We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price!! 100% satisfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the price!! 100% satisfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We went on the beginning of February and the hotel so comfortable. And it just took 3min to walk to the BUS stand. Wow! The room is HUGE compare to others budget hotel. The bed is comfortable and the room was fully heated up even in the toilet. We have a room facing the snow mountain, beautiful!
The coffee is nice but not the b'fast : ( and they provide Internet service at the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    183
    68
    23
    15
See reviews for
109
83
37
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel was good. I would not say great because we all know there are lots of better hotels. We were on a 4th floor. Rooms were clean, bathroom also which from my point of view is most important. I would make suggestion on one reviewer, he said that you need 15 min bus ride to get to city center. Its not true. You need 15-20 min by foot. Its better way, you can take some fotos and its much healthier :). City is wonderful. So much to see. Best way to feel Salzburg is that you come there in spring-summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Don't let the name fool you, this hotel is not exactly in the "city center". It was about a 15 minute bus ride and food options in the area are kinda limited, best to eat dinner in the city before you come back to the hotel if you're picky. We had a private room which was bare bones but worked for our budget trip. Beds were super comfy! Since it's hotel/hostel you get your typical annoying backpacking kids drinking and talking in the lobby, but it wasn't the end of the world. If you're expecting luxury, look somewhere else, this is pretty economical.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longare, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed at the Meininger hotel Salzburg with some friends and had a great time. The hotel is best if you have your own car but with a bus stop across the street we had the best of both situations. Don't expect luxury but you can expect a good clean room with lots of hot water at the end of the day. The downstairs lounging area is a nice place to mingle with other travelers over a cup of coffee or a cocktail.....anytime day or night. While not a fan of "The sound of music" it was played most nights and drew a good crowd. Wifi was free in the common areas and the staff were attentive and helpful. Don't forget to get your Salzburg card for some great sightseeing at a great price, the gondola ride alone justified the cost.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from a hostle or group/family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Meininger hotel in Salzburg is definitely a 4 star hotel. The staff were fantastic and the rooms very comfortable. It caters for all travellers. They have a kitchen area where you can cook your own meals and clothes washing facilities which after 6 weeks of travelling and mostly having to wash our clothes by hand was wonderful. The breakfast they provide is plentiful. What was great was that they had a toaster to make toast. Again after 4 weeks of cold breakfasts this was a luxuray

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We traveled europe for 2 weeks and stayed in 9 different hotels and this was by far the best one. The 2 rooms we stayed in were super clean, modern and comfortable. For our group of 9 people, we all liked our stay there and would definitively stay there again. The walk to the center of salzburg is short (maybe 15-20 min depending on your pace) and very easy to get to. Its a great place for anybody to stay. Our group ranged from a 19 yr old all the way to a 64 yr old. Family friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here with my Sister and Brother-in-Law. All three of us shared a room, which had two single bed which we pushed together and two bunk beds. This is not a luxury hotel. It is a hostel which also rents out rooms. You can chose to 'dorm it' with total strangers, or rent a room (as we did). It's not walking distance to anything, but the bus stop is across the street and runs very often. We got the Salzburg pass, which included the bus (as well as admission to several places...well worth it). The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, spoke English when we needed it and helped us find where we wanted to go. Although the bunk beds weren't all that comfy, I'd stay here again as it was good enough. The hotel also had a bar and had some sandwiches/donuts. They had a laundry facility, but with only one washer/dryer, there was often a line...but if you get there in the morning when all the youngsters are sleeping, you can get a load of laundry done without having to wait.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center

Address: Furbergstrasse 18-20 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 135 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center is located in the ZIB shopping centre in the historic centre of this small town with international flair by Kapuziner mountain: central, low-cost and lots of fun! Our international guests can benefit from low-cost accommodation in modern rooms, enjoy the views from the roof terrace or use the small theatre stage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.