We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, local food, wonderful hospitality and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reiterhof Moos

Reiterhof Moos
Moosstrasse 135, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 (0)662 82 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 443 restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Authentic, local food, wonderful hospitality and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was special. It is a riding school with a restaurant and gasthof attached.

We were staying at the Blobergerhof just down the road and wanted to eat out on our final night in Salzburg. We walked to Reiterhof Moos.

The restaurant is one floor above street level and is built partly on top of an indoor riding school. There is a picture window alongside one wall so you can see the horses being schooled, riders practicing dressage etc.

We hadn't booked. The restaurant was full and the atmosphere lively. Initially we were told we would have to wait for 30 minutes but a table came available after maybe 10 minutes. We sat at the bar whilst waiting - great because you could look through the window at what was going on in the riding school.

The food was 100% traditional, simple - no pretensions at fine dining but very, very good. There were small portions of main courses available - just as well. Couldn't have managed the big ones. The strudel was wonderful.

Service was great if not flawless. Our food was initially delivered to a couple sitting on the next table. Then the mistake was realised, many apologies, we weren't bothered - it was untouched and we could chat with the host and the people on the table next to us - whose food appeared shortly after. The owner was concerned that he shouldn't appear unfriendly (clearly bruised by some comment in the past). He said they were under pressure (true).

Its a family that clearly has its roots in the community and totally involved with horse riding. Don't go if you disapprove of hunting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    32
    11
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fab evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went here on the first night of our holiday. The food was great as was the beer. We sat outside as it was very warm. Lovely atmosphere when all of the garden lights came on. Highly enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Where do I start! We absolutely loved this restaurant! The atmosphere was so relaxed and family orientated. We stayed at a B&B down the street where they recommended this restaurant. We went 2 days in a row. Very acceptable prices with delicious food, beer and wine/schnapps. We were able to watch the horseback riding lessons from above. Wonderful!! This will be a wonderful memory for us! Oh by the way, make a reservation as its very busy!! You won't regret it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great typical place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place with a good food. The cheeses are delicious and grilled meat - gorgeous. The atmosphere is relaxed and romantic. The priced will surprise you - very reasonable for the level of the reastourant. Highly suggested. I'll come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If your staying on Moostrasse in Salzburg at one of the many fine B & Bs localed there, or even if your not, don't miss a chance to dine at Reiterhof Moos. This is a casual local family restaurant situated around a pension farmhouse. I can't compare Reiterhof to other restaurants in Salzburg because we only ate there. It was that good! The dinners were among the best we had in over three weeks of travels in Austria, Germany and Switzerland. Pay attention to the specials, I had the pork with wild mushrooms, which was gone the following night, much to my sons dismay. But the Almond Chicken was a hit both nights as was the trout. Portions were more than enough, in fact, so much so that we missed out on what looked like some fine deserts. Service was brisk and efficient, the room was a wonderfully typical Austrian farmhouse and the prices very reasonable. All in all a pleasant surprise, but next time I've got to save room for desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reiterhof Moos also viewed

 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Reiterhof Moos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reiterhof Moos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.