by walking. it took us one day to see the town! the breakfast includes a variety and water, coffee, tea, and juice are offered for free in the lobby 24 hrs! staff were helpful and friendly! we asked for a double room but our room was in fact a single room with an extra bed. this did not bother us however. even though the beds were small, we found that the room and the hotel had a cozy atmosphere.
we would definitely return back!

Room Tip: we were not able to sleep well due to drunk people singing at night. we took a room on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    151
    48
    21
    8
See reviews for
44
113
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ended up here after being quite unceremoniously dumped from the Best Western who simply said they were full and sent us here instead. It seems that those who book thru an Internet site and get best rates are lowest priority for them. Anyway, we get here and we are not sure because the exterior is simply a revolving door off a side street in Mirabellplatz. As others have noted, check the location via GPS etc because it is not on the main road. What a revelation when we went inside. Marble floors, courteous staff, and they gave us a great corner room (perhaps just to spite the BW). Regardless of the room, the location is ideal with shopping and the main tourist sights only a few minutes' walk away. We did not ot for the breakfast as there are many cafes nearby. The only negative is that the closest parking is about two blocks away, a hassle when moving bags around. But it seems the other hotels also use public parking sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to all good sites, ok breakfast BUT no air conditioning and the worst WiFi system imaginable. WiFi is free and with a strong signal but you need a daily code the expires at midnight - your surfing is regularly interrupted by ads and or
a request to reenter your code! If you are using an app that needs internet then it freezes when the ads come. You need to go back to your browser, look at the ad and then you can return to your app. Who developed this mind-bogglingly stupid system?!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As the previous review stated, beware of the signage and address issue. We stood outside the hotel for a good 20 minutes before realizing we were right in front of it!

Pros:
- 15 minute walk from the train station
- 5 minute walk to the Old Town across the river
- quiet, clean, and spacious
- friendly service
- one block from the Panorama Tours (we did Sound of Music and Eagle's Nest)
- free WIFI in rooms - no problems!
- affordable
- cute little lounge area with snacks and such
- directly across the street from the Mirabell Gardens
- secure luggage storage
- near drug store and bakery

Cons:
- no AC, but it really wasn't needed because it was in the low 60s
- breakfast not included
- congested traffic area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I always stay at Austrotel whenever I visit Salzburg, excellent location at Mrabellplatz facing the Mirabell Palace and Gardens, 10 min walk from the train station and 5 min from Getreidegasse at the old city. Nice spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. They went out of their way to help us with our tours, dining options and shopping. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

First caution: the front door of the hotel does not face Mirabellplatz, but is on Paris-Lodron Strasse around the corner. And the sign does not say "Austrotel", only "Hotel am Mirabellplatz". That said, its location is good and is a short walk from the train station, another short walk to the old town. The other reviewers have done a fair job in describing the hotel, but i'll add that it's time to change the mattresses! And the antiquated wifi password system is so balky the front desk must spend an inordinate amount of time responding to access inquiries.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was an outstanding value in one of the world's greatest cities for music lovers. Just minutes away (walking) from the area where much of Sound of Music was filmed and it is close to the Mozart. The hotel was clean, staff was very good and the room we received, a "Jrunior Suite" was very nice. The one draw-back was no breakfast, but many places close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel am Mirabellplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Mirabellplatz

Address: Paris-Lodron-Strasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Mirabellplatz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm, Central Location and HistoryWelcome to Hotel am Mirabellplatz, Salzburg.Built as a palace for the Archbishop Paris Lodron in 1653 our house radiates historical charm together with modern character. Due to the excellent location in the old town, the most popular sights are within walking distance. Be it elegant comfort room, modern business room, spacious family room or exclusive residence room - all rooms were furnished with great attention to detail and were lovingly designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel am Mirabellplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austrotel Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Austrotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Austrotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Mirabellplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.