We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for families with kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Good hotel for families with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were two families with small kids and appreciated the option of preparing food for the kids in a kitchen - an excellent combination of a hotel property with hostel functions. The rooms were really clean and quiet

Room Tip: Rooms facing the yard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Michaela,

thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us.
We would be pleased to welcome you in one of our hotels again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    191
    70
    24
    15
See reviews for
115
84
39
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Undoubtedly, a great place to stay in Salzburg! 2km from the train station with convenient buses to the station (Bus#2) and the city centre (bus #4). I reached there early in the morning; but couldn't check in right away. However they have a convenient luggage facility where I could dump my stuff. Additionally, one can buy the Salzburg Card at the reception itself - which is an all access pass to all of the city's major attractions (and free use of public transport).

While the room and the bed is very much in line with what one would find in any European hostel, what I liked was the fact that they had a great guest kitchen. All in all, a definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear "Sid",

thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy to hear that you liked our place so much and enjoyed your stay in Salzburg.

You should also try some of our other MEININGER Hotels the next time youre on th road!

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very overpriced for what it is, we found cheaper hotels which were better. Not in a ideal location, but close enough. Simone on reception was very rude. I love the kitchen facilliaties and with an Aldi across the road, you can make a great meal! Rooms are minimal but livable but there's fantastic views!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear behtannkneeky,

thank you for your review!

We do regret that your stay with us was not to your full satisfaction. Due your feedback we have talked with our staff members involved and drawn our conclusion in this matter.

MEININGER always tries to offer the best rates to our costumer, but you are right at peak season or special dates prizes in Salzburg are raising.

We would be pleased to welcome you again at MEININGER and convince you of our costumer service.

Kind regards
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Meininger Salzburg was just a step away from the city center (walkable if you want to or accessible by bus) but other than that, it was pretty clean, had wifi and the staff was friendly. Stayed for one night only but definitely would stay here again if I come back. It is so cheap and yet you get a lot of good service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hey there!

Thank you for your comment! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!
We hope that you indeed will come back and we can welcome you either here in Salzburg or in any other MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Me and my friend were travelling around Germany/Austria this summer and we were on a budget so we looked for good value places to stay.
I had stayed in a Meininger Hotel before with family and was really enjoyable, so I recommended that we stay here for location and price. Once we eventually found the hotel from the station (I wouldn't recommend walking) we were very happy at how it looked. We checked it which wasn't the best as well felt the receptionist was a little rude. Anyway once we had checked in and got to our room which was very clean and spacious with beautiful views of the mountains we felt very comfortable at the hotel.
We were about 30-40 minutes walking distances from the center but there we also bus stops outside the hotel which takes you direct into the center in about 10-15 minutes which was handy.
There was an Aldi opposite the hotel which was good as we bought food we could cook at the hotel as there was a communal kitchen with all of your kitchen appliances etc. This was a really nice experience and was a good way to meet new people.
As I mentioned before we were on a budget and if you are on a budget I wouldn't recommend buying stuff at the hotel as a large bottle of water cost me 4euros which was a lot on a budget.
There was Wifi available in the hotel which was good, and the overall experience was very good, and I do believe I would stay again due to location and it being a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front as you get beautiful views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad that you hade a nice time with us!
Also we would like to apologize, if our staff seemed rude to you. This is defnitely not our standard and we are sure, our staff will be friendly to you, in case you decide to stay in our hotel again.

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a hostel-like atmosphere, with a varying degree of facilities for travellers of all styles. Cheap food and drink available from the front desk, and a guest kitchen for those wanting to cook their own meals.

The staff was always friendly to us, and helpful whenever we needed assistance.

The rooms were modern, and clean.

The hotel is an easy 20 minute walk to Old Salzburgh past shops and cafes. If you don't like the walk there is public transit right around the corner.

We enjoyed our stay, and would stay there with the kids again, if we return to Salzburgh.

There is also FREE wi-fi throughout the hotel which is a bonus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear "Zipmain",

thank you for your feedback! We are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and are willing to stay again!
If you want to, you can check out some of our other hotels located across Europe!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This one is a real good value if you're in town for a short layover. We were on route to Slovenia and needed a quick stop, travelling with a baby.
The hotel has nice cosy rooms and most of all, it was clean. Price was ok and some useful facilities are just around the corner. Also, some great food venues are in the area.

The bed is pretty hard and the pillows aren't the best I've had in a hotel, but I've def. got worse as well. The bathroom had a good shower with constant warm and good pressured water.

The hotel is a little too far from the city center if you're planning to go to the city often during a longer stay. Breakfast has a good selection and the price was ok, taken the convenience into account.
Only drawback is the internet accomodation. There is free wifi, but you only get 60 minutes free when you check-in. Although the staff has no problem giving you more whenever you need it, I think this system as inconvenient.

But all in all a very pleasant stay at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view. These views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your exhausting feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us!
As for the internet connection system - we already changed the whole system. Now there is only one username and password which is valid in the whole building! You can try it out the next time you decide to stay with us!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#55 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#66 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#75 of 136 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#43 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#45 of 136 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 136 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.