We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, staff, club loundge and castle views...the best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Salzburg to your Saves list
Sheraton Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room, staff, club loundge and castle views...the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

After staying in big name hotels all over Europe, the Sheraton, Salzburg was the best. The hotel location backed onto Mirabella Gardens and a gorgeous park. The club room serving food and drinks all day and night was modern and comfortable and had wonderful gourmet delights with views of the Salzburg castle on the cliff face. The rooms were fresh and modern, the staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel was the highlight of our hotel stays in Europe as the offerings of the club lounge were impressive...cafe latte, cakes, full bar inc champagne, canapes, fresh fruit and cheeses.
We loved it here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    195
    38
    14
    6
See reviews for
137
270
42
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Frankly I have never thought of Sheraton's as really top hotels. My mistake, at least where this on is concerned. Fabulous hotel.

Great location. Easy walk to everywhere. Super friendly staff. Good value for the price. Breakfast and parking are both pricey, but in line with most 5 star hotels.

We have no complaints, other than we wish we could have added a few more nights on our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We just returned from 5 nights at the Sheraton Salzburg. We were there during the Festival, and had the opportunity to see old-school Austrians turned out in their finery (we were the underdressed American tourists).

Our room was and "Executive King room" on the 6th floor, and was spacious and meticulously clean. The beds were comfortable and firm, and the pillows and duvets were good quality. The bathrooms were huge and well equipped by European standards (and excellent by US standards, too). I would guess our bathroom was 8'x10'. The sink was a slab of marble with a large sink, plenty of counter space, a lighted magnifying mirror, blisslabs toiletries (standard for Sheraton). Marble floors and shower walls. The tub/shower was extra large, in the shape of the number "8", with one side of the eight dedicated for showering (separate water controls in the other side of the 8 in case 2 people wanted to shower at the same time--there would have been enough space for this). Water pressure was excellent--not always the case even in fine hotels.

The room was meticulously cleaned every day, and turndown done every night with a Mozartkuglen (chocolate covered pistachio marzipan candy specific to Salzburg) on the pillows each night. Yum!

The staff were pleasant, friendly, and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast, which we enjoyed only once during our stay, was abundant and of top class quality, with omelettes made to order, an array of fresh fruits, meats, smoked fish, cheeses, pastries, breads, yoghurts, juices, etc. I will say that Austrians are rather formal and so even at a 7:30 am breakfast on a Saturday, everyone was finely turned out and coiffed. I'm glad I spent the extra minutes to brush my children's locks before going down.

The location is good, in the new city but about 10-15 minute to the old city, through Mirabell gardens. For those travelling with children, there is an excellent climbing tree en route, as well as a fine playyard for children next to Mirabell gardens (and thus also very close to the hotel--the playground is nestled between the back of the Marionnetten Theatre and the maze portion of Mirabell).

Parking was easy and secure-feeling in a public garage beneath the hotel. (elevator opened only to the lobby for non-hotel guests; hotel guests could go direct from garage to room floor using their room key). The hotel environs seemed generally quite safe and well secured. We fel very comfortable walking to and from dinner after sunset with our 2 young children.

We took day trips to Hallein,Hallstatt, Bad Ischl, and appreciated the convenient parking especially on those days! Staying in the old town would have made keeping a car during the visit more of a challenge, I'd think.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

An extremely friendly hotel with very welcoming staff. Lovely location and rooms very comfy and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We chose this hotel after we read the reviews on Tripadvisor.
We booked 4 executive rooms for 6 nights. The location is very nice, almost in the Mirabell Gardens. Its a quite area within a walking distance of the Sacher Hotel, and the Old Town.
We were given connected rooms when we asked them.
The rooms were big, with 2 single beds, joined as king. The view was on the Mirabell gardens, We had a TV(lots of channels, German, English, Arabic, and more), coffee maker, AC. The marble bathroom was nice with everything expected from a 5 star hotel. Everything was very clean.
The best thing was the club lounge. We had FREE access to the club from before 7 a.m. (breakfast) to 10 p.m. They had a small buffet all day, with all kinds of drinks, coffee, etc. Wireless internet was free for us and available all over the hotel.
Mirabel Restaurant: We had breakfast there once, and it was good with lots of choices. But we preferred the Club Lounge. We went for dinner once to the Mirabel Restaurant, but they didn't have anything vegetarian, so we had room service instead. Room Service was really good with lots of choices (especially the pizza, pasta).
I would recommend this hotel for anyone, and I would stay here again.
I would like to thank everyone who made my stay at the Sheraton Salzburg so memorable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My wife and I enjoy creative cuisine that is well prepared and artistically presented. Unfortunately, less than 5% of restaurants deliver this. Mirabell in the Sheraton Hotel fulfilled our lofty requirements for fine dining for a special occasion. Excellence in culinary creativity and presentation, with a warm, romantic, elegant, comfortable ambiance. The service was also excellent, at least at a Michelin one-star level. They had both indoor and outdoor (in season) dining, and the surrounding park grounds were placid and pretty. (We chose to be inside for fine dining.) The wine list was reasonably extensive, but weighted to lower-priced bottlings and Austrian selections. We had a perfect Sancerre by the glass from top producer H. Bourgoise (2007) and a 2004 Ch. Neuf du Pape Le Crau that was in top condition (and served from a nice "duck" decanter). While this restaurant might seem expensive, the food, service, and ambiance were commensurate with the pricing. So, a gastronome (i.e., "super-foodie") will definitely find value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The Sheraton was in an excellent location...you could walk everywhere within minutes. The breakfast was incredible (the omelete's were delicious!) - lots of choices, great service and very pretty setting (large windows that look into the garden). The jr. suite was very large with two bathrooms, sitting area and lots of windows (looking out on the garden/park). The staff in this hotel was amazing...very nice, helpful and anticipated your needs in advance. They went above and beyond at the last minute to locate a rental car for us that could be dropped off in another country and they were very genuine, friendly and irreplacable! I actually filled out a survey for the hotel directly and told them to give them raises :) You can not go wrong if you stay at the Sheraton in Salzburg - excellent choice!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salzburg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Starwood EMEA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.