We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Ignaz-Harrer Strasse 38, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 243106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #246 of 491 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tokyo Bay is one of Salzburg's best Japanese Restaurant and offers a unique Combination of traditional Japanese Cuisine and modern Design. In our stylish Restaurant you can enjoy a creative Variety of Sushi and our delicious Teppan-Yaki Specialties from the japanese Grill. Our modern Lounge with Bar offery you a fine Selection of Cocktails, Drinks and Snacks. Visit Tokyo Bay and let our Concept convice you! We are looking forward to your Visit!
Vienna
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An okay restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A friend and I visited Tokyo Bay one early evening. We were the only guests. The appetizer (fried meat dumplings) was quite good. Our main dishes were the Chicken Wok and fried Udon noodles with duck. Those were delicious. We also had dessert. Rice dumplings filled with sweetened beans. Those were ugly. They were cold, tasteless and way to sweet. Also pretty expensive.
The waitresses were very nice but there was one waiter who didn't speak German and who had no clue about the dishes on the menu. He was quite hard to communicate with.
All in all a very mixed experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Land of the rising bill!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This restaurant is best avoided, went in as there were loads of pictures of cheap tasty looking japanese meals on the sandwich boards outside, eg bento box for 8 euros, set menus 9 euros etc, but dont be fooled by this. When you get inside they hand you a completely different menu, now the bento box is 49 euros, and the average dish is 25 euros, the drinks were not cheap either but unfortunetly we'd already ordered them before noticing the change in the menu. The waiter tried to say the boards and deals they had put outside were just for lunch, but we hadnt gone in till 7 o'clock so this doesnt really explain why they were still advertising it. Decided to just Order the cheapest thing on the menu at 10 euros, which turned out to be a small noodle dish with "beef" in although I've never tasted beef like that before, seemed more like some quorn alternative, tastless and with a weird texture. To add insult to injury when we got the bill they had already added 10% to it, even though we weren't planning to leave a tip. Genuinly shocked by the barefaced rip off, got some nachos on the way back to the hotel and will now try to forget about the whole thing.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TokyoBaySalzburg, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Tokyo Bay, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Hayley044,
related to your feedback which you posted on the Tokyo Bay Tripadvisor page we are sure you have not been at Tokyo Bay Restaurant.
- we do not have a Bento Box (please check: http://www.tokyobay.at/Files/TakeOut_TokyoBay.pdf)
- we never ad tip on our bills
- please check the adress of our restaurant

Please check our website: www.tokyobay.at
or our Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/tokyobaysalzburg

We are confident if you would have been here having lunch you would be even more satisfied.
Hope to see you at your next trip to Salzburg,
in regards,
your Tokyo Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Disgusting rip off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

If only we had read the two previous reviews before we stumbled on this quaint little rip off on a late Sunday evening...menu looked good inexpensive from the outside
..yet inside all change similar spiel by the one man band...this and that not available and rice extra..so ended up with a set meal for two...Miso soup, defrosted spring rolls served cold and chicken and duck tepanyaki...neither sizzling nor served on an iron but on a plate with some rice and glutinous sauce with green tea...all for EURO 54...the most expensive food in Salzburg...BIG MISTAKE Don't do it There are plenty more honest places to eat in this beautiful city!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.