We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for tourist looking for wholesome food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum fidelen Affen

Zum fidelen Affen
Priesterhausgasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
662877361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 498 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Great for tourist looking for wholesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to the drunken monkey after asking a local where to go for good native food. We all had colds after our long flight a few days before and so we shared the soup of the day and a few tall beers. Later we had the pork steak the drunken monkey way. All our meals were amazing but this one was soothing and unforgettable in its own unique and delicious way:)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    120
    36
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had dinner there on our one night stay in Salzburg. We arrived early at 6pm and good thing we did as we they were all booked out for the night and they were able to accommodated us before the next seating. We ordered the wiener schnitzel, affen steak and apple strudel. The schnitzel was great, but took a bite of my partners affen steak and it was delicious. The service was friendly and the ambience was cozy as was the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had reservations for 7:00 and had only a short wait. There were two of us and half way through our meal, four more people were seated at our table. That was ok, as it was large enough to accomodate six people. The restaurant was very busy, crowded, and extremely loud. My husband enjoyed his Affen steak and my schnitzel was alright. I wouldn't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“First visit excellent, second not so...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We tried this restaurant on our first night in Salzburg and, despite being very busy ( a Monday) we were seated at a large shared table, which we gather is the custom in Austria to maximise throughput. The food and service are wonderful and should not be missed. However, on our second visit a rather aloof young lady told us there were no tables available, despite there clearly being several large tables with only two occupants. We tried to book a table for our last night in the city, but could only be accommodated much later in the evening, so went elsewhere. Would have given this an excellent score had it not been for the young lady's attitude, as all the other staff are wonderful, as is the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Try the Affen Steak - it's outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We picked this place based on reviews on TA. Although we had reservations, there was a little wait because we visited during the music festival. Once seated, the service was very good and the outdoor area was very pleasant. The food was top notch and the price didn't break the bank. I tried the Affen Steak and it was delight. The tastes just exploded in my mouth. If you are visiting, I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum fidelen Affen also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Zum fidelen Affen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum fidelen Affen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.