We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better in Salzburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Salzburg City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 21, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 134 hotels in Salzburg
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You can do better in Salzburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

OK, it is better than many Holiday Inns in the US, but when you are in beautiful Salzburg, you can do better. We made the mistake of thinking we would welcome some US style comfort. Nope. Get a real Salzburg hotel near downtown! If you are there on business, and then only briefly, maybe then it's OK. But just OK. We had trouble with the automatic window shades, the automatic a/c, the automatic lights, the automatic door, the internet. Frustrating. Breakfast was good....but not included and very expensive. Also, lots of tours were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jackmac31406,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    125
    82
    20
    14
See reviews for
67
123
16
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel on a tour. Not to the level of the other hotels on the tour. Rooms were poorly lit and seemed dated. Carpet was clean but stained. Beds were good. We were in a room on the front of the hotel and was glad there were automated shades for the windows. Air conditioner had trouble keeping up. Did not appear there are a lot of choices in Salzburg so would not hesitate to stay at the hotel but it was not the best. No free internet, no English speaking channels on the TV, lobby is small. Breakfast was good but limited. The dinner that we had at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear User mommoday,

Thank you for taking time to reflect your stay at the Holiday Inn Salzburg City.
I am happy to see that you have given us 4 points for the service and the sleep quality. Thank you!

Please accept my sincere apologies for your negative impression of rooms, breakfast, carpets, TV and AC. Kindly be assured that your comments will be most assuredly be shared with the team so that we can continue to improve the service we provide.

I would be grateful if you could contact me on <info@hi-salzburg.at> to further discuss your experience. We look forward to hearing back from you and hopefully welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards,

C. Richter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was clean but needed a little updating. The room was a good size and we were located on the front of the building facing the street so it was nice that a screen came down to cover the windows. The breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of choices. Good hotel to stop for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sunshine028,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Got upgraded to room with a balcony. Very nice room.
Location = OK.
Service = Outstanding.
Much better hotel than the nearby Crowne Plaza. If you are a member of IHG, choose this hotel over the Crowne Plaza. About the same walking distance from Old Town, but much better rooms and more updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear TeddyLindner,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proserpine
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and booked two rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful, however there is not enough working in the evening. We requested 2 x single beds in each room, however on arrival both rooms had the beds joined made into one queen size in each room. Staff were happy to fix, however the only person that could do it was also working the restaurant and the bar so she was very busy and there was a slight delay in this happening.

The restaurant had a small range of menu options but what was available was of a very good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent and room service is available.

One negative relates to the upkeep of some amenities. On our floor there was a very large outdoor court yard area, however access to this area was blocked off and as such the no cleaning is done, with the pavers turning black from mould and weeds growing in between them. It is shame as this area could be well used by guests during there stay.

The rooms were and adequate size and quiet. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Old Town area but it is a level and safe walk along the footpaths.

The underground car park entry and exit is tight if you have a larger vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear TraciBProserpine,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am most pleased to know that our staff delivered at par customer service on this visit and the breakfast served met your expectations. I apologize if the amenities were somewhat a dissatisfaction. Please be assured this shall be addressed with our team accordingly to consider for enhancements.

I hope the next time you are in the area you give us another chance to host you anew.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Hotel is located a 15-20 minute walk from city center or you can take bus #4 which runs in front of the hotel. Room was clean but small, had a small balcony overlooking residences. As an IHG member, wifi was free for me but connections were poor. We could never really connect in our hotel room, so instead we sat out in the common lobby on our floor. A nice fruit plate was waiting for us in our room. Breakfast for 16 euros was extra so we ate at the nearby McDonalds for breakfast instead. There isn't much in the immediate area of the hotel but on your way to walking to city center, we discovered a nice italian and chinese restaurant. Whatever you do, invest in buying a Salzburg Card which cost 26 euros for 24 hours and covers all main attractions, public transportation and the bus and cable car to Untersburg. Well worth it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear BoydChicks,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that you found our rooms to be adequate for your needs. However, I apologize if the Wifi connection was a disappointment and if you found the breakfast rate to be steep. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve our efforts.

We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Member and your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Changing my plans, I had to make a quick reservation at the Holiday Inn in Salzburg. I would have preferred to stay a bit nearer the old city, but this was only a 15 minute walk, so it was fine and the walk was good for me after all that Schnitzel.

The staff was happy to let us leave our luggage, us as we arrived very early in the morning and check in time was not until much later. They had maps available for us and helped us find some restaurants I read about on Trip Advisor. They were extremely helpful!!

Our room was lovely and very big. The bed very comfortable, with a variety of pillows to choose from. The TV was huge, but I had trouble hearing it as it couldn't be turned up past a 30, which was fine on some channels, but not on others. The bathroom was very nice and had everything we needed. Breakfast buffet was excellent and had a variety of choices. Everyone would be able to have a good breakfast because of the huge variety of food and juices.

The only weakness would be their wifi. It is was just that....very weak.

However, I would happily return to the Salzburg Holiday Inn the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one that isn't on the main road. Ours was in the back and very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn S, Reservation at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CNAS,

Many thanks for leaving such positive feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much your enjoyed the whole experience.

It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team of the Holiday Inn Salzburg City and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Lisa
Reservation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Address: Sterneckstrasse 21, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and VistaJet are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.