We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, there's much to be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muffin Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Muffin Hostel to your Saves list
Muffin Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Hegigasse 9, Salzburg A-5020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For the price, there's much to be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hostel is clearly a boarding school or something similar which is converted into a hostel for the summer months. The temporary sign outside and the huge Christian mural on the wall of the reception/common area were the first giveaways. The staff were fairly polite without being overly friendly.

We booked a twin room, hoping to push the beds together, but they were each attached to the walls and their own study desk (like being back at school) but can't complain about this as we booked a twin. The hostel was quiet at night which was great and meant you could get a good sleep.

As others have written the wi-fi which was very poor, even in the reception area which was very frustrating. It was a 20 min walk to the city centre, but this was fine for us and was a fairly nice walk. Another issue we had was no security pass or anything that had to be shown to get your key which didn't make it seem too secure. Keys were given out to whoever asked for them.

Overall not the best hostel but definitely not the worst either. For the prices charged however, there's that needs to be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aga117, Manager at Muffin Hostel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are planning to introduce new security policy in order to make our guests feel safer during their stay. We were facing some internet problems last summer and we are currently working on permanent solutions. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
5
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Quite big youth hostel (2 floors with many kinds of rooms), located in a very quiet area but in 15 minutes walking to the centre. We were in a four bed shared room with shared bathroom. The dortory was very simple, but with many furnitures to tidy clothes. The bathroom was a bit disappointing because there are only 2 showers and it gets dirty very fast...And you have to bring your own towels which is not very practical when you travel.
Concerning the breakfast, I don't advise you to take it since it is almost 5euros for hardly something to eat. Little choice, very basic and not so good!

However the staff is kind but not very efficient when it comes to fixing the wifi (which is not very powerful...it doesn't work in the bedrooms, so that you have to come in the reception to get a decent connection!).

The youth hostel has a terrace which is very pleasant to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aga117, Manager at Muffin Hostel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for the review - we would like to assure you that we will take these suggestions into account. We were facing some serious internet problems lat summer, but we are now working on permanent solutions. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights, yes it's a bit pricey but we found it to be the most reasonable place to stay in Salzburg with parking and within walking distance of the city.

It takes around 20 minutes to walk into the centre of the city it's also in a great location to walk to Leopoldskron for any sound of music fans, it takes around 15 minutes and it's a lovely walk past farmland.

The hostel is actually student accommodation, so the rooms are a good size with private facilities. We found it very comfortable and the staff to be very friendly, knowledgeable and very happy to help. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As many others have said, this place is at least a 15-20 minute walk to Salzburg itself from this place, although the walk is a pleasant one. I'm not sure I'd fancy walking back in the dark however as the route does take you down a path through the forest.
The room was clean, although we had to make the beds ourselves and were given the most starchy, itchy sheets I've ever slept on to do so! I don't mind making my own bed but considering this was the only place that asked us to do this during our travels through Europe and was also one of the most expensive hostels we stayed in it seemed a bit strange.
I think the crux of the problem with this place is not the location or the rooms themselves but just that you constantly feel like you're paying for something more than what you get. The bathrooms in the private rooms are tiny, the bar doesn't open till 10pm, they only accept payment in cash and they are quite hard to locate from the town itself. The overall feel of the organisation and service here is chaotic, the place seems to be run by teenagers who are perhaps more suited to staying in a hostel rather than running one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

They gave us muffins! What better way to improve to mood of three tired teenagers. The location was pretty decent.. About a 20 minute walk to the city or a bus ride into town which was a less than five minute walk to the stop and a five minute ride into the city. The room itself was pretty average. We booked a triple room which had a bunk bed and a single bed and was tiny - but that was what we expected. However, the cleanliness of the room was quite poor; there were black hairs scattered over each of the beds which was pretty gross. The floor was also very dirty but the bathroom reasonably clean. They have cooking facilities which seemed quite good but we did not use them. The WiFi was appalling - the hostel advertised that the WiFi would work around the hotel but the signal was incredibly weak and only slightly worked in the reception area. The people were very nice and helpful and we booked our hostel in Prague through them as we got a discount.. The reception is open 24 hours which is really convenient. The value is okay but its what you would expect for Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved this hostel, great staff ! Lots of great suggestions for activities. Highly recommended.
Very nice and charming place. friendly atmosphere. Pretty much the best hostel ever, defineltly in my top 3 out of a lot of hostels over the years. Staff were great, location great, other travellers great, communal areas great! Stay here if you're in Salzburg :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise staying in Muffin Hostel.
It was a bit far from the nearest bus station,but the surrounding is lovely,so the walking isn't so painful.
The room was quite spacious and clean for a 6-people mixed dorm, and it has pleasant view from the window. the little green garden is cute, you can eat your breakfast or just hanging out there. It even has laundry room and kitchen with fridges,free of charge. The bar located in basement is a nice place to hang out, equipped with foosball and table tennis table. The staff were hard working and quite helpful-it's surprising that they will be at the front desk 24 hours.
I would have rated it higher if the wifi works-but sadly,it doesn't.
Oeverall it's a nice hostel,has lots of facilicies, nice staff, spacious and clean room, and relatively low price. The downside is the internet connection, which did not work at all.

Room Tip: 6 people mixed dorms even look better than the 4 people mixed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muffin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muffin Hostel

Address: Hegigasse 9, Salzburg A-5020, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Muffin Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Muffin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muffin Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.