We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled Warmth and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Trapp

Save Saved
You added Villa Trapp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Trapp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Warmth and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

What an extraordinary experience! We stayed at the Villa Trapp for four nights in the early stages of a three week trip to Europe; my wife and I traveled with my 97 year old mother in law. Whoever expected to be able to stay in the von Trapp family home, only recently turned into a place to stay?

The most memorable aspects of this stay were the warmth and hospitality of the owners, which set new standards in these areas. The patiently answered our many questions, shared the fascinating story of the von Trapps and the fiiming of the "Sound of Music," called cabs and made dinner reservations, catered to our breakfast requests, and encouraged us to explore the home. Upon our departure they presented my mother in law with a specially made silk flower arrangement that represented the flowers that grow in the yard behind the house. They treated my mother in law as kindly as they would have their own mothers.

The house as a hotel is just fine--everything up to date, generous-sized rooms (in the Woodside Suite), and very, very clean. I found the room to be a little on the spartan side as far as appointments go but that may be consistent with the building's use for many years as a placed where nuns lived. The hotel's only downside is its location (every trip into town requires a taxi or a bus) but the upside is the fact that it is set in an attractive park-like location--a perfect retreat at the end of the day. Taxis were always easily summoned and we didn't object to this potential "obstacle" in the least. Make sure you know where you're going. We had to direct two taxi drivers during our stay who had never heard of the Villa nor the von Trapps themselves.

Salzburg itself was a wonderful stay. There was plenty to see and do and we caught it in June before things got too crowded or too hot. Of all our happy experiences in Salzburg, however, the stay at the Villa Trapp will always stay at the very top of our memories of the town. We'll always consider ourselves lucky for having made that choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    20
    9
    15
See reviews for
50
63
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

What a fantastic find this hotel is. As a Sound of Music fan I dragged my 'reluctant' husband there and even he was pleasantly surprised. The hosts, Herr & Frau Dorfer could not be nicer and more helpful. The parkland is spectacular and the scenery even more so. The location is peaceful but you are still close enough to get to Salzburg's amenities easily. Even if you aren't a Sound of Music fan your stay here would be equally as pleasurable. We can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I traveled with our two year old daughter to Salzburg for an overnight trip. We picked Villa Trapp a little randomly, but the Trapp story story did catch my eye.

We were very happy we did. It feels more like visiting a friend's beautiful home than a hotel. You eat breakfast in the Trapp family dining room with the owners. The hotel was beautifully restored a couple years ago. Rooms are tastefully decorated, large, even the children's room we stayed in.. Even if there were no history of the Trapps, this would still be a very special place. Prices are very reasonable considering the quality of accommodation.

The location is outside of the downtown area and is quiet (it's adjacent to a monastery.) We used public transportation, and it was quite convenient - either by bus or train, it's about 10-15 minutes from down town or the train station. You might want to print out a map to get there from the train station - it's only 5 minute walk, but you have to make a couple turns, and there are no signs.

Truly, it's one of the favorite places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is the second stop of our honeymoon and we were really looking forward to it as it is after-all the original Von Trapp Villa. Our host Christopher is a very nice gentleman who immediately made us feel at home with his hospitality. The place is very nicely decorated with memorabilia of the Song of Music littered all over the house. Christopher makes very good coffee and the breakfast is always a joy with its generous spread and wonderful company. Feel free to ask Christopher for recommendation on where to have a nice meal, he keeps quite a collection of menu from nearby eateries =)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We're recommending the Villa Trapp to everybody. It's easily a 4 1/2 star place. It's clearly a unique, historic place, so makes a great "story". The Villa is spacious and comfortable, with two sitting rooms, and outdoor porch (it rained when were there, otherwise we would've used it. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are large -- we had a sitting area, and plenty of room. Comfy beds, Nice shower. We were in Agatha's room (which was the oldest Von Trapp daughter -- there really was no "Liesel").

It was rainy and a little dark inside (the lights are on timers or something) when we arrived, so felt a little uninviting...but not a big deal. We really liked Christopher and Marianne, the operators...both are very gracious, and enjoyable to talk to. Had some great discussions about the house, the area, and local food. Christopher recommended a local restaurant (Schloss Aigen....which was EXCELLENT!)...he said it was his favorite place too. He also set us up with "Bob's Tours" for the Sound of Music Tour (A must!)

We did have a car, so it was only an easy 10 minute ride into the old city, which is where we hung out and ate dinners. Most restaurants validate parking so you get some sort of discount in the city.

We were there 4 nights -- booked directly with the Villa via e-mail...had a 140 Euro/night rate -- so this was one of the cheapest places we stayed on our European trip, but was one of the best!! Go!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed here with my mother, and while we appreciated the historical location, we were disappointed with the lack of hospitality/service. Any questions we had felt like an imposition for the host, wrong information given about location of "nearest restaurant" (at least a 45 minute walk). Descriptions of the Von Trapp famiily would have been welcome, yet nothing was offered - even in a written format. Located in a residential neighborhood, it is relatively close to public transport but our taxi found it difficult to find with very little direction provided on the website.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

A great BB in Salzburg! Fastidious attention to details. Beautiful rooms and a great setting. The hosts could not be more helpful. Five star accommodation and services at affordable rates. Look no further!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Trapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Trapp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.