We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, will return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salzburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Salzburg to your Saves list
Sheraton Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good value, will return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The centre of Salzburg for a short stay revolves around being near the Old Town - specifically Getreidestrasse and the shops and restaurants there. This is especially important if you are attending the Salzburg Festival, as you are then not stressed about having to walk to the concert venue and back, whether to change or rest before the next performance if you are doing two in a day, when there are fewer taxis available etc. The top locations are the Sacher, which is across the bridge (at the doorstep of the Sacher) from the OldTown, or the Goldener Hirsch which is 200m from the Festspielhaus. Both charge top dollar like €550 per night during the high season. I stayed in the Sacher for a couple of nights, and in the Sheraton a week later.
The Sheraton, for a Club Room at €354, is way ahead in the extras you get for the price. The Club Lounge serves buffet breakfast, drinks and snacks all day long, including champagne (Mumm) , wines, mix-it-yourself drinks, hot and cold snacks like grilled pork fillets, open face sandwiches with roast beef, cheeses, etc., cakes, pastries. A very generous selection of food and drinks, enough for dinner before a performance at 7pm, and which cuts down on having to hunt for a place to dine when the town is packed with tourists. Free wi-fi is included, the only hassle being that you have to login with name and room number each time. Our room on the first floor was newly-renovated, everything a corporate traveller would want. Very quiet, well-insulated, which is important because there IS traffic in Salzburg - motorbikes, taxis, and buses. Airconditioning was perfect, modern and easy to adjust, and also quiet. You would need airconditioning because it can get up to 30deg C in the day in the summer. Do not go for hotels without aircon. No bathtub which was a minus point for me - instead, there is a large shower stall. Toilet in separate compartment. At least 6 power points in the room, all well-located and not hidden under desks or behind curtains, which is great for all the charging you need to do for i-Pad, phones, etc. In all, a good sized modern room, albeit a bit like an airport lounge look. Oh and I must highlight the super-comfortable beds and wonderful bedding.
There is a bistro downstairs, but the piano bar adjacent to it serves a large range of quick eats like spaghetti bog, burgers, sandwiches, and there is also a Terrace which shares a fence with the Mirabell Gardens and you are next to huge shady trees if you choose to sit there.
Taxis are either at the door, or one arrives in 2 minutes if you call for one.
No pool on the premises, but there is a walkway connection to the public pool next door, if you need to swim.
All in all, excellent value with all the extras in, but the walk to the old town is about 5-7 mins longer than it is from the Sacher.

Room Tip: Book online, the rate surprisingly is about €35 lower than if you booked with the hotel directly. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    206
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
145
288
42
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location! You can just walk out from the back of the hotel into the park, through that you will be in the Garden where the Sound of Music was filmed, continue you will see some of the shops, then the beautiful river, across the bridge, you will be at the Great Musician Mozart's home, .... such a beautiful place! You may imagine that you probably a musician if you were born there ...... a beautiful place for a beautiful dream! Because I admire Mozart a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I used Starpoints to book 2 rooms earlier this month at the Sheraton Salzburg. We were thoroughly satisfied with every aspect of our stay. Within five minutes after checking in, Manager Mosbruck greeted us in person. We were also offered free Wifi for our stay of five days and a basket of fruit arrived in our large and recently refurbished room soon after we moved in. The hotel is well located in front of the beautiful MIrabell Gardens, about a 15 minute walk from the old town. All in all, I highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent location, right next to the Maribel Gardens, and with our room being on the fifth floor, we had a great view of the Fortress. It was very pleasant, looking out over the garden at the Fortress. The room was clean. For 50 extra euros per night, we were able to have 3 persons per room. We'll definitely go back. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed for one night and hotel location is excellent but hotel front desk was very rude and unpolite despite me being a Gold starwood member.
Rooms are spacious but a bit old.
Overalll ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the Mirabel Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

first of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.
We are sorry to hear that you did not find the attitude of our front desk staff welcoming and
we would like to insure you that this is not a standard which we follow, as the guest satisfaction is very important to us.
It would be a pleasure if were able to welcome you back sometime in the future!

Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

lovely location, excellent service,friendly staff, our room was overlooking the park .
The food was very good, every nigth we had ligth dinner at the piano bar, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This Hotel was ok for a Sheraton. Room was renovated but right off the elevator (which was loud!). Staff was friendly but a little stiff, typical of a bigger Hotel. Had to wait in line at check out but was awarded for the wait with some extra Mozart chocolate - nice touch! Location is good, a short walk over the river from the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Salzburg.

We would be pleased to welcome you back to Salzburg somtime in the future.
Best wishes from the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salzburg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.