We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun thing if you are a Motörhead.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Bull Hangar-7

Red Bull Hangar-7
Wilhelm-Spazier-Str. 7A | Salzburg Airport, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
+436622197
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 90 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun thing if you are a Motörhead.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This exhibit is out by the airport & is free. The architecture of the hanger was reason enough for me to love the place, but I am also a foodie and the food here is not your usual sausage. Yes, it is expensive but heck, you didn't pay to get in and stare at the race cars (nothing past 2008; probably because of racing confidentiality), airplanes, helicopters, motorcycles and awards & statues. When we were there a display of photos of Steve McQueen taken by his wife, Barbara were on display around the outside of the hanger. Alert, the fancy restaurant does not serve food on the 1st of the month as a new chef is taking over (a visiting chef cooks each month).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    132
    26
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulla, Co Clare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked dinner here as part of our holiday. My husband follows F1 racing and works with airplans so it was a treat for him. The show rooms were lovely and spotless. The restaurant was very fancy and expensive. They had two menu options a set menu for €150 per person with about seven different courses on it. They gave us this first and we nearly died with the cost, as that was a lot more than we were prepared to pay per head however they also had a menu with about ten options on it all priced individually varing from €15 - €35 euro. The only problem was it was difficult to see what was starters, mains or desserts if you were not used to the food and then there was stuff on the main courses that you would think might be a dessert example rubarb and there was onions on a dessert item. So I think the restaurant could do with putting in three headings Starter, main and dessert for those of us who only get to eat out now and then. In the end we had two mains, two desserts, two coffees and two glasses of wine and or bill came to about €135.00. They also gave each of us a sample starter from their chef of the months menu, we got a selection of breads and flavoured butters and got a plate of pettie fours with our coffee. So when you add all that in it was not bad value for money. The food was super. The meat could have been cut with a butter knife it was so tender and every mouth full was a delight to eat. The service was excellent and the staff friendly, helpfull and knew their food and were able to recomend items. I would do back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Awesome (and free!) place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A short drive out of city center, but what a fun place! Beautiful building is a sight itself! We probably spent about an hour or so here, looking at all the fun red bull planes, cars, and bikes. Worth the visit if you have a car in Salzburg!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Coolest site and its free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was really interesting to visit Hangar 7. It was my Dad's favorite site in Salzburg. Amazingly it is free.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good for Red Bull fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Took no.10 public transport bus to visit.Drop off at Karolingerstrasse and walk back 400m.Free carpark if you drive.The hangar,a glass dome like structure houses a collection of RB F1 cars,motorcycles,vintage WW2 F4U Corsair,P38 Lightning,2-3 helicopters,1 aerobatic plane,1 air racer plane and 2 Alpha jets plus one simulator and a big DC-8.There is also a PS3 F1 simulator set up.The Carpe Diem cafe serves finger food on ground floor but 2nd floor houses a restaurant.In the corner is a Red Bull shop for fans to buy souvenirs.The other hangar not accessible has private jet,2 Cessna,one private helicopter and a WW2 B-25 Mitchell.bring yr binoculars to sneak a free look across the tarmac.
Food in cafe has limited selection,a bit pricey but good delicious portions.Drinks are ok.Staff are friendly and polite.
For plane and car enthusiasts,it is worth a visit.Took a lot of nice pictures.The hangar is well designed and laid out.Spent an interesting 2h+ marvelling the billionaire's expensive toys.Hangar is next to Salzburg airport and you can occasionally hear and see planes taking off.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bull Hangar-7 also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Red Bull Hangar-7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Bull Hangar-7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.