We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for modern art fans, great restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum der Moderne Monchsberg

Museum der Moderne Monchsberg
Monchsberg 32, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
43 662 84 22 20 403
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum der Moderne Monchsberg like an insider
Special Offer
$44*
and up
Grand Salzburg City Tour including Hellbrunn...
Ranked #68 of 127 things to do in Salzburg
Attraction details
Kent
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“OK for modern art fans, great restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Salzburg card came in useful yet again. The modern art on show was like the curate's egg - good in parts. As commented upon by "Cubsfan" there was an exhibition that was, frankly, quite revolting ( and I am no prude), but, to give credit, it does make it plain that it is offensive and not for the little ones. I try really hard to get an appreciation of all art and frequently visit the Turner Contemporary (Margate, Kent), Tate Modern (London) and Baltic (Newcastle), but found little here to take my fancy. The restaurant does a very nice hot chocolate and strudel though, reasonably priced and with a wonderful view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    18
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very interesting, some great exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not always a great lover of modern art, but I really enjoy walking around this museum and looking at the different exhibitions. Very well presented with for very friendly and well informed staff. The restaurant at the top is fantastic and not too expensive with amazing views of the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Interesting place in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

You have to take an elevator up to the museum and thus the views from outside the museum were spectacular. Important to note that behind the museum is a beautiful park that is worth taking the time to walk around. The museum itself is quite nice. They do not appear to have permanent exhibits but exhibitions instead. We saw one about "Flowers and mushrooms." Some of the work was beautiful while others were quite graphic; i.e. notr for children (which the museum tells you). We enjoyed our visit and would go back. I would allocate 1 to 11/2 hours for the museum and at least 30 minutes for the park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This museum is for those who like modern art. My highpoint of the visit was the view of Salzburg from the top of the mountain there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice art stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A great place, interesting exhibition in a modern and tranquil building with beautiful exhibition. A nice stop for those interested in 20th century art.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum der Moderne Monchsberg also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Museum der Moderne Monchsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum der Moderne Monchsberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.