We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I normally do not write up restaurants while traveling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weiserhof

Weiserhof
Weiserhofstrasse 4, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 872267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 495 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“I normally do not write up restaurants while traveling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

But the Weiserhof is worth mentioning. This restaurant is located in Schamoos, a neighborhood near the train station in Salzburg. It is a restaurant frequented by locals and is truly worth going to for dinner especially if your hotel is near the train station. The leberknodel suppen was superb as well as the schnitzel. For dessert we had the fried apple dumplings with warm cream sauce and it was superb! The prices are very reasonable and a great value. Dinner for two with drinks, soup, entree and dessert was 35 Euro. If you want a nice restaurant off the tourist beaten track, go to the Weiserhof. The staff was very friendly and helpful also!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were staying at the Radisson hotel, on the other side of the train station, and discover this place, just a short walk away. We arrived early on a Friday evening, about 5 pm, and the outdoor tables were half empty but most of them had a Reserved sign. By the time we finished the dinner, all tables were reserved; appears to be a popular place with the locals. Between 2 and 6pm they have only an abbreviated menu and felt bad that I missed the Calf's Head, available only after 6pm, that would have been a treat. I was planning to come back, but they are closed on weekends and we left on Monday. Anyway, everything we ordered was very very good, authentic Austrian food, fresh and very reasonable priced. But most memorable was the dessert: at our waitress suggestion we tried Hausgemachter Germknödel mit Butter, Mohn oder Zimtzucker; (don't worry they have English menus also) This was one of the best thing I ate in this trip. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cool Local Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thank goodness for an 'English Menu'... The staff spoke enough English to get by... so it was all good...
Full of locals... doing what the Austrians do - enjoy beer, food, and conversation...
I had the black pudding - it was AWESOME....

Definitely worth a stop in.... if just for a beer and take in the locals

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good food...definitely a neighborhood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we were there we were definitely on the English speakers in the restaurant. Some of the staff spoke English...most did not speak a lot.

Now that being said, I would go back in a second. They have English menus so you can point to what you want.

They are great service, good beer, food is very good and very filling, and you will get a good feel for local folks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of the local hotelier as a restaurant one would definitely go back twice.
We odered the Calf's Head, expecting it to come on a platter with the full head, but the Chef came out to our table and reassured us that they slice the meat out first and then deep fried them like in a Szhitznel. We also tried the Butcher's Platter which consisted of an assortment of sausages, all home made at the restaurant.
Overall, the service was good and the atmosphere cosy like in a small family restaurant.
The food was not to my palate, but I guess it was pretty authentic Austrian as the restaurant was popular with the locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weiserhof also viewed

 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Weiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weiserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.