We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting, some great exhibitions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum der Moderne Monchsberg

Museum der Moderne Monchsberg
Monchsberg 32, Salzburg 5020 , Austria
43 662 84 22 20 403
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #50 of 96 Attractions in Salzburg
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting, some great exhibitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not always a great lover of modern art, but I really enjoy walking around this museum and looking at the different exhibitions. Very well presented with for very friendly and well informed staff. The restaurant at the top is fantastic and not too expensive with amazing views of the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    16
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting place in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

You have to take an elevator up to the museum and thus the views from outside the museum were spectacular. Important to note that behind the museum is a beautiful park that is worth taking the time to walk around. The museum itself is quite nice. They do not appear to have permanent exhibits but exhibitions instead. We saw one about "Flowers and mushrooms." Some of the work was beautiful while others were quite graphic; i.e. notr for children (which the museum tells you). We enjoyed our visit and would go back. I would allocate 1 to 11/2 hours for the museum and at least 30 minutes for the park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This museum is for those who like modern art. My highpoint of the visit was the view of Salzburg from the top of the mountain there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice art stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A great place, interesting exhibition in a modern and tranquil building with beautiful exhibition. A nice stop for those interested in 20th century art.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth it for the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I are not huge modern art fans but since we had a Salzburg card that included admission we decided to check this place out. We were fascinated by all the things the city has built into the mountain and the elevator in this museum is no exception. The really amazing part of this visit though, was the view from the top. This was one of our favorite places to see the city and castle. Every picture we took up here turned out stunning.

I can't speak for the museum, but I can vouch for the views. They are definitely worth it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum der Moderne Monchsberg also viewed

Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
Salzburg, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Museum der Moderne Monchsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum der Moderne Monchsberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.