We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Clean and Secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My fiance and I reserved a private room w/ensuite bath w/another couple. We all found the value to be GREAT for the amenities we had. Although the location is not very close to the historic city center, it is easy to access historic Old Town w/a 10-minute walk. The staff are very helpful and available 24/7. It is very convenient to have the common areas and bar down stairs. Taxis frequently pass by if you would like to go farther than walking distance. This place was very affordable w/no hidden fees and very clean facilities. We will be back!

Room Tip: The 4-person ensuite has a queen and two bunks. The 5-person ensuite has a queen and four bunks. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for your feedback! We like to hear that you had such a good stay with us and already plan to come back.
We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    191
    70
    24
    15
See reviews for
115
84
39
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this hotel well in advance at a very affordable price. The hotel is 10 min by taxi from the train station. It is away from city centre in a quite locality . It is on the bus route from station to Mirabel gardens . The hotel offers free wi-fi and kichen facility for cooking your own food. The hotel staff is very helpful. The rooms are moderate sized with a bunk bed , which is not very comfortable.The hotel and is clean and modern

Room Tip: Many rooms are facing a small mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi there!

Thanks for the feedback! It seems like you had a good time here in Salzburg, thats always good to hear.
We would be pleased to welcome you here again!

Best wishes
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked at the last minute and wanted to make sure hotel was air conditioned. With that. there were only a few options. While clean, this hotel was inconvenient in every way
1. far from the center--not sure why they'd call it "city Center hotel", nor how one of the previous reviewers walked--it was a 15 minutes drive for us.
2. extremely uncomfortable beds. In our family room, bunk beds' mattresses were terrible, and even the big bed had a soft fall-through mattress you felt the bottom with
3. Breakfast options bad enough, that however tired we were--we walked away to look for something better. Hotel staff sent us to attached shopping mall, but really slim pickings there, as well
4. Hostel feel: teenagers filling public areas, so you can't really sit at the bar and relax, not any appeal for family/ mature visitors

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here and the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room featured some very tiny furniture and was somehow not very practical. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable, the receptionist was helpful and there was a nice hostel-like atmosphere in the lobby. Hotel is not close to the city center... and yet, it is appealing as it's on the other side of the Kapuzinerberg... which means that you can reach the old historical center by hiking. The trail takes 90 minutes and offers some splendid views and a nice restaurant on top of it. It also features a bunch of stairs, but then, if there's no pain there's no gain. And we feel that we had more gain than pain. So, in the end, we would return to Salzburg Meininger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in this place as we booked at the last minute and there was not much else free. It was not good value for money compared to the other cities and hotels we had stayed on the same trip. It was on a nondescript ring-road and took 10 minutes by tram to get in (not too bad if you really want to visit), but you would not stay here for the location. It was very busy and appeared not to be sure if it was a hostel or a hotel. Kitchen facilities with washing machines (broken when we were there) were a good idea, but if I were a backpacker I would have stayed somewhere cheaper, We didn't take breakfast as it was still out on the counter when we checked in (after a 10 minute wait) in the late afternoon looking a bit dried up and forlorn. The good points were that the rooms very clean and the beds were comfortable. Aircon didn't work well though. Stay here if you must visit Salzburg - Munich is nicer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelling with girlfriend (24-25ish ages) for two nights in Salzburg. Meininger was in a walking distance from the city centre and was equipped with garage (11€/day). Room was clean and there was superb view from the balcony, our room was located in 5th floor (top floor). No complaints about the room at all, beds were comfortable and bathroom/wc was clean and so on. We didn't spent much time in the room apart from sleeping so we didn't use tv for example etc.

Breakfast was cheap (5,90€/person) but good. Breakfast staff was not so good, old grumpy women whom was rushing everywhere and being angry towards even some customers (not us).

Staff was very friendly. Free Wi-Fi. Ok location.

Recommendations!

Room Tip: Top floor ! Views are great away from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our group of 15 (3 families and a group of girls) were booked by our tour manager to this hotel. We didn't quite like anything about the hotel. It appeared to be more popular for backpackers and we got a taste of this at the check-in process itself. The guy at the reception first told us he would prefer to issue the room cards to our tour manager and not to us directly! Once our manager came in, we were made to wait for about 30 minutes (the sole guy was busy helping smaller groups check in first). Then, like a policeman, he issues us instructions in a tone louder than necessary - 1) no talking loudly in the corridor after 10 pm, 2) go to the rooftop to smoke, 3) don't lose the room keys or we will charge Euro 5 for replacing - all this he tells us at the reception itself, we almost felt like a bunch of adolescent drunks who were being scolded for being naughty! The bed-sheet with a rough and wobbly feel clearly looked it needed a replacement. The room was small, the bed smaller and the breakfast close to spartan. They had told everyone one could get packed food for the road but at 9 am when I inquired, they were out of stock already! The free wifi took ages to log on from our room and we just gave up after some time. We were really happy to log out from this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni_Meyer, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Deli,
Thank you for your feedback.

We do regret that your stay was not to your fullest satisfaction. To every single point you have mention we had a closer look and discussed these with our staff members and our management board.

We do understand that after a long journey the check in procedure was not convenient at all.
But as given by law in Austria every visitor has to be registered to the government. For lager groups the government allows to do a group check in. What actually means that instead that everybody needs to fulfil a registration, just one person needs to do some paperwork. This actually helps to save your time. As we want to make everybody familiar with our Hotel we normally do then a short speech.
We regret that you felt treated wrong with this.

MEININGER offers accommodation at very central, exposed locations and
all this for a generally low price. For these locations one has to lower one's sights in order not to force up rates.
However, your honest feedback gives us the possibility to indentify things which we have to improve. We do appreciate that.
Just let us inform you as well, that we have already renewed our Wi-Fi System these days. What now, makes the handling easier and allows more download speed.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at MEININGER and convince you with our progress.

Kind regards
Your MEININGER Salzburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.5 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#61 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
#66 of 135 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#74 of 135 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#43 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#45 of 135 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.