We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for modern art fans, great restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum der Moderne Monchsberg

Museum der Moderne Monchsberg
Monchsberg 32, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
43 662 84 22 20 403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 94 attractions in Salzburg
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Kent
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK for modern art fans, great restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Salzburg card came in useful yet again. The modern art on show was like the curate's egg - good in parts. As commented upon by "Cubsfan" there was an exhibition that was, frankly, quite revolting ( and I am no prude), but, to give credit, it does make it plain that it is offensive and not for the little ones. I try really hard to get an appreciation of all art and frequently visit the Turner Contemporary (Margate, Kent), Tate Modern (London) and Baltic (Newcastle), but found little here to take my fancy. The restaurant does a very nice hot chocolate and strudel though, reasonably priced and with a wonderful view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    16
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting, some great exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not always a great lover of modern art, but I really enjoy walking around this museum and looking at the different exhibitions. Very well presented with for very friendly and well informed staff. The restaurant at the top is fantastic and not too expensive with amazing views of the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Interesting place in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

You have to take an elevator up to the museum and thus the views from outside the museum were spectacular. Important to note that behind the museum is a beautiful park that is worth taking the time to walk around. The museum itself is quite nice. They do not appear to have permanent exhibits but exhibitions instead. We saw one about "Flowers and mushrooms." Some of the work was beautiful while others were quite graphic; i.e. notr for children (which the museum tells you). We enjoyed our visit and would go back. I would allocate 1 to 11/2 hours for the museum and at least 30 minutes for the park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This museum is for those who like modern art. My highpoint of the visit was the view of Salzburg from the top of the mountain there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice art stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A great place, interesting exhibition in a modern and tranquil building with beautiful exhibition. A nice stop for those interested in 20th century art.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum der Moderne Monchsberg also viewed

Salzburg, Austrian Alps
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 
Salzburg, Austrian Alps
 

Been to Museum der Moderne Monchsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum der Moderne Monchsberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum der Moderne Monchsberg to your Saves list