We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really home-feel hotel/hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really home-feel hotel/hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A really good hostel - very clean and relaxed. However not quite city centre..about a 30 minute walk in. Great Sound of Music tour organized by the hostel and advice on what to do in the city. Also a packed lunch option that is great for the day trips!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your comment! We are happy to hear that you had such a nice stay with us and even enjoyed the Sound of Music Tour!
It would be nice to see you in a MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bombay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel gave us the best value for money accommodation in our 3 week eurotrip. Rooms were very clean, spacious, well done up and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good. The only possible drawback was the location - it was a little away from the City Center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Insights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hey there!

Thank you for your comment! We are proud to be the highlight of your trip and are really happy that you had a nice time here.

It would be nice to welcome you again at any of our hotels across Europe!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Pros: inexpensive, rooms fit 6 of us, private bathrooms with the toilet separate from the shower, 15-minute walk to Old Town, nice buffet breakfast, wi-fi

Cons: must pay for parking (not expensive though)

Recommendation: walk to Oktoberfest in Old Town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allenej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear "alenej",

thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you had such a good time with us! We hope to see you again - either here in Salzburg or in any other MEININGER across Europe!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is a little more like a hostel than a hotel but in saying this it is very clean and modern. The decor in the rooms is very Austrian which was cute. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy and warm. The hotel is out of the city centre but public transport is excellent and we were able to walk around the corner to a bus stop to get us to the old city and city centre. The bathroom was a bit small but modern and user friendly. It had heating in the bathroom as well. There is a view from the windows of the mountains. It is located right next to a shopping centre that has a grocery store and the hotel has a kitchen for you to use and also a washing machine which is actually in the kitchen as well. The kitchen has a couple of tables for you to eat at. They serve breakfast which was very cheap and the spread was ample. The only issue was parking as we had to pay for this and if you park temporarily in the wrong spot the shopping centre will give you a parking ticket which we ended up with. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear "Cindy",

thank you for your exhausting feedback! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel in Salzburg, despite the parking problem for which we would like to apologize.

Maybe we will see you this year as well?

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is modern and great if you're traveling with a few people. I stayed here with 4 friends and the hotel room was spacious with the bunk beds. It was also very inexpensive since we were all able to share the one room. The hotel was fantastic, but the location was not ideal. It wasn't quite walking distance from everything like we would have wanted. We ended up taking a taxi to and from the city center, which wasn't bad because Salzburg taxi rides aren't very expensive (especially if you're splitting it with 4 other people!). The hotel was very clean and modern with wifi in the lobby. I would recommend it if you don't mind having to take a taxi to the center of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Dear,

Thank you for feedback.

We do appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us, even the location was not ideal for you. As there are busses as well there is not always a need to take a taxi.

It would be pleasure for us to welcome you again at MEININGER and mind Wifi is free at all 16 MEININGER destinations even in the room.

Kind regards
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in a share dorm, the location of the hotel was very handy and there was a shopping centre directly beneath the hotel.

It is within walking distance to the train station as well as buses from outside the hotel.

The staff was helpful in helping us book day tours from Salzburg as well as giving us tips on sights to see in the city.

There is WiFi but you have to pay either hourly or get a 24 hour pass.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Dear,

thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in Meininger hotel for a couple of nights and really liked it. It's a nice hotel. The best part was a kitchen for guests where you can cook your food. Really a good option for people traveling with small kids or vegetarians.

The kitchen is equipped with hot-plate/utensils/refrigerator and other basic necessity. The rooms were clean with good quality bedding and linen. There is daily cleaning. The breakfast was really good at around 6 Euro per person.

Staff was polite and helpful. The hotel is around 4 kms from railway station and around 2-3 kms from city center.

Overall a good hotel at a bargain price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajneesh_kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Dear,

thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and would be pleased to welcome you again at MEININGER.


Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#46 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#60 of 137 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#34 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#39 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18 - 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 137 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing