We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful evening and a must do for visitors to Salzburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg

Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg
Getreidegasse 47, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 94 attractions in Salzburg
Type: Concerts
Attraction Details
Ballarat
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening and a must do for visitors to Salzburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful evening at the Mozart dinner. The staff were very attentive, they happily accommodated a vegetarian and someone with food allergies. The food was lovely. White lemon soup for starters, the capon and vegetables for main and honey parfait for desert.

The room and venue were beautiful and we were in awe of the history of the location.

Musicians and singers were well accomplished. My only reservation with the singers was the massive age difference of the operatic soprano and the baritone. He was old enough to be her grandfather or great grandfather and he is playing her love interest. I found this slightly creepy and off putting.

You need to be aware that no drink at all comes with the dinner, not even tap water. So allow for drinks at about 6E per bottle of water and more for alcoholic beverages. I at least expected tap water but alas we had to purchase all drinks.

that being said though, a lovely night and highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    75
    33
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful candlelit dinner (and concert too)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Two of us made advance reservations to enjoy the Mozart dinner concert at St. Peter Siftskeller. We chose to upgrade to the Exclusive level and enjoyed front row seating, gift programs, and an upgraded meal. I cannot compare our meal to the regular (since we did not sample the other). We did thoroughly enjoy our meal, including the flaming dessert.

The room was gorgeous, authentically decorated, and the service was impeccable.

We both loved the music and appreciated that one didn't have to fight to listen while food was passed since it was done between pieces. While the food was delicious, we wish there had been another 15 -20 minutes or so of music .... Mozart's music was our attraction to this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Salzburg Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The musicians and singers are excellent and perform vignettes from famous Mozart operas in period costume in a cozy, candlelit room. Please do not take photos, though because it is a distraction to the other guests sitting behind and near you!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great experience which combines good music, food and service. The musicians had an excellent performance. A must see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“In theory very interesting, in reality disappointing - piano not tuned!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

On my insistence, we went to a Mozart concert in Salzburg. There are several possible concerts available for purchase and we decided to go to the one held at the Festung Hohensalzburg (Hohensalzburg fortress). You have the option of attending the concert with dinner and a cruise, attending the concert with dinner or attending the concert alone.

I didn't want to go to the dinner or the cruise and could not find a way to purchase the tickets for the concert alone online so we went to the tourist information office where we bought our tickets. One of our friends decided he would not join us but at the last minute changed his mind. He was able to buy his ticket just outside the concert room.

Thanks to the reviews on trip advisor, we decided to take the less expensive tickets, a bit further back in the room. The first 6 rows were numbered seats and a bit more expensive and the other rows are unnumbered, so first come, first serve. Honestly, the price difference was not much so either way is fine. You can definitely see very well with the cheaper tickets so depending on you priorities, either choice is good. In our case there were only seven rows anyway, so we were in the last row but the cheaper tickets.

To get to the concert, you take the funicular which cost a whopping 11 Euros during the day but cost only 4 Euros in the evening for the concert (two-way). I know you can walk up and enter the fortress during the day (we did that on another occasion) but I am unsure if you can enter the fortress in the evening if you walked up. It seemed so much easier to take the funicular on this occasion. Although there was a relatively large group going up at the same time as us, we were able to get on without a hitch.

When exiting the funicular, you follow the signs that say concert (if you are going to the concert alone, dinner if you are going to dinner too). It was easy to follow the signs but if you have trouble with stairs, you could have a problem as one must go up several flights of stairs (I don't know if they have an alternate route for people with mobility issues).

We purchased our a ticket for our friend and waited for the doors to open. Once open, those with unnumbered seats took their places on the seventh row (I assume they have more rows if more tickets are sold and depending on the season). Those who went to dinner first seemed to arrive closer to the start time. They get a numbered seat with their tickets. To get the programme, you have to pay two Euros (I think it should be included but...). We could see the musicians arriving at the same time as the guests.

The concert was named Best of Mozart Festungskonzert but actually they played Mozart and Haydn on the night we were there. The first piece was Mozart and was good. Then the piano player made her entrance. She started playing and hit some keys that were out of tune. You can tell she was surprised and disappointed. She proceeded to do the musical version of the Indy 500 by playing the piece so quickly, I felt dizzy! Very disappointing for her and for us. Once finished, she bowed and left in a huff. Not very professional, in my opinion. There was intermission, the last piece was played and that was it.

Due to the problem with the piano, I was highly disappointed. I would expect that the musicians come earlier and test their instruments (ie, the piano player) or have a back up plan if there is a problem (ie change the scale of the piece, change the piece played or get a tuner in). If she (they) were there earlier, she would have detected the problem in advance and dealt with it accordingly.

I felt that the audience was not important enough to them, probably because lots of people attending were not regulars and were not very knowledgeable about classical music (I could tell because they were clapping when there was a pause in the music, not at the end of the piece as is usually the case with more experienced classical goers). I wonder how many times they have that problem. Oh well.

In theory, interesting. In practice, a let down.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg also viewed

 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mozart Dinner Concerts Salzburg to your Saves list