We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Austrian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilder Mann

Wilder Mann
Getreidegasse 20, Salzburg 5020, Austria
+43 662 841787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 486 Restaurants in Salzburg
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Austrian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Saw this restaurant on Trip Advisor, and based on the reviews and pictures of the food, decided to try it. We are very glad we did. Tried the tomato mozzarella soup, which was yummy, and a first for me. We also had the beef goulash and the 3 meats dinner. Both were perfectly made, and tasted wonderful. The server was very nice, and spoke English to us, as we are terrible at trying to speak German. Great restaurant, would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    90
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Side street treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had hoped to find an "authentic" Austrian restaurant in Salzburg. Our guide casually suggested some names of places that we might consider.

One of those he mentioned was Wilder Mann--a tiny gasthof down a side alley. We found it, and it was simple and looked "authentic" enough.

We sat outside under umbrellas--absolutely no frills. But my wife ordered a vegetable dish (a casserole of zucchini and cheese) while I ordered wiener schnitzel. We were pleased. The food was very good, very local, and very reasonably priced. What's not to like?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great debut. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First night in Salzburg we came here. Lots of locals (always a good sign). We had to choose our food and drinks pretty swiftly as the kitchen was closing, not the best of welcomes but the staff were really nice. The food was fantastic, great range on the menu, and the bier menu. Only drawback was it seemed to close quite early, we were the last to leave at 21:30 and it seemed like they were closing, this was a Saturday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We needed a light dinner after splurging on Wienerschnitzel elsewhere for lunch, and Wilder Mann fit the bill. Actually found it interesting how many little restaurants were closed by 7:30 pm on the Getreidegasse, so our options were limited, glad they were open!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Austrian Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We always look to guidebooks for a restaraunt tip when on holiday if we cant get access to tripadvisor. This one was reccomended so we gave it a go.
I am so glad we went there as myself and my girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We were sat outside by a friendly old gent who was very smiley and polite. It sadly came to rain just after we placed our order and we were shown to a table indoors. (Note: In much of Germany and Austria it is not uncommon to sit at someone elses table)
When our food came I was already thinking 5/5 just by looking at it and when it came to tasting it I wanted to give it an even higher rating.
If in Salzburg dont miss out on this gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilder Mann also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Wilder Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilder Mann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.