We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes -- this is where the Von Trapp Family used to live” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Trapp

Save Saved
You added Villa Trapp to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Trapp
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 59 Salzburg B&B and Inns
US
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yes -- this is where the Von Trapp Family used to live”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in the evening to find our room key taped to the front door with directions to our room. The staff leave at 7PM. There are no refreshments or drinks available in the "villa".
There is a somewwhat adequate buffet breakfast for the equivalent of $15 per person. The room was fine--clean and a good size. It is quite a way outside town but fine for us since we had a car. It was reasonably priced and was fine, totally OK -- it just wasn't a "wow" experience for us. We were asked to pay an additional city tax in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
51
67
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is definitely the place to stay if you are a die-hard Sound of Music fan, but you have to understand that this is NOT a hotel in the city center sense--we had to share the bathroom. We were told that the internet connection is sketchy at times so we didn't pursue this option, instead opting for free wi-fi whenever we went to either McDonald's or Starbuck's. My partner and I actually slept very well despite the creakiness of the floor. It was very easy to get to the Villa from the airport. I would suggest buying the week-long bus pass at the gift shop at the airport; hope onto bus #2 or #10 just a few yards from the airport terminal exit door. Once on the bus, get off at the Hanuschplatz station--you'll know it when you pass through the tunnel; it'll be the second stop right after the tunnel. Hop off, then take the #7 bus (Salzburg Süd, Salzburgsee) until you get to Banhof-Aigen. Hop off there, cross the street and enter the tunnel at the train station taking you to the other side. From there follow the wall--it should always be on your right hand side. Follow it until you come to the entrace of the Villa (not the Josef College). At the insistance of my partner we had breakfast there one morning, but he soon found out that it wasn't worth the 10 euros per person (he just had to find that out for himself). We had a great time there, but the Villa Trapp was just basically our homebase--we were hardly there except for having a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acul2001, Manager at Villa Trapp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear JoelD1968
Thank you very much for your review. It i amazing how different people judge the Villa Trapp.
Just to be honest and let people know, there are just 2 rooms in the house which have to share the bathroom, as a matter of fact they are the cheapest. There are sufficient double rooms ensuite and real big suites in the house. Internet is always working and free of charge in the lobby. The Villa Trapp is not in the centre of the old town, but it has the biggest private owned park (8,6 acres) of town, sufficient parking space and very good public connection (bus&train) into town, which takes not more than 10 minutes to get there. It is up to your preferences, if you want to have the cheapest room in the house and just a place to sleep or a comfortable room where you can enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife has always been a fan of the movie, "The Sound of Music" We took a couple days out of our Germany, Switzweland, Austria vacation to stop by the real VonTrapp home. It was well worth it if your a fan of the movie and history of the home. It was very interesting and we are glad we took the time to stay.

Room Tip: We were able to stay in Maria's room. Its a historic place with stories and ties to a Nasi gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Just an all round bad experience.

Very noisy-woke numerous times in the night due to heavy stomping up and down the corridor-to the point where both of us were jolted awake at 4am and couldn't sleep due to uncertainty of what happening.

Hairs all over the bed sheets-decided to sleep (or lie listening to stomping) in my clothes.

Very unhappy night, felt very uneasy-worse night of our 2 week trip-please don't stay here, drive past, take a photo and stay somewhere in town-50mins walk down the river to the centre.

Final point-€150 for one night of awful sleep and unease? Don't do it! We did highlight the above issues on check out, then asked to pay €3 city tax-really?! What a joke.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The villa, the actual home of the Von Trapps (and not the locations used in the film) is a little out from the old centre of Salzburg. However it is a short walk and then short bus ride to get to all of the attractions of old Salzburg. The Villa is a little difficult to find, we were glad of the sat nav. It is a great place to stay especially if you are a SoM fan. There are lots of prints and photo's about the place but maybe a date for the photo's and a little background information about the 'real' family would have been good. Our room was comfortable but I am not sure why it was called a suite, it was quite small with little more than a comfortable bed, couch and dressing table. We did have a quick look in the 'family suite' and this was very large with nice views out the back of the mountains in the distance. Breakfast was served at one big table and consisted of the usual items that make up a continental breakfast. There was ample space on sight for car parking. I think if you are not a SoM fan there are cheaper and just as nice hotels much closer to the centre. For us it was an experience and we are very happy to have stayed here.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites or rooms that face the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

For me this was so special. Sound of Music is my favorite film( I must ave see it at least once a year since it came out in the 1960's. To stay at the Trapp Family Villa and think about the family's experiences was so great. This hotel has been open since 2008, and I think the managers are still trying to get it right. If you were to travel down the street you would totally miss the house. There are no signs saying anything about the Trapp family as, we were told ,that the neighbors don't want all the commotion of the public knowing about where this is.
Furnishing were simple,but I hope at some point, the Villa will have more of the feel of the Captain's home, a little grander. I can imagine what this place could become with some money . The grounds in the back could be quite beautiful, with the mountains overlooking the landscape.
If you are a fan of the story, check this place out. I truly hope that this is a "work in progress" and it will become the truly remarkable place I can imagine it to be in time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked this room with the high expectations of a Sound of Music fairlytale but aside from the photos and the "real" property, the accomodation was disappointing. The property is a bit unkept, i understand from previous posts by the owner that renovation were put on hold due to legal issues but trimming the weeds around the light posts that are neary a foot tall is pure labor. The grounds are in need of some flowers and color, everywhere you go in Austria there are amazing flowers! The interior of the home was aged as expected and the room was pleasant, although my biggest complaint is the bar soap that is provided was the smallest I have ever seen and it wasn't replenished after a 2 night stay, leaving just a sliver to bathe and the shampoo was in tiny packets. Walking through the property and seeing the pictures were neat for a SOM fan, but then I came across a price list for drinks and snacks and a sign that stated " no outside food or drinks are permitted to be consumed in the public areas" I couldnt believe it! What property does this? As a previous reviewer pointed out there is no coffee or tea or water without a charge and it is impossible to get a coffee before 8am. As for the breakfast save your money! There is a little store on the corner if you walk out of the gate and go right and they had fresh pasties! If you perfer and expresso go left out of the gate and walk to the second underpass and left at the light, a nice little cafe. Overall the experience was ok, we enjoyed the history of it but unless some major changes are made I wouldn't recommend staying here. They have a tour of the home each day at noon but you have to pay 15 euro just same rate as the non guests.

Room Tip: download a sleep app on your phone do block out the noise from other guests, it is an old house. Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Trapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trapp

Address: Traunstrasse 34 | Aigen, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Trapp 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Trapp was the residence of the world-famous Von Trapp family, whose life in Salzburg entered history as "The Sound of Music", the most popular musical of all times. The villa is maintained in the style of this period, including 2 luxurious, 60 m² suites. They are exclusively furnished. In the past the Villa Trapp was not accessible to the public. Now you can sleep in the family's rooms and walk on their paths through the villa and the park. This stately building enjoys a quiet location close to the centre of Salzburg, surrounded by the city's largest private park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Trapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trapp Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Trapp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;