We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Would defintiley go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salzburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Salzburg to your Saves list
Sheraton Salzburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - Would defintiley go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A great hotel in a fantastic location, walking distance from the old town and from the rail station in the new town.

Staff were very friendly and very helpful and it was everything we needed on our short honeymoon stay. Due to the weather we were stuck in the hotel one night and it was a great evening just eating and drinking in the bar and relaxing in the room. Pool and spa options looked good too we just never made it there

For a good location, great service and value would definitely reccommend

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    206
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
145
288
42
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Having previously stayed at the Sacher and the Goldener Hirsch, we now tried the Sheraton. We were pleasantly surprised as our room was already waiting for us when we arrived at noon. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable, the bathroom very nice and spacious as well. Our 4th-floor room was facing the street but it was absolutely quiet. Obviously, a garden-view room is preferrable but we booked online at a relatively low rate so we weren't expecting a view.
Can't comment much on the hotels services as we only used the check-in/out and the concierge. Both worked very smoothly.
The hotel is located right next to Mirabell Garden - on the far end as seen from the old town - and even has a terrace facing the garden and it's wonderful to stroll towards the old town through the famous park with it's view of the church-towers and the fortress of Salzburg. On the way to the old town, before crossing the pedestrian bridge over the river Salzach, you'll pass by the Café Bazar with a terrace with a stunning view over the river, where they serve a wonderful breakfast (cheaper than the buffet breakfast at the hotel, which we didn't try).
The public areas of the hotel were clean and very nice, but overall, compared to the Sacher and in particular to the Goldener Hirsch, the Sheraton just doesn't have much local character. It's more like a (luxurious) chain hotel and if it didn't look out onto Mirabell garden, it could be anywhere in the world. Of course, this is not necessarliy a bad thing as many travellers appreciate it when a hotel is predictable and they don't have to explore it.
Talking about predictable: the cost of any extras from breakfast to internet or room-service is as high as one would expect in a top-hotel and obviously, these extras don't get cheaper for people who know how to find a good room-rate online.
Altogether, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, but for the same price, I'd stay at the Goldener Hirsch again next time as I prefer the unique quirky alpine style there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Executive room at Sheraton Salzburg in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. I didn't think it could get better.

In 2010, I booked 6 Standards rooms (as Starwood Platinum Guest), and emailed the hotel to request all rooms to be in the same floor, with 2 connecting. They replied welcoming me again in the hotel and telling me that they upgraded all the rooms to the Executive Floor.

The check-in was fast and they upgraded one of the rooms to a suite, and gave us access to the Club Lounge.
The rooms were super clean.
Room service was delicious. We tried the breakfast in-room and the Buffet. We asked if they could make us pancakes(since we didn't have any in our Europe tour), they said they don't usually make pancakes, but they will make them for us. They were delicious!!!
The day before checkout it rained so much all our shoes were wet. As soon as we came in the hotel, they helped us to dry out shoes and and took our jeans to dry- free (since we were checking out the next day)
Everyone at the hotel treated us very well and they always went the extra mile to make us happy.
They have changed my view of all Sheraton hotels.

Thanks everyone for making our stay in Salzburg so SPECIAL. Would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We spent four days at this hotel from 8 to 12 June 2011. We were delighted to score an excellent rate on the "hotels.com" website. However, I should warn that Wi Fi is not included and is a massive 18 euro per day or 15 euro for three hours. Breakfast was not included either but we were offered a "special deal of only 21 euro per person". Well we tried one day only. It was an average breakfast in a beautiful settiing adjoining Mirabell Gardens but the head waitress was rude and efficacious. She said loudly that breakfast wasn't included for us and made a huge deal of the fact that she had not heard our our plan with reception. We felt most unwelcome and decided that we wouldn't go back. The other problem with this hotel is that guests are able to smoke in public areas so we did not try the bar of restaurants. The room was of a good standard but hotels should consider block-out curtains for those who have travelled long distances and want to get some sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Madame and Sir,

we would like to thank you for your respond on tripadvisor and thank you for staying with us in Salzburg.

We are very sorry about the unpleasant experience you have made with our breakfast. Our rates are bookable in two dirffrent conditions either including breakfast or not. The offer which you were suggested is a new program in our hotel and I am sorry about the circumstances it made you experience.
Reagrding the Wifi prices in our hotel we did not want to upset you, we work with an external provider which makes changes for us difficult but we would like you to know that we are working on this issue and are searching for better solutions.
Also we would like to thank you for sharing your thought with us, which means very much to our hotel.


With best wishes from Salzburg,

Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My daughter & I stayed at the Sheraton Salzburg from 18-20 May and found the experience a most enjoyable and memorable one. From the time we arrived and checked in, we were treated as if we were "highly valued" guests. Our room which overlooked the Mirabell Gardens were excellent, the room was plesantly large, the bathroom was clean and certainly a very nice size and the bathtub was incredibly clean compared to all the other hotels we stayed in during our EUR trip! The 3 days we spent in Salzburg was made more memorable with the kindness and professionalism of a certain staff member, Herman (concierge) - thanks to him we enjoyed our stay in Salzburg and to all who intend to stay at the Sheraton Salzburg, we highly recommend you book immediately as you will not regret your stay at this place!
We will be recommending this hotel to all our family & friends and may you all enjoy your stay there as much as we did - Salzburg was more special because of where we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Madam,

thank you for your nice response and your visit at the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel.
It is a great pleasure for us to hear how much you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read such recommending and kind words. We will certainly also inform our concierge and we are sure he will be pleased to hear about your comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

I don't see how you can stay at this hotel and not love it for multiple reasons. First the location is great. It sits next to the beautiful Mirabell Gardens which we walked through everyday on our 10 minute walk to old town Salzburg, where there are many restaurants, shops and historic sites to explore. The hotel is very clean, the staff is professional and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was incredible, while pricey, a very nice way to start the day. The rooms were clean and comfortable and spacious. (normal king size room) I highly recommend staying here. Tip: if you are feeling adventureous, walk down to the River Salzach and rent a mountain bike and street map and follow the river about 4 miles to Helbrunn Palace. The 1600s castle (more like a large house) has amazing gardens with water works that the owner loved to use to play tricks on his guests. Also, outside the house sits the gazebo that was used in The Sound of Music for "16 going on 17".

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor and your visit at the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we are pleased to read your recommending words.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hotel is immaculately clean; the staff is friendly and knowledgeable,and the hotel is close enough to the old town to be walkable yet far enough to be away from some of the tourists. Close to the Mozarteum. Only downside is that you have to go a few blocks for a selection of restaurants, but the walk is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Mosbruck, General Manager at Sheraton Salzburg, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor and your visit at the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel.
It is a pleasure for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel.
For your next stay at our hotel we would love to recommend you our own Restaurant MIrabell with a romantic view into the Mirabell Garden. Also our Concierge will be glad to give you some recommendations for some good restaurants which are closer to the Sheraton Salzburg Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Herbert Mosbruck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salzburg

Address: Auerspergstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#8 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Salzburg 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salzburg Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.