We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not near the city center.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not near the city center.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hot water in shower with good water pressure, but there wasn't any washcloths.

Rooms were cute with cows and red picnic blanket design. Very clean.

Didn't do breakfast because there is grocery store in same building.

The name of the hotel is Meninger Hotel City center it's a lie. It is a bus ride or 40 min walk to old town. €12 parking per night for middle of nowhere location. Stay here if taking bus cheaper than staying closer to town.

Bus 4, and 10 will get you to old town two separate stops but you can stand on corner to watch for either.

Amenities include: dryer, soap, shampoo, TV, q-tips, shower caps, glasses for water, and WiFi. There is nice private patio overlooking mountain.

There is a kitchen available to all hotel guest which is nice. The fridge was packed and one of our beers was gone when we went to get them, so don't leave something in the fridge longer than you need to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear "Rainbowbrite0884",

thank you for your feedback.
The hotel is indeed about 2km away from the very old town, on the other hand there are plenty of useful facilities (like the gorcery store you mentioned, pletny of other shops, pharmacy, restaurants, bus stops, bowling & go-karts center, etc.) right around the corner,which we think compensates the slight distance.
As for the parking, Salzburg like many other towns nowadays suffers from lack of parking places and this demand pushes the prices up. The same parking place which we offer for 11EUR costs for non-hotel guests 14EUR, in the center 1 hour parking costs up to 3EUR.

Nevertheless we hope that you had a nice stay and we would be pleased to welcome you in any MEININGER again!

Best wishes
Toni & MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    139
    44
    20
    12
See reviews for
76
59
24
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here during my recent trip in a 9 person room as it was the cheapest option. Unfortunately there a few real hostelling options in Salzburg and the Meininger was one of the better options available. However, the Meininger was good value in the end as the price was reasonable, my room was very clean and there was a very good bar area to meet people. The negative was that it was a good 10-15 minute bus ride into the city centre (old town) - generally saying city centre would mean a short walk out of the front door!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear "f1manoz",

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is nice to hear that you had a nice time at our hostel. The hotel might not be at the very heart of the old town of Salzburg, on the other hand everything else a traveller needs (shops, bars, restaurants, bus stops) is indeed right outside of the front door.
We hope you will still give MEININGER a chance and we would be pleased to welcome you again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This probably would have received a very good rating if not for one occurrence. I lost my wallet/my wallet was stolen in Salzburg. Fortunately, there was nothing in the wallet that couldn't be canceled or replaced, and my travel partner had credit/bank cards to get us through. However, when we checked out of the hotel, they charged us 5 euros for a lost room card. Now, most hotels in the US don't even bother to collect the room cards anymore. It's simply a piece of plastic with the room code programed on it. I'm sure they cost a small amount--probably less than 25 cents each. Great service would be to simply say don't worry about it. Average service would be to charge a nominal replacement cost. Bad service is to add insult to injury and charge 5 euros for a near worthless piece of plastic. This is simply kicking someone while they're down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Nathan,
Thank you for your report, it is very important for us to have your opinion to raise the service for our costumers.

We regret the circumstances that happened to you and we do agree that EUR 5,-- is a very high price for a piece of plastic. But please mind that we do not make any profit with it. To produce these key cards it costs us those EUR 5,-- as they can get programmed a several times. Surly we could raise our room rates to include lost hotel items. But at MEININGER we always try to keep the costs for our guests as low as possible to offer a valuable price to all our costumers.
However, due your report we will discuss that matter with our board again and we will surly find a better solution therefore in the future.

We hope that on your trip there were no further incidents and that you still were able to enjoy it. It would surly be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at MEININGER in future.

Kind regards
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were some changes to my travel plan and I booked this hotel online literally minutes before I board the train. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise that I decided to stay put for my next 2 days in Salzburg.

Location: It's a 10 min tram/bus ride to Zentrum (where the activities are) but I didn't find it an issue since there are 2 services (no. 4 & 10) that can take me there and it's not a long wait.

Service: Polite and helpful staff at the reception, Stefan and Julia (on 7sep 8pm shift) who speak good English. A lady who came to clean the guest kitchen periodically was absolutely lovely. Guests were supposed to do their own dishes but she offered to take mine to the main kitchen.

Amenities: Free wifi, guest kitchen with microwave, stove, washer & dryer

Cleanliness: It is by far the cleanest dorm I've ever stayed in. In fact, everything felt like a hotel except for the double-decked beds. The room was spick and span. Another perk was having the toilet separated from the bathroom. And the room was cleaned every day (which I don't get at other dorms).

Perk: A mall with supermarket, pharmacy, stationery shop, cafes, restaurant is just next door. Super convenient!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for your comment! We glad to hear (read) that you liked our ho(s)tel so much. We are a mix between a hotel and a hostel, which means that we try to offer hotel quality at hostel prices - that is why you felt like in a hotel.
Maybe you could also try the other MEININGER hotels in the future!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiance and I reserved a private room w/ensuite bath w/another couple. We all found the value to be GREAT for the amenities we had. Although the location is not very close to the historic city center, it is easy to access historic Old Town w/a 10-minute walk. The staff are very helpful and available 24/7. It is very convenient to have the common areas and bar down stairs. Taxis frequently pass by if you would like to go farther than walking distance. This place was very affordable w/no hidden fees and very clean facilities. We will be back!

Room Tip: The 4-person ensuite has a queen and two bunks. The 5-person ensuite has a queen and four bunks. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for your feedback! We like to hear that you had such a good stay with us and already plan to come back.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel well in advance at a very affordable price. The hotel is 10 min by taxi from the train station. It is away from city centre in a quite locality . It is on the bus route from station to Mirabel gardens . The hotel offers free wi-fi and kichen facility for cooking your own food. The hotel staff is very helpful. The rooms are moderate sized with a bunk bed , which is not very comfortable.The hotel and is clean and modern

Room Tip: Many rooms are facing a small mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there!

Thanks for the feedback! It seems like you had a good time here in Salzburg, thats always good to hear.
We would be pleased to welcome you here again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked at the last minute and wanted to make sure hotel was air conditioned. With that. there were only a few options. While clean, this hotel was inconvenient in every way
1. far from the center--not sure why they'd call it "city Center hotel", nor how one of the previous reviewers walked--it was a 15 minutes drive for us.
2. extremely uncomfortable beds. In our family room, bunk beds' mattresses were terrible, and even the big bed had a soft fall-through mattress you felt the bottom with
3. Breakfast options bad enough, that however tired we were--we walked away to look for something better. Hotel staff sent us to attached shopping mall, but really slim pickings there, as well
4. Hostel feel: teenagers filling public areas, so you can't really sit at the bar and relax, not any appeal for family/ mature visitors

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 135 hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.