We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Salzburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gablerbrau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gablerbrau to your Saves list
Hotel Gablerbrau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linzergasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel is not that far from the main train station. Its easy to reach it with any bus what are leaving from Südtiroler Platz (In front of the main train station) or you can walk what will be like 20 minutes. In good weather its not a big distance.

The old town and the inner city is like steps away. The Hotel was renovated months ago so you almost get a smell of "new" when you enter your room.
My room had a huge and very comfy bed with modern interior. There is a small fridge with a welcome water (sparkling) for your refreshnes!
The bathroom was pico bello clean! Great shower and nice modern design!

There is a great Restaurant under the Hotel. If you love Pizza&Pasta then L'Osteria will be your favourite place to eat during your stay in Salzburg!

I would come here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in May.

First the positive:

On first impression, the rooms have a crisp Ikea design look to them. Everything is very clean.

Location is very good. About a five minute walk to the tourist area across the river.

Now the not so positive:

The rooms are lacking in some basic comforts and amenities. There are only large shower towels. No face or hand towels are provided. Only two "pancake" flat pillows are provided. There is only one luggage stand, and no table space.

We received a non-smoking room, but cigarette smoke still filtered in through the bathroom vents.

No breakfast included in the nightly rate (which we were aware of when we booked).

Hotel website indicated that parking was available for 15 € per night. VERY misleading. There is no on site parking, and there is not a public road to the hotel. On arrival, my spouse had to wait in the car while I tried to find the hotel on foot, which took about 20 minutes. The location is confusing the first go- around. We then got a temporary pass to drive through the gates to drop off our luggage, and were instructed to park in a public parking lot about 5 minutes away. Not a huge deal, but misleading.

To conclude, I would hesitate before staying here again. I would have expected more for the cost.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location for those whose a first timer to Salzburg!! It is walking distance to Mozarthous @ birth home & the old town. Very friendly & helpful service from Florian, Front Desk. Rooms are spacious & roomy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and could not have been happier. The rooms were very large, clean and offered everything an American traveler would hope for.
Everything was brand new, the staff was very helpful and the location was great, too.
It is located right downtown and all of the old town is within minutes. Dozens of restaurants and shopping was right outside the hotel.
Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just stay two nights at Hotel Gablerbrau in Salzburg. We are a couple from Canada and it is our first time in Salzburg. The hotel is in an excellent location as one can walk to all the interesting sites. As well one can catch a tram easily to the train station three stops away. It is not difficult to get around in Salzburg as the tram system is good. The hotel is still under renovation. There is a lot of noise during the day but after the renovation is completed it should be much better. The facility is new as our room is only renovated and open 2 weeks ago. The front desk staff can be a little more friendly in our opinion. The hotel has adequate bedding and bathroom facility. Salzburg is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Gablerbrau for three nights as part of an Inghams multi centre holiday.

The hotel is ideally located in a queit street just across the river from the altstadt - a few minutes walk to all the attractions in the old part of the city.

This is an old historic hotel with lots of period charm, including creaking floorboards. Our bedroom on the second floor was smallish but with a comfortable bed, small table and tv. The bathroom was spacious (inc full size bath with shower over) and there was ample storage via a large wardrobe in the lobby area. The room was secondary double glazed but there was no air conditioning - not a problem when we stayed but may have been a problem in the July pan European heatwave. Although our room overlooked other street restaurants this did not generate any problems. We did however experience the early morning street cleaning/ rubbish removal disturbance reported by some other Tripadvisor members.

A good buffet breakfast was provided which set us up for the day. We were on a half board package and the evening dinner in the charming traditional Richard Mayer Stube was varied, good quality and with huge portions.

We spent three enjoyable and exhausting days exploring Salzburg and its environs, visiting all the usual sights. We bought a 48hr Salzburg card offering free admissions and free local transport. This was good value if you planned your days to take advantage of the offers - a trip up the Untersberg mointain by cable car recovers almost two thirds of the card cost but you need a good visibility day for this.

We have been to Salzburg several times on day excursions and it remains for us a stunning compact city. Its only downside are the inevitable huge crowds of tourists from 10.00am-4.00pm. Nevertheless there are one or two places you can get away from the hordes , eg the easily accessible Kapuzinberg hill on the new town side of the river and the high level walk from the Augustiner Brau towards the Hohe Festung.

Outside of the annual August Music Festival (very expensive) Salzburg musically tends to be mostly Mozart for tourists and Sound Of Music related stuff. (Vienna has much more to offer in this respect.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This was the niciest surprise in may trip. The hotel is very good choice if you´re looking for a nice place with a nice price. And it is located just a 2 minutes walking from the river and the main pedestrian bridge to the old town and the Mirabell Park. Thay also offers a discount in a parking place (Mirabell) for those arrinving by car. And more than this, since we arrived, all de employees treat us so very kindly that we´re felt in home.
Just 2 nights, but unforgetable ones.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gablerbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gablerbrau

Address: Linzergasse 9, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gablerbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Hotel, in a renovated older house dating from 1408, in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gablerbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Salzburg
Gablerbraeu Centralhotel Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gablerbrau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.