We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Très bel hôtel ! Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salzburg City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sterneckstrasse 21, Salzburg 5020, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #71 of 134 Hotels in Salzburg
Annecy, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Très bel hôtel ! Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nous avons passé une nuit au Holiday Inn de Salzbourg et nous serions bien volontiers restés plus longtemps car nous avons reçu un accueil très chaleureux, la chambre était super jolie/propre/confortable/silencieuse/avec belle vue, et le petit-déjeuner était délicieux. Nous avons marché jusqu'au centre-ville qui était très facilement accessible à pied à environ 15 minutes (en prenant notre temps pour prendre des photos etc.). Parking couvert payant mais sécurisé. Il me semble qu'ils ont une salle de gym disponible, mais nous n'étions pas à Salzbourg pour rester enfermés donc nous n'avons pas essayé cette salle. Très très bonne expérience. Nous y retournerons sans aucune hésitation.
---------------------------
My husband and I spent one night at the Holiday Inn in Salzburg and we would have happily stayed a few extra nights! Staff is efficient, helpful and very welcoming. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, quiet and even with a nice view looking out our wide window. The breakfast was a delicious feast with a buffet. Local foods as well as traditional breakfast stuff was available. The location is ideal too because it was quiet and close enough to the downtown area where all the sights are. It took us about 15 minutes by foot to reach downtown, and that includes stopping for taking pictures, looking at the map, taking in the beauty of the buildings. A secured parking garage is available for a small fee (11 euros if I remember well) and is definitely worth the price. I think they have a gym but we were not there to excercize on an elliptical machine so we didn't try it!
We had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel and we recommend it highly. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    146
    99
    25
    14
See reviews for
73
148
22
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the beds are very comfortable.
Being on a fairly busy road the front rooms are a bit noisy but not too bad.
The room was very hot as a result of the change in season. The hotels have the Airconditioning set to "heat only" until the warmer weather season. Unfortunately (or fortunately) the day we arrived it was 26 degrees Celsius and we had no way of cooling the room. An uncomfortable hot night was the result. Perhaps the Hotel should be more proactive when the weather changes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My family and I spent almost 10 days at this hotel last July
Hotel very clean and location is excellent and there are two bus stations take you to the city center and train station

The crew was polite and pleasant and helpful

Thanks to all of them eventually, especially Ms. Corinna Eberstein

Hamad aldafferi

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is very functional as a business hotel or for leisure. I have now stayed twice (Sept 11 on vacation and Jan 12 on business) and the hotel is excellent value for money. I find the staff in the hotel to be very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are modern and quite, especially if you ask for the side room not road facing.

Location could be better with a 20-25min walk to the centre of the old town, but I personally enjoy the walk and there are options with buses.

Room Tip: All rooms are relatively quite, but ask for "none road" side to be 100% sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckinney, texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We ( 2 adults and 2 older (20 something) children in two non-connectiong rooms) stayed 3 nights and found this hotel to be a much needed peaceful place to slow down after a hurried visit through Italy. The rooms are modern, nicely decorated and the bathroom was spotless and updated. Coffee and tea in-room. Wireless was an issue as we could not connect. However, the front desk credited us and gave us some free time to make up for the inconvenience. We had a pizza at the bar late night--just so-so --but appreciated the the late service. A short walk to all of Salzburg and a bus stop just at the corner. we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hotel was clean and modern. Had parking outside. Staff were good. A ten minute walk to the touristy area. In the morning however we woke up to the fire alram going off and fire trucks pulling up so def not the greatest way to wake up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. The staff put us in a smoking room which was a shocker because they didn't say anything about it. We found out by the stench of stale smoke and the ashtray on the table. (stale smoke smell was mostly in the hallway). We did not complain as it wasn't a deal breaker.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the city center with not much to look at during. I would recommend this hotel for people who enjoy leisure strolls or people who have their own cars. However, many more options near the old city.

The breakfast was typically European and adequate enough. I would not purchase it on my own however, it is suitable when included in your room price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salzburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Address: Sterneckstrasse 21, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and VistaJet are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salzburg City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.